Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, January 22, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 3
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,021
Newest Member: pd123d
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Software Forum
Author Problems getting MultiNet working on simh vax emulator
JonBelanger
Member

Posts: 5
Location: Rochester, NY
Joined: 06.04.16
Posted on May 25 2016 14:28
Hi All,

I've tried this in every way I can think of. I have a feeling the solution will be incredibly simple, but it has eluded me. So here's my issue:

I have the following version of MultiNet installed:

Process Software MultiNet 5.5 Rev A, VAXserver 3900 Series, OpenVMS VAX V7.3




When I run MULTINET CHECK, I get the following three warnings:

%MNCHK-W-HTNLADDR, address 192.168.1.100 in host table for local host name canth.belanger.com is not an interface address
%MNCHK-W-NSNLADDR, address 192.168.1.100 in DNS for local host name canth.belanger.com is not an interface address
%MNCHK-W-INVLOOKFAIL, inverse lookup on local IP address 192.168.1.100 failed




The interface configuration is defined as follows:

MultiNet Network Configuration Utility V5.5(109)
[Reading in MAXIMUM configuration from MULTINET:MULTINET.EXE]
[Reading in configuration from MULTINET:NETWORK_DEVICES.CONFIGURATION]
NET-CONFIG>show
Interface Adapter CSR Address Flags/Vector
--------- ------- ----------- ------------
se0 (Shared VMS Ethernet/FDDI) -NONE- -NONE- -NONE-
[TCP/IP: 192.168.1.100, IP-SubNet: 255.255.255.0 (/24), IP-Broadcast: 192.168.1.255]
[VMS Device: XQA0, Link Level: Ethernet ]
DHCP Client for the interface is enabled


Official Host Name: canth.belanger.com
Default IP Route: 192.168.1.1
Domain Nameservers: 127.0.0.1
192.168.1.1
Timezone: EST
Timezone Rules: US/EASTERN
Load UCX $QIO driver: TRUE
Load PWIP (Pathworks) driver: TRUE
DHCP Client Flag: 1





When I try an NSLOOKUP for the localhost name (canth) I get the following:

Server: LOCALHOST
Address: 127.0.0.1

*** LOCALHOST can't find CANTH: Non-existent host/domain





The HOSTSS.LOCAL file has the following:

HOST : 192.168.1.100 : canth.belanger.com : VAXSERVER-3900-SERIES : VMS : :





Any help any one could give me will be appreciated.

Thanks,

~Jon.


DEC Employee from: June 16, 1986 to December 31, 1994 (the best employeer I ever had)
Badge Number: 198711
Author RE: Problems getting MultiNet working on simh vax emulator
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on May 26 2016 02:10
Do you know the NIC is working?
- Does DECnet work?
- Can you ping your gateway?
Author RE: Problems getting MultiNet working on simh vax emulator
JonBelanger
Member

Posts: 5
Location: Rochester, NY
Joined: 06.04.16
Posted on May 26 2016 07:56
Bruce Claremont wrote:
Do you know the NIC is working?
- Does DECnet work?
- Can you ping your gateway?


Yes and yes. Specifically, for DECnet, I don't have any other DECnet nodes on my network, so I cannot do something other than SET HOST 0.
I can ping the gateway, the host PC, and even google.com.

This all started because I was trying to use the font server in Multinet and it would fail because it could not translate the ip host address of the X11 server, even though it is defined in the HOSTS.LOCAL file. I then tried running the MULTINET CHECK and got the above errors. I have a feeling that it is something in the definition of the se0 device.

~Jon.


DEC Employee from: June 16, 1986 to December 31, 1994 (the best employeer I ever had)
Badge Number: 198711
Author RE: Problems getting MultiNet working on simh vax emulator
JonBelanger
Member

Posts: 5
Location: Rochester, NY
Joined: 06.04.16
Posted on May 26 2016 07:58
The more I look at what I put up the more I'm thinking it is the IP-Subnet defined on the se0 interface. It says 255.255.255.0, shouldn't this be 194.168.1.0?

~Jon.


DEC Employee from: June 16, 1986 to December 31, 1994 (the best employeer I ever had)
Badge Number: 198711
Author RE: Problems getting MultiNet working on simh vax emulator
JonBelanger
Member

Posts: 5
Location: Rochester, NY
Joined: 06.04.16
Posted on May 26 2016 12:05
I changed the IP-subnet, but not change in the check. The addresses are still not an interface address.


NET-CONFIG>show
Interface Adapter CSR Address Flags/Vector
--------- ------- ----------- ------------
se0 (Shared VMS Ethernet/FDDI) -NONE- -NONE- -NONE-
[TCP/IP: 192.168.1.100, IP-SubNet: 192.168.1.0 (/24), IP-Broadcast: 192.168.1.255]
[VMS Device: XQA0, Link Level: Ethernet ]
DHCP Client for the interface is enabled





~Jon.


DEC Employee from: June 16, 1986 to December 31, 1994 (the best employeer I ever had)
Badge Number: 198711
Author RE: Problems getting MultiNet working on simh vax emulator
JonBelanger
Member

Posts: 5
Location: Rochester, NY
Joined: 06.04.16
Posted on May 27 2016 03:00
Hi All,

Maybe the simpler question will be, can someone, running Multinet, do a MULTINET SHOW /ALL and either post the result here, or send them to me in a PM?

Since, I have a hobbyist license, asking Process Software for support is not a viable option.

Thanks,

~Jon.


DEC Employee from: June 16, 1986 to December 31, 1994 (the best employeer I ever had)
Badge Number: 198711
Author RE: Problems getting MultiNet working on simh vax emulator
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on May 28 2016 02:16
255.255.255.0 as the subnet was probably correct. What's the subnet of the host server.

The folks at Process Software are pretty nice. They might help you out.

I suggest rerunning the Multinet configuration procedure:

$ multinet configure /menu !Multinet Configuration Menu System

Like you, I am not a Multinet expert. When I encounter it, I poke along and figure it out.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

ChrisChiesa
February 02 2017
What's the status of DECUS memberships? Just found my membership card. :-)

bofh
January 06 2017
Searching for Pathworks 6.0 for DOS & Windows. Anyone have it?

malmberg
December 29 2016
The openvms disks question is frequently answered in the forums, and is not something to ask about in the shout box.

Cmota
December 29 2016
Hello, I am in need of the openvms.disk, but I don't know where to obtain it

moch75
December 26 2016
personal alpha

moch75
December 24 2016
personal alpha+

Shoutbox Archive