Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, January 19, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 6
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,021
Newest Member: pd123d
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Hardware Forum
Author How can I make a VAXstation 4000-90 to launch VMS auto.?
Micha
Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 16.12.06
Posted on March 05 2007 05:05
Hi,

most of the time I am using my VAXstation as a pure box, with only network connection, i.e. no serial console attached.

With my VS 3100-38 it is no prob to make it run VMS after it gets switched on. If boot and halt flags are set
SET BOOT DKA100 (example)
SET HALT 2

then the box will launch VMS after switch on or after reboot.

On my other box, a 4000-90 this will not work. Any advice?

Since I do not have a "real" terminal I use my notebook with the software MINICOM as serial console. If I pull the serial cable out of the VAX, it will reboot. Is this normal behavior?

Kind Regards

Michael
Author
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on March 08 2007 00:11
unfortunally the VAXstations can be sensitive to switching off the console and often halt.

What happens when you power on your VS4000-90 ?
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author
Micha
Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 16.12.06
Posted on March 08 2007 02:01
When I switch the 4000-90 on, it performs memory and self tests and then it just sits there with the >>> prompt.

VMS is installed on the DKA100 disk, and BOOT is set:

SET BOOT DKA100

I have to enter 'B DKA100', which implies I have to have a serial console attached (Notebook running MINICOM).
If VMS is up and running and I detach the serial cable, the VAX jumps into the >>> prompt. So I must leave the Notebook attached and running while the VAX is up, and that is what I hate...

The 3100-38 does not need a serial console to boot VMS, if HALT is set to the value of 2.

Michael
Author
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on March 08 2007 02:53
There is a setting for that. I think it might be SET AUTO_START. From the >>>, do a SET and see what variables pop up. One of them should look very much what your want.

As for the reboot issue, I think there is a switch in the back that disables the console reset.
Author Thanks a lot!
Micha
Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 16.12.06
Posted on March 08 2007 07:29
[b:4a2f8303b3]Thanks a lot![/b:4a2f8303b3]

The name of the variable was not that obvious, but the hint given above encouraged me to do some trial & error experimenting.

In fact the first variable that I tried

[b:4a2f8303b3]SET FBOOT 1[/b:4a2f8303b3]

did the trick to make the VAX go through the whole computer evolution up to VMS after the machine was switched on - without any need for (serial) human intervention :wink:

What I have not yet found is the switch to disable halt on disconnect from a serial console. The only switch on the outer backside of the VS4000-90 is the network selector between AUI and BNC plugs. Just removed the lid of the "pizza box" - but there is no switch visible inside. Is there a chance it might be hidden below the graphics adapter?

Regards,

Michael
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

ChrisChiesa
February 02 2017
What's the status of DECUS memberships? Just found my membership card. :-)

bofh
January 06 2017
Searching for Pathworks 6.0 for DOS & Windows. Anyone have it?

malmberg
December 29 2016
The openvms disks question is frequently answered in the forums, and is not something to ask about in the shout box.

Cmota
December 29 2016
Hello, I am in need of the openvms.disk, but I don't know where to obtain it

moch75
December 26 2016
personal alpha

moch75
December 24 2016
personal alpha+

Shoutbox Archive