Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, March 28, 2024
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,708
Newest Member: nifseg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyist Licensing | VAX License PAK's
Author VAX Hobbyist Liscensing and a University Computer Science Club
CMGauger

Posted on September 09 2009 17:02
Hello, I'm a noob here (to use the colloquial term), as well as a bit of a noob at VMS.

Now my question is this. I am acquiring a refurbished MicroVAX 3100-40, and I have a VMS hobbyist license. The MicroVAX is a bit large to be hanging 'round my dorm room (insert laughter here). So I'm working with my school's Computer Science Club (by the by, I'm a first year mathie at the University of Waterloo, so yes I'm in that CSC) to loan them the machine while I am a registered student there.

Now I know that I can put OpenBSD on the machine and not deal with license issues. What about VMS? The loan to the CSC would involve the VAX being connected to the CSC's private network and being accessible only to CSC members. Following that, CSC members can use the machine for whatever the hell they want (be it school work, work work, screwing around, et cetera). Now would the hobbyist license still be a valid in this case? Or would one need to pay for a non-hobbyist license?

As a corollary to that, would one be able to register the UW CSC as a valid hobbyist licensee? Or would a specific individual be required to do so? (And furthermore, if I just let them use my VMS license, is that an issue?)

Thank you all in advance for all of your helpful insight.
Author RE: VAX Hobbyist Liscensing and a University Computer Science Club
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

Posted on September 11 2009 06:20