Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, July 16, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 13
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,163
Newest Member: willajpeck
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author disk allocation, mounting directories on drives as names
DavidDickinson
Member

Posts: 16
Location: Stonehouse, Gloucestershire, England
Joined: 13.03.06
Posted on March 15 2006 10:05
ok, so i installed this system with 1 disk in. dka0:

i've added a 40gb disk. allocated it, initialised it, and can write to it.

first thing i did was mounted it as disk$disk1:

created some directories on it via :-

create /dir disk$disk1:[central]
set default disk$disk1:[central]
create /dir [.software]
create /dir [.data]

etc

then i unmounted it.


k. so what i want to do is create some "logical names for these directories"

ie.
disk$software: maps to dka100:[central.software]
disk$data: maps to dka100:[central.data]

i can mount....
$ mount dka100:[central.data] volumename disk$data:

but when i try to mount the software one, it says
%mount-I-oprqst, device is already mounted

please forgive me. i'm probably asking an obvious question. its been 18 years since i worked with vms.

i know i'm doing it wrong.
anybody know the tool/command i should be using ?

i have been/am trawling through the hp documentation online, but to be fair, its a mess. takes longer to search for whats needed than time required to ask.

oh! i haven't yet booted the system since init'ing the disk. is there an OS file of some sort i need to add any mount commands into to mount it on boot up ? or is login.com the place to do it ?

regards
-dave-

new. but old. memory isn't what it used to be.
Author Re: disk allocation, mounting directories on drives as names
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on March 16 2006 00:24
[quote:88dbfe8e4d="DavidDickinson"][...]
k. so what i want to do is create some "logical names for these directories"

ie.
disk$software: maps to dka100:[central.software]
disk$data: maps to dka100:[central.data]

i can mount....
$ mount dka100:[central.data] volumename disk$data:

but when i try to mount the software one, it says
%mount-I-oprqst, device is already mounted

please forgive me. i'm probably asking an obvious question. its been 18 years since i worked with vms.[/quote:88dbfe8e4d]

The commands ("logicals") you are looking for are:

Define/system/exec/trans=conc disk$software dka100:[central.software.]
define/system/exec/trans=conc disk$data dka100:[central.data.]

Please note the trailing "." at the end of the directory specifications; this creates what are known as "rooted logicals". You can now treat disk$software and disk$data as "virtual disks", which (I think) was your intention. disk$software:[000000] maps to dka100:[central.software], for example, while disk$software:[samba] maps to dka100:[central.software.samba]

You'll want to pick a different logical name for your disk upon mounting, something like:

mount/system/noassist dka100 disk1

Then you can replace "dka100" in the above DEFINE statements with "disk1"
[quote:88dbfe8e4d="DavidDickinson"]
oh! i haven't yet booted the system since init'ing the disk. is there an OS file of some sort i need to add any mount commands into to mount it on boot up ? or is login.com the place to do it ?[/quote:88dbfe8e4d]

The DEFINE commands should be located in SYS$STARTUP:SYLOGICALS.COM. The MOUNT command should be placed before the DEFINE commands, so that the define commands can take advantage of the volume logical created by MOUNT.

Others will probably want to chip in here, as well...
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author
DavidDickinson
Member

Posts: 16
Location: Stonehouse, Gloucestershire, England
Joined: 13.03.06
Posted on March 16 2006 13:04
cool....

k. so what i eventually did (thanks for the pointers brad) was :-

mount/system/noassist/bind=disk1 dka100:,dka200:,dka300:/dka400: disk1-1,disk1-2,disk1-3,disk1-4

define/system/exec/trans=conc disk$software disk$disk1:[software.]
etc for the rest of the logical maps i wanted.

and stuffed that into the relevant place in sylogicals.com

works a treat.

samba next smiley

regards
-dave-

oh.
initialize dka100: disk1-1
etc
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive