Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, March 28, 2024
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 1
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,708
Newest Member: nifseg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | FreeAXP
Author How to Create OpenVMS Disk image?
Cotham

Posted on May 16 2014 05:27
Brief background: I am a chemist by profession and have an instrument whose operating program runs under OpenVMS on a DEC Alphastation 255. I would like to try to get freeAXP up and running on this equipment for added reliability. I have limited OpenVMS experience since I typically only interface with the instrument software. My current problem is how to create an image of the OpenVMS boot disk on the real system so that I can put it on the emulator platform. The Alphastation is on our university network if that is any help. Could someone please reply with some guidelines or instructions in this matter?

Thanks!

Bill
Author RE: How to Create OpenVMS Disk image?
Bruce Claremont

Posted on May 16 2014 12:06
Three steps:

1) Create an image backup of the AlphaStation using BACKUP/IMAGE.

2) Install OpenVMS under FreeAXP in order to create a target system to which you can copy the backup image. The copy can be done using DECnet copy or FTP.

3) Restore the backup image on the FreeAXP system.

Migration Specialties provides fee based porting services for institutions that no longer have VMS resources.
Cotham

Posted on May 19 2014 05:56
Thanks for the Reply Bruce,

I am somewhat familiar with the BACKUP/IMAGE command and have used it to create a backup boot disk for our system. I am not quite sure how to move that image using FTP over to the emulator. Is this done by using the BACKUP command over FTP?