Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, April 23, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,098
Newest Member: amacmahon
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | FreeAXP
Author Boot failure on V6.2-1H2
kinsa
Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 11.03.10
Posted on April 21 2010 23:05
Hi,

I have a setup that worked fine on Personal Alpha. I tried running it on the latest version (Beta 271) and got the following error:

%RUN-S-PROC_ID, identification of created process is 00000112
**** OpenVMS (TM) Alpha Operating System V6.2-1H2 - BUGCHECK ****
** Code=000001CC: INVEXCEPTN, Exception while above ASTDEL
** Crash CPU: 00 Primary CPU: 00 Active CPUs: 00000001
** Current Process = LATACP
** Image Name =
**** Starting Memory Dump...
....
**** Memory Dump complete - not all processes saved
halted CPU 0
halt code = 5
HALT instruction executed
PC = ffffffff8004a1c4
CPU 0 booting




Here is the config:
cp = control
{
cp_log = logfile
{
filename = "C:\test\test.log";
}

alpha = alpha
{
memory=128M;
image = "C:\test\test.nvr";
pcibus = dc21071da
{
data = "C:\test\test.toy";
serial0 = i16550
{
s0_tn = telnet
{
port = 9000;
wait = true;
action = """C:\Program Files\FreeAXP\putty.exe"" telnet://localhost:9000";
}
}

pci7 = i82378
{
}

pci6 = symbios
{

disk0.2 = file
{
image = "C:\test\dka200.img";
}

disk0.4 = file
{
image = "C:\test\dka400.img";
}
}

pci11 = de500
{
adapter="ask";
}
}
}
}




I'm running 32-bit Windows Server 2003 on Dual-Core E6500 @ 2.93GHz with 2.99 GB of RAM.

Thanks for any help.
Edited by kinsa on April 22 2010 18:18
Author RE: INVEXCEPTN in LATACP
VolkerHalle
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 96
Location: Germany
Joined: 02.04.10
Posted on April 22 2010 00:34
This is a software crash in LATACP.

Please take into account, that FreeAXP emulates a different network adapter (EWA instead of ESA in PersonalAlpha).

A system dumpfile has been written, so boot again with PersonalAlpha and you should automatically get a CLUE$COLLECT:CLUE$node_ddmmyy_hhmm.LIS file being created during startup. Feel free to mail this file to me.

Then try to first boot FreeAXP without starting LAT, TCPIP, DECnet. And change your LAN device names in all those procedures and configurations from using ESA to using EWA.

Volker.
http://www.invenate.de
Author RE: Boot failure on V6.2-1H2
kinsa
Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 11.03.10
Posted on April 22 2010 01:24
I'm using a fresh copy of the image backup that I had made from a working AlphaStation 255. So I assume it is still using the EWA interface.

I'll try to disable LAT and DECnet and see if the system boots. I'm a VMS Noob so this might take a while.

Also, I searched for any CLUE*.LIS but there was none.

Kinsa
Author RE: a dumpfile will be important
VolkerHalle
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 96
Location: Germany
Joined: 02.04.10
Posted on April 22 2010 01:31
Kinsa,

a system dump should have been written. Please check, if you have a SYS$SYSTEM:SYSDUMP.DMP file. If so, try:

$ ANAL/CRASH
SDA> CLUE CRASH
SDA> CLUE REGISTER
SDA> CLUE CONFIG
SDA> CLUE STACK
SDA> EXIT

and post the data.

There should be a SYS$MANAGER:CLUE$STARTUP_node.LOG file from the first boot after the crash. Look into that file for error messages to find out, why no CLUE file might have been created.

Volker.
http://www.invenate.de
Author RE: Boot failure on V6.2-1H2
kinsa
Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 11.03.10
Posted on April 22 2010 02:11
Volker,

Thanks for the tips.

I used a different image, this time V6.2-1H3 and got the following error:

**** OpenVMS (TM) Alpha Operating System V6.2-1H3 - BUGCHECK ****
** Code=000001CC: INVEXCEPTN, Exception while above ASTDEL
** Crash CPU: 00 Primary CPU: 00 Active CPUs: 00000001
** Current Process = UCX$INET_ACP




I'll send the dumps of both systems later.

Kinsa.
Edited by kinsa on April 22 2010 18:13
Author RE: Boot failure on V6.2-1H2
VolkerHalle
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 96
Location: Germany
Joined: 02.04.10
Posted on April 22 2010 03:32
Kinsa,

if posting console output, please consider to cut & paste the data from the Putty console terminal - it's more readable - or even use the Putty logfile option to create a Putty log file.

Volker.
http://www.invenate.de
Author RE: Boot failure on V6.2-1H2
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on April 22 2010 12:25
The order DECnet and TCP/IP services start is important. DECnet needs to start first. If TCP/IP (UCX) gets ahead of it, DECnet can't configure the NIC properly and fails to start.

Try this:

- As Volker suggested, disable the DECnet (STARTNET) and TCP/IP (UCX$STARTUP) start ups in SYSTARTUP_VMS.COM. Comment out commands similar to these:

$ IF F$SEARCH("SYS$SYSTEM:NETACP.EXE") .NES. "" -
THEN @SYS$MANAGER:STARTNET

$ @SYS$MANAGER:UCX$STARTUP.COM




- Reboot VMS.

- Run NETCONFIG.COM and reset your DECnet parameters.

- Enable DECnet start up in SYSTARTUP_VMS.COM (STARTNET).

- Reboot. This ought to fix DECnet and LAT.

- Run UCX$CONFIG.COM and reset your TCP/IP configuration.

- Enable TCP/IP in SYSTARTUP_VMS.COM (UCX$STARTUP).

- Reboot. This should fix TCP/IP.
Edited by Bruce Claremont on April 24 2010 04:20
Author RE: Boot failure on V6.2-1H2
kinsa
Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 11.03.10
Posted on April 22 2010 18:07
The main problem is that EWA0 is not recognized by VMS.

SDA> CLUE CONFIG shows:
Adapter Configuration:
----------------------
TR Adapter Name (Address) Hose Bus Node Device Name HW-Id/SW
-- ---------------------- ---- ----------- ---- ---------------- --------
1 KA0D02 (80DC9500) 0 BUSLESS_SYS
2 PCI (80DC9700) 0 PCI






PKA: 6 NCR53C810A 00051000
7 SATURN 04848086



11 DIGITAL_PCI_VEND 00191011




Press RETURN for more.





I tried installing patch ALPCPU0907_062 according to this thread

[url]http://forums13.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?admit=109447627+1271990099141+28353475&threadId=942384[/url]

but the interface is still not recognized.

What is the best way to resolve this issue?

Thanks.

Kinsa.
Edited by kinsa on April 22 2010 18:12
Author RE: Boot failure on V6.2-1H2
VolkerHalle
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 96
Location: Germany
Joined: 02.04.10
Posted on April 22 2010 20:19
Kinsa,

the ITRC thread mentioned contains a lot of information regarding DE500 support on OpenVMS Alpha V6.2*

Did you also install ALPLAN05_062 ?
What's the link date of SYS$LOADABLE_IMAGES:SYS$EWDRIVER_DE500BA.EXE ? (Use $ ANAL/IMA/INT ...)

Volker.
http://www.invenate.de
Author RE: Boot failure on V6.2-1H2
kinsa
Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 11.03.10
Posted on April 22 2010 21:12
Volker,

I created a fresh install of V6.2-1H3, with ALPLAN05_062 and ALPCPU0907_062 patch installed.

Image Identification Information

image name: "SYS$DE500BADRIVER"
image file identification: "X-3"
image file build identification: "X61Q-SSB-OA00"
link date/time: 4-MAR-1998 17:03:17.42
linker identification: "A11-12"




I also tried installing patch ALPLAN06_062,

Image Identification Information
image name: "SYS$DE500BADRIVER"
image file identification: "X-3"
image file build identification: "X61Q-SSB-OH00"
link date/time: 27-SEP-2000 22:52:06.68
linker identification: "A11-12"




and the result is still the same.

Kinsa.
Author RE: DE500-BA support and OpenVMS versions
VolkerHalle
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 96
Location: Germany
Joined: 02.04.10
Posted on April 22 2010 21:20
Kinsa,

the LAN interface in FreeAXP .271 presents itself as a

DE500-BA - PCI-ID 00191011 (NDT$_DC21143)

The Hardware Version is reported (SDA> SHOW LAN/FULL under V7.3-2) as 02000041 ( TU_C_DC21143_PD ).

According to the [LAN]EWDRIVER_DE500BA sources, support for DC21143_PD was added in OCT-1998.

There seem to exist different variants of the DE500-BA, which can only be detected in the CFRV (Configuration Revision Register) and 0041 may just be 'too new' for the older VMS versions.

The OpenVMS FAQ says:


14.23 Which DE500 variant works with which OpenVMS version?

DE500-BA
auto-detection, auto-negotiation,
OpenVMS V6.2-1H3 and CLUSIO, ALPBOOT, ALPLAN and ALPCPU ECOs, or V7.1-1H1 or later and ECO.
Device hardware id 02000030 (check connector, vs DE500-FA) (other values on old Alpha SRM firmware)


I booted OpenVMS V6.2-1H3 (no patches installed) and EWA0 is also not being configured ! It works fine with V7.3-2 though.

This makes me believe, that the LAN adapter choosen to be configured in FreeAXP, may not be supported on the 'older' OpenVMS versions.

Also note that the real AlphaServer 400 only supports a DE500-AA with OpenVMS V6.2-1H3 + ALPBOOT07_062 and ALPLAN04_062 according to the HP supported options list. No support for DE500-BA listed !


Problems addressed in the ALPLAN05_062 kit:

o Add support for the DE500-BA adapter and the Gigabit Ethernet
adapter.



PersonalAlpha presents an ESA0 (LANCE) LAN interface (HW version 00000000) and the Stromasys CHARON-AXP emulators by default present a DE435 (HW version 02000020).

Volker.
Edited by VolkerHalle on April 22 2010 23:11
http://www.invenate.de
Author RE: Boot failure on V6.2-1H2
kinsa
Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 11.03.10
Posted on April 22 2010 22:36
I have installed all CLUSIO, ALPBOOT, ALPLAN, and ALPCPU kits. Interface EWA0 was recognized but I got the following error when trying to start TCPIP:

%%%%%%%%%%% OPCOM 23-APR-2010 16:33:00.05 %%%%%%%%%%%
Message from user INTERnet on TEST
INTERnet Loaded

%RUN-S-PROC_ID, identification of created process is 0000010E
The Internet driver and ACP were successfully loaded.
%UCX-I-SETLOCAL, Setting domain and/or local host
%UCX-I-SETPROTP, Setting protocol parameters
%UCX-I-STARTCOMM, Starting communication
%%%%%%%%%%% OPCOM 23-APR-2010 16:33:00.46 %%%%%%%%%%%
Message from user INTERnet on TEST
INTERnet Started

%UCX-I-DEFINTE, Defining interfaces
%UCX-E-INVINTER, Error defining interface: WE0
-UCX-I-ACPQIO, Failure on Internet ACP QIO
-SYSTEM-F-DEVOFFLINE, device is not in configuration or not available
-SYSTEM-F-DEVOFFLINE, device is not in configuration or not available
%UCX-E-INVINTERNAM, Invalid interface name
-UCX-I-DRIVERQIO, Failure on Internet driver QIO
-UCX-E-INVNETMASK, Invalid network mask
%UCX-E-DELINTER, Error deleting interface: WE0
-UCX-I-ACPQIO, Failure on Internet ACP QIO
-UCX-E-INVINTERNAM, Invalid interface name
%UCX-I-ENABSERV, Enabling services
%UCX-E-CONFIGERROR, Error processing CONFIGURATION request
-RMS-E-RNF, record not found
%UCX-I-STARTNAME, Starting name_service
%UCX-I-LOADSERV, Loading UCX Server proxy information
%UCX-I-SERVLOADED, UCX Aux. Server loaded with 0 proxy records
-UCX-I-SERVSKIP, Skipped 0 communication proxy records
-UCX-I-SERVTOTAL, Total of 0 proxy records read
Startup request completed.




Author RE: $ UCX SHOW VERSION ?
VolkerHalle
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 96
Location: Germany
Joined: 02.04.10
Posted on April 22 2010 22:57
Kinsa,

if OpenVMS patches have helped, how about UCX patches ?

Does @UCX$CONFIG and re-configuring the interface detect and accept EWA0 as WE0 ?

Please also take the time and check the EWA0 interface details on your original Alpha system. The idea of hardware emulation is to - whenever possible - make NO changes to the operating system and applications, when moving from the real system to the emulated system.

Volker.
Edited by VolkerHalle on April 22 2010 22:58
http://www.invenate.de
Author RE: $ ucx show version
kinsa
Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 11.03.10
Posted on April 23 2010 00:42
Volker,

This is what I had installed:

ALPCLUSIO01_062
ALPBOOT12_062
ALPBOOT13_062
ALPCPU0C09_062
ALPCPU0D05_062
ALPCPU1501_062
ALPCPU1603_062
ALPCPU1A02_062
ALPCPU1B03_062
ALPCPU906_062
ALPCPU0907_062
ALPLAN05_062
UCXECO_41_10



Does @UCX$CONFIG and re-configuring the interface detect and accept EWA0 as WE0 ?


There is no problem during configuration, only during the TCPIP startup.

%UCX-I-DEFINTE, Defining interfaces
%UCX-E-INVINTER, Error defining interface: WE0
-UCX-I-ACPQIO, Failure on Internet ACP QIO
-SYSTEM-F-DEVOFFLINE, device is not in configuration or not available
-SYSTEM-F-DEVOFFLINE, device is not in configuration or not available
%UCX-E-INVINTERNAM, Invalid interface name
-UCX-I-DRIVERQIO, Failure on Internet driver QIO
-UCX-E-INVNETMASK, Invalid network mask
%UCX-E-DELINTER, Error deleting interface: WE0
-UCX-I-ACPQIO, Failure on Internet ACP QIO
-UCX-E-INVINTERNAM, Invalid interface name


$ ucx show version

Digital TCP/IP Services for OpenVMS Alpha Version V4.1 - ECO 10
on a AlphaServer 400 4/166 running OpenVMS V6.2-1H3





Kinsa.

UPDATE

The reason why it doesn't work:


SDA> SHOW LAN/DEV=EW

-- EWA Device Information 24-APR-2010 07:31:24 --

LSB address 80A05C80 Driver code address 8087CAE8
Driver version 0A010001 06020008 Device1 code address 00000000
Device1 version 00000000 00000000 Device2 code address 00000000
Device2 version 00000000 00000000 LAN code address 8087C820
LAN version 00A30002 06020089 DLL type CSMACD
Device name EW_TULIP MOP name EWA
MOP ID 203 HW serial Not supplied
HW version 02000041 Promiscuous mode OFF
Controller mode NORMAL Promiscuous UCB 00000000
Internal loopback ON All multicast state OFF
Hardware address None CRC generation mode ON
Physical address None Full Duplex Enable OFF
Active unit count 0 Full Duplex State OFF
Line speed 100

Flags: 00000000
Char: 00000000





It is recognized as EW_TULIP card.
Edited by kinsa on April 23 2010 14:31
Author RE: DE500 not recognized by 'older' VMS versions
VolkerHalle
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 96
Location: Germany
Joined: 02.04.10
Posted on April 23 2010 23:32
Kinsa,

the Stromasys CHARON-AXP/SMA help says this:


<model> specifies the emulated NIC (DE435/DE450/DE500) default is DE435 because older versions of VMS and DUnix do not recognize the newer ones


And there seems to be some truth in this ...

So the 'OpenVMS version supported' statement for FreeAXP .271 should be further qualified with the minimum version and patch level required for support of the emulated LAN interface.

Volker.
http://www.invenate.de
Author RE: Boot failure on V6.2-1H2
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on April 24 2010 04:24
Earlier I stated I had successfully installed and configured VMS 6.2 and VMS 6.2-1H3 with DECnet and TCP/IP from VMS installation ISO's. I've gone back and re-tested under 271 and the NIC does not show up under either O/S. Sorry for the misstatement (which I've removed). We're working on the issue, which likely is related to an issue with the NIC under OSF/1 3.2C.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

Shoutbox Archive