Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, July 20, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 10
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,166
Newest Member: guozihao
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Software Forum
Author running x-windows applications on non-workstation alpha via remote X
m2-guy
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 36
Location: Provence
Joined: 19.12.07
Posted on September 24 2008 00:59
Hello,

1. I'd like to run a x11 application (which runs fine on any alpha openvms workstation) on an alpha vms server without graphics device (actually using the es40 emulator). On the es40, I have installed dwmotif with PAKs (using a image copy of the system disk of the alpha workstation having tweaked the network core/interface for tcp/ip which runs fine), but the es40 decw server support doesn't start up.

the es40 vms operator log on 1st boot said at startup "no graphics found," which is fair enough, but why don't I get at least the vms server side decwindow support so that I could run the x11 application remotely via x client on pc? currently on pc/windows I use putty/telnet to get a dec-terminal window, where I can login to es40. When I try to start the x app, I get the error "no display found."

2. is there a suitable x-windows client for pc/windows? (o/w I'd have to get linux on the pc too.)

thanks for your help!
Author RE: running x-windows applications on non-workstation alpha via remote X
m2-guy
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 36
Location: Provence
Joined: 19.12.07
Posted on September 24 2008 06:13
wanted to add: a license for dwmotif is active and base support installed since this file exists:

Directory SYS$COMMON:[SYSLIB]

DECW$TRANSPORT_COMMON.EXE;1
50 29-JUN-2006 18:25:29.15 [SYSTEM]

I've just read in the openvms vax 7.1 docs:

"DECwindows only requires that INET_ACP be running."

I guess this is ok since TCPIP$INETACP is running on my es40. so maybe there's no dedicated process for decw base support?
Author RE: running x-windows applications on non-workstation alpha via remote X
m2-guy
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 36
Location: Provence
Joined: 19.12.07
Posted on September 24 2008 12:48
Thank you, Stephen, after I put the $ define/... DECW$IGNORE_WORKSTATION TRUE in sys$manager:sylogicals.com, I got rid of "%DECW$DEVICE-I-NODEVICE, no graphics devices found error" at startup. otherwise nothing changed, i.e., the show sys process list was same as before, which means remote x server should have worked before, but I had not yet tried since I suspected the x client on the es40 were not active.

I installed cygwin/x on my pc/w2k (which took some time because I didn't RTFM :), launched cygwin/x on pc, had to add inettools via cygwin/x setup, because it is not included in the xorg-x11-base package, not even in the same [X11] category, then finally in the x terminal, I could telnet

/usr/X11R6/bin/xhost remote_ip_address_of_es40

/usr/bin/telnet remote_ip_address_of_es40

to the es40 emulator (running on the same pc), logged into es40 via telnet session, where I exported the display with the vms command

$ SET DISPLAY/CREATE/NODE=<IP address of pc with XWindows server>/TRANSPORT=TCPIP

Then I started my x application on vms, which - "wonder still happen," - opened a x display on (still the same) pc/w2k.

after a while, - - nothing is prefect :), my app crashed - due to an error in the es40 emu I guess, since I got 2 different errors; while my app runs well on a real alpha.

by the way, it is better to start the x apps via the es40 emulated serial line putty/telnet terminal, instead of using the cygwin X console, because it has scroll bar and session logging.

nevertheless, that's quite a progress - for me, - i.e., to know, that in principle at least, I can run my x app on es40 emu, all on one and the same pc - and maybe the remaining bug(s) in the emu could soon be traced down. ...

in the meantime it got late. let's call it a day :)
Edited by m2-guy on September 24 2008 13:03
Author RE: running x-windows applications on non-workstation alpha via remote X
m2-guy
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 36
Location: Provence
Joined: 19.12.07
Posted on October 13 2009 10:18
> As for what might happen with the Alpha emulation and any flaws within it, that's another matter and another discussion.

When I read your post at that time (September 24 2008) I already sensed a hidden message behind your wording. You seem to know the future already 6 months ahead of all others. smiley

Indeed there was no update of the emulator since last snapshot version May-2008, because Camiel, the main developer of www.es40.org was already involved in the development of a new commercial Alpha (and VAX) emulator.
Author RE: running x-windows applications on non-workstation alpha via remote X
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on October 13 2009 22:53
but the sources of the ES40 emulator are available if you want to fix them :-)
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author RE: running x-windows applications on non-workstation alpha via remote X
m2-guy
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 36
Location: Provence
Joined: 19.12.07
Posted on October 21 2009 07:57
> but the sources of the ES40 emulator are available if you want to fix them :-)

yes, and a while ago I checked the C source of many instructions (apart from FP-instr.) where I suspected an error but couldn't find one. My best guess is it's the (32bit) MS C++ compiler or it's run-time system. Maybe the error I get with my test program under es40.org doesn't occur if one runs the emu on a 64 bit system.

do you want to try my test program? (just run it; it doesn't process any input data.)

I can upload the exe of the test program somewhere. it stops with self-check (memory corruption) on the emu, but terminates without error on a real alpha.

the cause must be an erroneous emulation of some non-FP instr., artithmetic or zap or zapnot or pack/unpack instruction.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive