Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, January 21, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,021
Newest Member: pd123d
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Software Forum
Author vms hp tcpip
sureshot
Member

Posts: 31
Location: Hillsboro Ohio
Joined: 15.02.07
Posted on September 11 2007 11:52
hello

when i try to activate the rlogin and telnet server it says that you can do this because it is active in the client menu . i have not touched the client menu.. please advise asap

thanks in advance


phil
prk62
Author Security conerns
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on September 18 2007 11:35
Just keep in mind that rlogin can be insecure, and telnet packets can be sniffed (less likely on a switch, but possible). I'm using ssh and scp to "telnet" into my cluster and copy files back and forth.
Author RE: tcpip issue
peppermint
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 2
Joined: 03.04.08
Posted on April 23 2008 05:44
Hi folks,

Yesterday I got my first VAXserver 3900 emulated with SIMH on my DELL Inspiron 3800 laptop.

I got everything working fairly quickly including some TCP/IP functions.
As for integrating my node within my LAN, that's a task that's driving me nut.

I can do routing and ping on the LANs as well as over the Internet as long as I use IP addresses, not FQDN.

What does not work is resolving names and using FTP and TELNET (neither way).

I've attached results of various queries performed via the TCP/IP_Services to show my configuration.
[NOTE - The domain GRASSE.BIZ is a ficticious one, just to satisfy VMS needs.]

The only hint of something wrong with the config seems to show up issuing the SHOW HOST command.
Looking on GOOGLE with the error msg brings up pages related to VMS 8.2 that seem to suggest that the NS record is not OK.
Unfortunately I can not figure out how to adapt to 7.3 the fix they suggest for 8.2.
[http://www.openvms.compaq.com/doc/731FINAL/TCPRN/v53_relnotes_025.html]

Sniffing with ethereal on my name server and listening for DNS
requests, I can't see any packet coming from the VAX.
On the other side when I listen for ICMP requests, I can see packets
coming from the VAX, whether pinging with local or Internet IP addresses.
[There are no issues with my LAN's firewall setup.]

Furthermore, FTP and TELNET seem to have their own issues, not related to the name server's one.
Here as well ethereal doesn't show packets coming from the VAX.

Can you spot anything wrong with my config or suggest further actions to debug the issue?

Thanks for your help.

Costantino

----------------------------------------------------------------------
TCPIP> show service telnet

Service Port Proto Process Address State

TELNET 23 TCP not defined 0.0.0.0 Enabled
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
TCPIP> show service ftp

Service Port Proto Process Address State

FTP 21 TCP TCPIP$FTP 0.0.0.0 Enabled
TCPIP>
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
TCPIP> show netw

Network address Network name

192.168.0.9 GRASSE
TCPIP>
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
TCPIP> show name

BIND Resolver Parameters

Local domain: grasse.biz

System

State: Started, Enabled

Transport: UDP
Domain: grasse.biz
Retry: 4
Timeout: 4
Servers: amaca
Path: No values defined

Process

State: Enabled

Transport:
Domain:
Retry:
Timeout:
Servers:
Path:
TCPIP>
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TCPIP> show route

DYNAMIC

Type Destination Gateway

AN 0.0.0.0 192.168.0.254
AH 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1
AN 192.168.0.0/24 192.168.0.9
AH 192.168.0.9 192.168.0.9
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TCPIP> show host

LOCAL database

Host address Host name

127.0.0.1 LOCALHOST, localhost
192.168.0.85 amaca
192.168.0.9 grasse, GRASSE
%TCPIP-E-BIND_NOSERVERS, default servers are not available
%TCPIP-W-NORECORD, information not found
-TCPIP-E-BIND_NOSERVERS, default servers are not available
TCPIP>
------------------------------------------------------------------
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

ChrisChiesa
February 02 2017
What's the status of DECUS memberships? Just found my membership card. :-)

bofh
January 06 2017
Searching for Pathworks 6.0 for DOS & Windows. Anyone have it?

malmberg
December 29 2016
The openvms disks question is frequently answered in the forums, and is not something to ask about in the shout box.

Cmota
December 29 2016
Hello, I am in need of the openvms.disk, but I don't know where to obtain it

moch75
December 26 2016
personal alpha

moch75
December 24 2016
personal alpha+

Shoutbox Archive