Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, January 23, 2019
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,250
Newest Member: decourl
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Software Forum
Author VAX telnet behind NAT
nickname
Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 26.06.09
Posted on June 26 2009 08:40
Hello,

I am new to OpenVMS and want to setup a VAX OpenVMS 7.3 system behind my DSL modem/router combo box. It is not working and I am not sure wether the problem is related to the network setup or VAX/OpenVMS specific.

The VAX has a fixed IP in my homenet. It is connected to the router, that connect all my computers using RJ45 cable via adapter. I can telnet and ftp the VAX from my other computers and vice versa. I also can access all other boxes via port forwarding from the outside. Only for the VAX port forwarding does not work.

Any suggestions where to look or assuptions if it is network or VAX related?

Ciao
Author RE: VAX telnet behind NAT
nickname
Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 26.06.09
Posted on June 26 2009 11:00
Thanks for your suggestions.

I tried to telnet another local box from an external network and it worked. So the NAT and the port forwarding in general works.

I also tried to sniff the traffic in my local network, but my router acts like a LAN switch and therefore I can not see the VAX traffic.

Is there any way to see on the VAX if a forwarded package arrives? Is there anything the VAX would fall over when sending the answer packages?

Ciao
Author RE: VAX telnet behind NAT
pfau
Member

Posts: 33
Location: North Brunswick, NJ
Joined: 12.03.08
Posted on June 29 2009 07:24
Did you set up your gateway on the VAX? Without a gateway, it will either declare the destination unreachable or just throw the packets on the wire hoping they find their way. Your VAX has to be configured to send packets through your router for foreign networks. Make sure you've entered the router's IP address as your gateway.
http://nbpfaus.net/~pfau/
Author RE: VAX telnet behind NAT
nickname
Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 26.06.09
Posted on July 01 2009 07:35
THANKS!!!

Yes, I didnīt setup the gateway correctly. My understanding of NAT was wrong, I thought I wouldnīt need it.

So it was a network issue, not a VMS one. Wrong forum, but very helpful!

Ciao
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

jiml
November 09 2018
Thank you , Malmberg ! Exactly what I was hoping for . Reset key & all is well . JImL

malmberg
November 09 2018
Eisner was upgraded to the current Multinet Release. As part of that a new host key was generated. The old key was incompatible with newer Linux.

jiml
November 02 2018
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ?

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


Shoutbox Archive