Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, July 15, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,163
Newest Member: willajpeck
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Integrity Systems Forums | Integrity Hardware Forum
Author ZX6000 Hard Disk Options
urbancamo
Member

Posts: 38
Location: Windermere, UK
Joined: 16.05.07
Posted on July 12 2008 21:53
Hi,

I'd like to buy another couple of drives for my ZX6000, but there appears to be conflicting information on the internet. The HP specs say that the ZX6000 uses Ultra 160 hot swap drives, but in the RX servers manual a comparison of the ZX6000 and RX2600 say they both use Ultra 320 drives.

Having looked on ebay it also seems that a lot of the drives for sale use a physically different locking mechanism (a red button at the bottom rather than a handle with a hole in). I can take a chance, but it would be useful to know what proliant servers for example I can use the drives out of

Thanks, Mark
http://www.wickensonline.co.uk
Author RE: ZX6000 Hard Disk Options
jkmccarthy
Member

Posts: 21
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Joined: 08.01.08
Posted on September 03 2008 18:19
Stephen Hoffman wrote:
The zx6000 series uses the ring-style disks, the sorts of removable hard disks that were in wide use at HP prior to its acquisition of Compaq. The rx2600 and rx2620 servers and various of the older Integrity boxes and the DS2100 SCSI shelf all use similar ring disks.


For eBay search purposes, when looking for the ring-style SCSI drives and/or drive sleds, VMS hobbyist rx26xx / zx6000 owners may want to search for drives compatible with the following HP computers (besides zx6000 / rx2600 / rx2620, and DS2100 noted by Hoff):

HP DS2300 ... (capacity for 14 removable scsi disks - usually beige)

HP TC3100 ... (capacity for 5 removable scsi disks - usually beige)

HP TC4100 ... (capacity for 8 removable scsi disks - usually beige)

HP ML150 G2 (capacity for 6 removable scsi disks - usually black)

HP 9000 models rp3400, rp3410, rp4410, rp7420, rp8420 ... (mixed)


Note that the HP Proliant ML150-G2 was produced with a non-hot-pluggable SCSI drive cage, or a hot-pluggable SCSI drive cage, or a SATA drive cage, and only the hot-pluggable SCSI version uses ring-style drive sleds compatible with the zx6000 and other machines listed above.

Hope this helps,

-- Jim

P.S. Browsing on eBay for drives, it didn't take me long to conclude that my hobbyist dollars would go a lot farther purchasing 80-pin SCSI U320 or U160 bare drives, and then purchasing the zx6000 compatible sleds separately.

P.P.S. As a VMS hobbyist "in recovery" now from a serious case of the illness HPEAS (HP Equipment Acquisition Syndrome :-), I find myself with a surplus of the "0" zero capacity (dummy) sleds. HP recommends these plastic dummies be used to fill empty scsi drive slots, I presume in order to increase air flow nearer the real drives. The "0" zero capacity dummies are simply "false fronts" and it is NOT possible to install a drive into these sled substitutes.

So if there are any VMS zx6000 / rx2600 / rx2620 users out there whose second-hand machines didn't come with "0" zero capacity dummy sleds in the empty slots, feel free to contact me via private message if you need to "borrow" one or two (no charge "while supply lasts" -- just send 'em back if/when you eventually put real drives into those slots :-)


http://108.245.139.61:8000/~jkm/computers.htm
Edited by jkmccarthy on September 03 2008 21:43
http://108.245.139.61:8000/~jkm/
Author RE: ZX6000 Hard Disk Options
eMGee
Member

Posts: 87
Location: The Netherlands
Joined: 28.03.10
Posted on November 25 2010 12:40
This is a very confusing issue, because not long ago I installed three 300 GB U320 SCSI HDDs in my rx2600 (or zx6000, if you wish), one was DOA unfortunately. Anyway, I then noticed that Pun3 was recognized as U160, while the rest (Pun0 and Pun1) as U320. I believe this wasn't the case before (that maybe something ‘broke’), but I could be wrong.

See the note 313 in the GENERAL conference at “Deathrow,” or the following thread at HoffmanLabs.
Edited by eMGee on November 25 2010 12:41
Author RE: ZX6000 Hard Disk Options
eMGee
Member

Posts: 87
Location: The Netherlands
Joined: 28.03.10
Posted on January 02 2011 15:29
eMGee wrote:
This is a very confusing issue, because not long ago I installed three 300 GB U320 SCSI HDDs in my rx2600 (or zx6000, if you wish), one was DOA unfortunately. Anyway, I then noticed that Pun3 was recognized as U160, while the rest (Pun0 and Pun1) as U320. I believe this wasn't the case before (that maybe something ‘broke’), but I could be wrong.

See the note 313 in the GENERAL conference at “Deathrow,” or the following thread at HoffmanLabs.

Never mind about the above, I've managed to fix this issue (as I've posted about over at HoffmanLabs).
Edited by eMGee on January 02 2011 15:31
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive