Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, April 20, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,095
Newest Member: kjordan
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | FreeAXP
Author Multiple Terminals
NeonJack
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 30.03.10
Posted on January 11 2013 00:25
FREEAXP has just the Operator's Console (on port 9000) and TTA0 (on port 9001). I would like to connect a virtual Multiplexer (I think that is what this device would be called), or some other similar, and hopefully free, software so that you could connect more virtual terminals to the emulator (e.g. TTA1:, TTA2: TTA3: etc.), probably using the software on TTA0: (9001). Then when you connect using Telnet/Putty/Keavt/Reflection or whatever, using port 9001, the multiplexor would give you a unique TT: number (and probably automatically assign you a unique internal port number (e.g. 12001 etc).

I have had a careful look in the forums but if this topic has been posted already then I've missed it, sorry!

I agree this is probably a certainty for entry into the "Wishing For The Moon" competition, but if anybody knows of a means whereby I can do this, I would be very grateful.
Author RE: Umm Telnet ?
John Manger
Moderator

User Avatar

Posts: 51
Location: nr Heathrow, Middlesex, UK
Joined: 18.03.10
Posted on January 15 2013 04:17
I expect I am missing something obvious :-) , but why not simply start another PuTTy and telnet to the emulator locally or do a similar thing remotely ?

Just my 2d/2c.

John M
Author RE: Multiple Terminals
NeonJack
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 30.03.10
Posted on January 16 2013 04:37
if you start a second PuTTY you still need to give the same port number e.g. 9001. The second connection then puts you in wherever the first connection happens to be - this might be in the middle of an FMS form for example, if the first session happens to be using the FMS Editor. The second session won't see what has already been painted on the screen of the first session, so if the cursor is in the middle of the screen on the third or fourth field, say, you will just see the cursor in the middle of the screen, blinking away. If OTOH, you use say port 9002, the emulator is not listening on that so the PuTTY session will sit there, not connected and therefore doing not a lot.

It'd be nice if you could do what you suggest, John (and thank you for your reply), but I think if we could the Multiplexer device manufacturers in the real DEC world would have gone bust long ago...
smiley
Author RE: Install TCPIP
fovea1959
Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 06.02.12
Posted on January 16 2013 04:49
I installed TCPIP on my FreeAXP/OpenVMS 8.4, and my user uses ssh to get in when it's on the net. I have a user in on device "FTA2:" right now.

I'm going to stuff a 2nd virtual NIC into my OpenVMS attached to the Microsoft loopback adapter so that I can ssh into it from the host machine when I am "off-net".
Author RE: Multiple Terminals
NeonJack
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 30.03.10
Posted on January 16 2013 05:20
fovea1959 wrote:
I installed TCPIP on my FreeAXP/OpenVMS 8.4, and my user uses ssh to get in when it's on the net. I have a user in on device "FTA2:" right now.

I'm going to stuff a 2nd virtual NIC into my OpenVMS attached to the Microsoft loopback adapter so that I can ssh into it from the host machine when I am "off-net".


I have TCP/IP installed on my FreeAXP/Open VMS 8.4 as well. When setting up SSH in the PuTTY client what settings do you use?
Author RE: Multiple Terminals
NeonJack
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 30.03.10
Posted on January 24 2013 06:17
SSH is the way to go with this. You need to enable it by logging in as SYSTEM and running the TCPIP$CONFIG command procedure. Select the server option and install and get the SSH Server going. You do not need to worry about the SSH Clinet, because PuTTY is going to be that. Remember to do a @SYS$STARTUP:TCPIP$SSH_SHUTDOWN followed by a @SYS$STARTUP:TCPIP$SSH_STARTUP so that the changes will be put into effect. The first time you logon using PuTTY with ssh you will get a check saying the host's rsa key is not in your cache but if you are happy with it, you will then be able to connect. The terminal is set to "unknown" because, being a remote terminal, OpenVMS has no way of knowing what type of terminal it is. You can set it to be a vt400 by doing a SET TERM/DEV=VT400 and if you detect the terminal type in your LOGIN.COM file you can change it as you are logging in. My thanks to "fovea159" for making this brilliant suggestion (i set it up and ran 5 terminals straightaway!smiley)
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

Shoutbox Archive