Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, July 22, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 5
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,168
Newest Member: davej
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyist Licensing | VAX License PAK's
Author Newbie asks "I can't find license DEC VAX-VMS"
jfg
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 14.10.07
Posted on October 14 2007 07:56
i've managed to load up my uvax 3100 with vms, and typed by hand "the 104 pak"s, and then installed tcpip. when i try to telnet into the 3100 i get the username and passwords prompts from the client telnet, but at the vax, opcom says the license manager says i need DEC VAX-VMS, which i gather is the "base license"? i should probably have noticed this earlier since i cannot even login without being warned. in any case, i don't seem to have any emails which account for DEC VAX-VMS, just the 104PAK email. was DEC VAX-VMS in a seperate email which i misplaced (or which got intercepted somewhere) ?

if i need DEC VAX-VMS, how can i go about getting it?

-jfg
Author Re: Newbie asks "I can't find license DEC VAX-VMS"
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on October 14 2007 14:18
[quote:52829bfdff="jfg"]i've managed to load up my uvax 3100 with vms, and typed by hand "the 104 pak"s, and then installed tcpip. when i try to telnet into the 3100 i get the username and passwords prompts from the client telnet, but at the vax, opcom says the license manager says i need DEC VAX-VMS, which i gather is the "base license"? i should probably have noticed this earlier since i cannot even login without being warned. in any case, i don't seem to have any emails which account for DEC VAX-VMS, just the 104PAK email. was DEC VAX-VMS in a seperate email which i misplaced (or which got intercepted somewhere) ?

if i need DEC VAX-VMS, how can i go about getting it?

-jfg[/quote:52829bfdff]

I'm sorry for your fingers! :-)

Get it from the same location you got the 104 PAKs; there is a drop-down list that allows you to get the "base" license and the "layered product" licenses. You got the "layered product" PAKs

For future reference, (next year) get both sets of PAKs, enter VAX-VMS and UCX by hand; bring up the system, and execute the 104 PAKs as a "command" file,
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author re: can't find DEC VAX-VMS
jfg
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 14.10.07
Posted on October 14 2007 14:46
i am grateful for the prompt suggestion that i simply re-get the base license. i claim never to have gotten the base i asked for, at least not as an email that i could refer to.

note that without a connection to the computer which has the email with the 104pak, dcl skills are not very helpful; at least i couldn't figure out a way to move the email data from my pc without a serial line, without a telnet line, and without copy/paste. i made do with a quick .com file which at least did everything except the license name and checksum which i still had to type in by hand. perhaps i could have figured out a way to burn a cd somewhere and then mount it on the vax if i had tried a bit harder.

thanx for your help
-jfg
Author Re: re: can't find DEC VAX-VMS
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on October 14 2007 15:04
[quote:5b54d89600="jfg"]i am grateful for the prompt suggestion that i simply re-get the base license. i claim never to have gotten the base i asked for, at least not as an email that i could refer to.

note that without a connection to the computer which has the email with the 104pak, dcl skills are not very helpful; at least i couldn't figure out a way to move the email data from my pc without a serial line, without a telnet line, and without copy/paste. i made do with a quick .com file which at least did everything except the license name and checksum which i still had to type in by hand. perhaps i could have figured out a way to burn a cd somewhere and then mount it on the vax if i had tried a bit harder.

thanx for your help
-jfg[/quote:5b54d89600]

The first time I got a license, I was (luckily) able to copy/paste from my PC to the VMS system ($set terminal/nottsync prevents buffer overflows when copying/pasting - I think). Subsequent years allowed me to use FTP between PC/VMS as an alternate method. I've always tried to be careful to get the licenses a few days before they expire each year. The ideal setup would be to run your email on VMS, thus avoiding all issues with moving licenses around.
:-)


I think you can just keep "asking" for the licenses until you receive them. You might want to check your "junk" folder email to see if the licenses were held up by your ISP, or by an overly-aggressive junk mail filter on the email system.
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive