Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, January 22, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 1
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,021
Newest Member: pd123d
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Integrity Systems Forums | Integrity Hardware Forum
Author rx2600 raid?
GerryB
Member

Posts: 24
Location: Florida
Joined: 26.06.08
Posted on February 17 2009 15:19
Hi,

Is there any type of RAID built into the rx2600? I understand that drive slot 0 and 1 are on one channel and slot 2 is on another but is there any type of hardware raid built into the basic rx2600?

Thanks.

Gerry
Author RE: rx2600 raid?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on February 17 2009 16:51
Gerry,

AFAIK, no. It's just an Ultra320 SCSI-LVD controller with 2 channels. The only built-in RAID controller that I know of is the Smart Array SAS P400 RAID Controller in the rx2660. Its specs say there's an embedded SAS controller, and the P400 must be ordered separately. But I haven't yet seen a box without it.

cu,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: rx2600 RAID Controllers
etorbenson
Member

Posts: 4
Location: Long Island, NY USA
Joined: 22.12.08
Posted on February 18 2009 03:56
GerryB wrote:
Is there any type of RAID built into the rx2600? I understand that drive slot 0 and 1 are on one channel and slot 2 is on another but is there any type of hardware raid built into the basic rx2600?


My rx2600 doesn't have a built-in RAID controller - just the embedded LSI Logic SCSI chipset. However, if you can get your hands on a Compaq/HP Smart Array PCI controller, that works. I've used SA 6400s on these boxes in the past at work running Linux. If you're familiar with the ProLiant x86 server line, it's the same stuff. You can plug the disk cable into the card, hit F8 while you boot, and build a disk array using the embedded utility.

If you just use the disks with the built in controller, they show up as three different volumes. (I am actually using this "feature" to safely triple-boot Linux, Windows Server 2003 and Windows Server 2008.)
Author RE: rx2600 raid?
GerryB
Member

Posts: 24
Location: Florida
Joined: 26.06.08
Posted on February 18 2009 15:46
Thanks for all your responses.

I am familiar with the Proliant RAID controller, etc. I'll probably use disk 1 with volume shadowing on disk 3 and use disk 2 as a private disk. That way I have a shadow on a different channel, correct?

Thanks again.

Gerry (who needs a remote VMS monitoring job)
Author RE: rx2600 raid?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on February 18 2009 17:19
I'll probably use disk 1 with volume shadowing on disk 3 and use disk 2 as a private disk. That way I have a shadow on a different channel, correct?


Correct.

cu,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

ChrisChiesa
February 02 2017
What's the status of DECUS memberships? Just found my membership card. :-)

bofh
January 06 2017
Searching for Pathworks 6.0 for DOS & Windows. Anyone have it?

malmberg
December 29 2016
The openvms disks question is frequently answered in the forums, and is not something to ask about in the shout box.

Cmota
December 29 2016
Hello, I am in need of the openvms.disk, but I don't know where to obtain it

moch75
December 26 2016
personal alpha

moch75
December 24 2016
personal alpha+

Shoutbox Archive