Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, April 23, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,098
Newest Member: amacmahon
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | FreeAXP
Author Windows 7 - 64 bit Loopback connector
Hein
Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 02.02.07
Posted on May 22 2011 07:12
One of the laptops I work on has no NIC (can add USB - NIC if needed), just Wifi. During the FreeAxp config, no network choice is offered up.
So on the laptop I added the loopback connector device, configured for 192.168.10.15/24, no GW, no DNS. That shows as (the only) selection as Nic for FreeAxp.
Configured TCPIP on freeaxp for 192.168.10.72/24, but no connection.
No ping, no ftp, no telnet. They can each see themself fine.

Tried on a 7-pro, and 7-home-premium both 64 bit.
Used the Microsoft provided loopback adapter.
Tried with and without pseudo MAC addres.
Try an other one? (TAP?)

A much similar config on my 32-bit XP-SP2 works fine.
Under XP the loopback connector has a 'Medium' configuration choice with I had set to Ethernet, but that choice is not volunteered under V7.
The TAP alternative for XP has an 'always connected' configuration, but the MS-loopback does not and it connects fine anyway.

I've cycles NET STOP/START MSIPCAP, and tried running FreeAxp normally and as Administrator.

Any hints?

Totaly different question... is there anything useful to do with TPS_TIMER? It indicates to be @ 1ms. Can I set it to 10ms? How?
The reason I ask is because I'd like FreeAxp to use even less CPU when idle, as riht now it is right at the fan-kick-in threshhold and I'd like to stay under that. Any knobs to turn for that?

Hein


Hein van den Heuvel
HvdH Performance Consulting
firstnamelastname.gmail.com
Author RE: Windows 7 - 64 bit Loopback connector
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on May 23 2011 06:42
You running the idle loop in your configuration?
Author RE: Windows 7 - 64 bit Loopback connector
Hein
Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 02.02.07
Posted on May 26 2011 03:56
>> You running the idle loop in your configuration?

Yes. Otherwise it eats a full CPU right away, as to be expecgted.
It is not using much, periods of 1/2 cpu, Average less than 10%, but just enough of a tickle to exite the CPUs and make them run a little warm.

I just noticed a message about the Windows Firewall having stopped some activity. This is a fresh PC, where it was still enabled out-of-the-box. Normally I run without a firewall on windows, having all my systems behind a firewall.

For Windows-7 , is the recommendation (requirement?) to change the image property to 'run as administrator' ?

Hein



Hein van den Heuvel
HvdH Performance Consulting
firstnamelastname.gmail.com
Author RE: Windows 7 - 64 bit Loopback connector
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on May 27 2011 03:39
The recommendation for all versions of Windows is to have the launch process run as administrator. it will want to poke through the firewall for WinPCAP and network support.
Author RE: Windows 7 - 64 bit Loopback connector
SYSMGR
Member

Posts: 17
Location: Leusden, Netherlands
Joined: 14.03.06
Posted on August 05 2011 04:53
I have the same problem. I'm sure the software has been installed from an administartor account, and it runs as administrator.
However: looking at the properties of the looppback adaptor, I don't see MSIPCAP mentioned. All I see is:
Client for Microsoft Networks
Deterministic Network Enhancer
QoS packet Scheduler
File and Printer Sharing for Mocrosoft Networks
Internet Protocol Version 6 (TCPIP/IPV6)
Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCPIP/IPV4)
Link-Layer Topology Discovery Mapper I/O Driver
Link-Layer Topology Discovery Responder

All checked.
Sharing disabled.

IP address (alternatiive) set to match the network of the emulator`but it won't work either if it's set it fixed to the address.

Might be mising something?

http://www.grootersnet.nl
Author RE: Windows 7 - 64 bit Loopback connector
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on August 08 2011 03:41
From Dave Hittner:

Most commercial wireless NICs “edit out” MAC addresses that are not registered to the wireless card to conserve limited wireless bandwidth, thus most emulators don’t work properly with wireless cards, as the emulators depend upon multiple MAC addresses and promiscuous mode.

The simplest thing to do is to add a wired NIC, which does not have the wireless MAC restrictions.

If you can’t add a wired NIC, the second thing to try is to set the simulated MAC address to the same as the wireless MAC address – this frequently works with TCP/IP (as long as you don’t duplicate the IP address), DECNET V (non-compatibility mode), and sometimes clustering (SCS), as the PC tends to ignore the packet protocols that it doesn’t recognize, and the IP packets which aren’t targeted to it.

DECNET IV is harder to get running with wireless, since it attempts to change the MAC address to ‘AA-00-04…’, voiding the wireless MAC connection. There is a program, SMAC, which can force the wireless MAC address to the ‘aa-00-04’ style, but it’s difficult to get Decnet IV running with this, as it complains of duplicate address on the LAN during startup – some creative circuit force down/up can occasionally fix this. LAT broadcast address can also be problematic over wireless as well - some wireless NICs pass the broadcast traffic OK, and some don’t because they edit out the unrecognized non-ip protocol to save bandwidth.

Supposedly, AirShark makes a wireless NIC which allows for full promiscuous mode implementations to allow for full wireless packet sniffing. I can’t confirm this, as I’ve never bought one.
Author RE: Not the issue here (I think)
SYSMGR
Member

Posts: 17
Location: Leusden, Netherlands
Joined: 14.03.06
Posted on August 10 2011 10:20
The last post concers real hardware: Either wireless of wired connections. I didn't try this yet on Windows7, on XP I didn't run into any issue with these - the emulation running on a laptop happily clustered to a real Alpha - over (encrypted) wireless ...
The problem is that the loopback adaptor on Windows7 doesn't connect. EVen when FreeAxp is installed using the real Administaror acount (normally disabled). The loopback adaptor is now shown in the list of available adaptors in the configuration. But even when this is configured into the same network as the emulator, there is no connection between the emulator and the adaptor. ....
If stated that it works on Win7-64, I expect it to be usable without using the real hardware.....
http://www.grootersnet.nl
Author RE: Windows 7 - 64 bit Loopback connector
SYSMGR
Member

Posts: 17
Location: Leusden, Netherlands
Joined: 14.03.06
Posted on August 29 2011 07:49
Strange....
I found a folder C:\Program Files\Common Files\MigrationSpecialties Shared\msipcap containing msiIPcatSetup.exe and msipcap.sys. The first requests I)nstall) or U(ninstall) and the path to the SYSTEM32 directory. Running this as administrator ( to be sure): it requires a path to the Windows SYSTEM32 directory... Note this is a 64-bit system!
http://www.grootersnet.nl
Author RE: Windows 7 - 64 bit Loopback connector
SYSMGR
Member

Posts: 17
Location: Leusden, Netherlands
Joined: 14.03.06
Posted on August 29 2011 08:45
The dervice does esist:

C:\Windows\system32>sc query msipcap

SERVICE_NAME: msipcap
TYPE : 1 KERNEL_DRIVER
STATE : 4 RUNNING
(STOPPABLE, NOT_PAUSABLE, IGNORES_SHUTDOWN)
WIN32_EXIT_CODE : 0 (0x0)
SERVICE_EXIT_CODE : 0 (0x0)
CHECKPOINT : 0x0
WAIT_HINT : 0x0

C:\Windows\system32>

but I don't see a connection to the loopback adapter.
http://www.grootersnet.nl
Author RE: Works now.
Hein
Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 02.02.07
Posted on September 16 2011 17:43
Not sure what happened here, pretty sure I retried what i had tried before.
Anyway, I finally have a virtual network on my Windows7 64-bit laptop, using the OpenVPN TAP Virtual Ethernet Adapter installed as per section 9.2 "NETWORKING AVANTI ON A SYSTEM WITH A SINGLE NIC" in the 9/6/11 Userguide. Now running FreeAXP 2.0-377.
Maybe I had failed to do the set “Media Status” to “Always Connected”.
Maybe it works now because I pick 192.168.0.x as addresses?
(there is a Microsoft driver that insists on that).
I did NOT bridge the connection as I did not need to expose OpenVM on FreeAXP to the internet or visa versa. Just stuff running on the host itself (FTP, Putty, Attunity Studio, DBclient,...)

fwiw, Hein.


Hein van den Heuvel
HvdH Performance Consulting
firstnamelastname.gmail.com
Edited by Hein on September 16 2011 17:50
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

Shoutbox Archive