Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, July 15, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 7
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,161
Newest Member: matt8588
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Software Forum
Author systartup_vms.com
sureshot
Member

Posts: 37
Location: Hillsboro Ohio
Joined: 15.02.07
Posted on October 10 2007 03:08
Hello

I have a mount command as the last line in my systartup_vms.com and it just keep trying to mount that drive.. so how do i stop this monster so i dont have to restore from an image backup of a fresh install. i need to stop it either in mid boot or when it reaches this mount command tried all the keys with ctl, alt , and a few other random combinations

please help

sureshot
thanks in advace
prk62
Author MOUNT/NOASSIST
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on October 10 2007 18:22
Whenever I mount a disk in systartup, I always mount it /NOASSIST to avoid problems like this.

Also, since it is late in systartup_vms.com, you might be able to log in via telnet, set host, etc and stop the startup process. Then you can fix it.
Author Re: MOUNT/NOASSIST
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on October 12 2007 12:43
[quote:9d50e8a735="HobbyistOne"]Whenever I mount a disk in systartup, I always mount it /NOASSIST to avoid problems like this.

Also, since it is late in systartup_vms.com, you might be able to log in via telnet, set host, etc and stop the startup process. Then you can fix it.[/quote:9d50e8a735]

I was taught to mount disks in SYLOGICALS.COM, except for the disk(s) containing the page (and swap) files, which gets mounted in SYPAGSWPFILES.COM. Both of these command files are run earlier in the startup procedure than SYSTARTUP*.COM, but I always make sure that I am using the /NOASSIST switch, as suggested above.

I don't really know if mounting the disks earlier confers much of an advantage, except I'm quite sure that any application or utility started in SYSTARTUP*.COM that depend on "their" disks being mounted will have no trouble starting (barring any mount failures). :-)

It is "logical" to mount disks in SYLOGICALS.COM, since the command to mount disks affords the optional ability to confer a system-wide logical name on the disk.
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive