Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, January 23, 2019
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,250
Newest Member: decourl
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author Try to run VMS 7-3-1 on a alphastation
Anonymous
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 11.12.05
Posted on December 20 2005 10:08
I try to run VMS 7-3-1 on a alpahstation 255 with 32 MB memory.

It wil not boot. I get a error "Phisical memory overflow".

How much MB a need to run this version?
With version a need?

smileyops:

Thanks.
Author Re: Try to run VMS 7-3-1 on a alphastation
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on December 20 2005 13:21
[quotesmiley6ca04bf5b="Sjoerd"]I try to run VMS 7-3-1 on a alpahstation 255 with 32 MB memory.

It wil not boot. I get a error "Phisical memory overflow".

How much MB a need to run this version?
With version a need?

smileyops:

Thanks.[/quotesmiley6ca04bf5b]

I looked in the FAQ, and could not find an answer to this question (the FAQ is normally your friend):

<http://www.hp.com/go/openvms/faq>

The SPD says:

64MB minimum

I say:

put in the maximum your hardware will allow, for best responsiveness. :-)
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author VMS Memory requirements
rjj
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 19
Location: Nottingham UK
Joined: 13.12.05
Posted on December 21 2005 04:36
To agree with Brad....

I think that 64Meg is the minimum and 128 is recommended.

My little old DEC 3000 certainly boots Alpha OpenVMS fine on 64 meg.

I think that VAXes will boot with much less.

However, regardless of platform, to agree with Brad again, performance
will be improved by having more than the minimum. Precisely how much
improvement you get will depend on the applications you are running
and thus the memory management strategies that you adopt.

Good Luck anyway - Russell
http://www.jotei.co.uk
Author Re: Try to run VMS 7-3-1 on a alphastation
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on December 22 2005 08:33
[quote:6bcedc62af="Sjoerd"]I try to run VMS 7-3-1 on a alpahstation 255 with 32 MB memory.

It wil not boot. I get a error "Phisical memory overflow".
[/quote:6bcedc62af]

You need more memory. The good news is that those Alphastations use standard PC SIMM memory, which is relatively cheap. However, you MUST get true-parity SIMM's or else it will not work.
Author
DavidDickinson
Member

Posts: 16
Location: Stonehouse, Gloucestershire, England
Joined: 13.03.06
Posted on March 15 2006 10:09
i have 384mb ram on my alphaserver 1000a

it loaded fine and runs fine.


regards
-dave-

yeah. late reply. just extra information
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

jiml
November 09 2018
Thank you , Malmberg ! Exactly what I was hoping for . Reset key & all is well . JImL

malmberg
November 09 2018
Eisner was upgraded to the current Multinet Release. As part of that a new host key was generated. The old key was incompatible with newer Linux.

jiml
November 02 2018
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ?

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


Shoutbox Archive