Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, July 20, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 6
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,166
Newest Member: guozihao
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Software Forum
Author modparams.dat-->params.dat problem
cmethot
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 23
Location: Calgary, Canada
Joined: 13.06.08
Posted on October 29 2008 19:15
Hi,
i'm re-commissioning an Alpha4100/4cpu with Ovms6.2-1h3
i'm having problem as:" INSFMEM, insufficient dynamic memory"
while doing different instalation task.
so i tried to increase some parameter in the Modparams.dat
cltpages=1500
save the modparams.dat
than :reboot,
BUT they do not seem to be added .
when i view them in sysgen : sysgen>view ctlpages

it still say 100 (default value)

i when to read the sys$systemsmileyarams.dat , my change of the Modparams were not added to it.
i feel like it doesnot even read my modparams....or even the params.dat
i push mu luck to even add my parameter in the params.dat my self and after reboot.. the value of the added parameter are still nominal
far away from the valut i set in the modparams or the params.dat.

i have another similar alphastation with the same configuration and it take about 5 minutes to boot..
this new one i'm trying to commission take only 1 minutes..way too fast..some stuff seem to be skipped..

i'm lost......helllpppppp mmeeeeee



Claude
Author RE: modparams.dat-->params.dat problem
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on October 30 2008 05:42
Claude,

i'm having problem as:" INSFMEM, insufficient dynamic memory" while doing different instalation task.
so i tried to increase some parameter in the Modparams.dat
cltpages=1500
save the modparams.dat
than :reboot,
BUT they do not seem to be added .
when i view them in sysgen : sysgen>view ctlpages
it still say 100 (default value)


Changes to MODPARAMS.DAT are only made active with a run of SYS$UPDATE:AUTOGEN.COM. As there are more than 300 SYSGEN variables, some of which are interconnected, this is the recommended method of changing SYSGEN parameters. See AUTOGEN's description in the System Management Utilities Reference Manual

HTH,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: modparams.dat-->params.dat problem
cmethot
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 23
Location: Calgary, Canada
Joined: 13.06.08
Posted on October 30 2008 11:20
i will try this right away...
and get back to you.

Claude
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive