Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, June 25, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 3
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,146
Newest Member: bhamakripa
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyist Licensing | VAX License PAK's
Author Jump through hoops ?
jdbertron
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 7
Joined: 03.06.10
Posted on July 27 2010 05:46
Hey guys,
I'm trying to get a DCL/COBOL system set up to see what the program was doing.
I registered with DECUServe and got a license. I set up my SIMH following Phillip Wherry's instructions, but I'm not really sure what to do next.

I don't have an ISO file for OpenVMS and I don't see a package (Media Kit or PAK) that has COBOL for VAX.
The OpenVMS Media page points to some site to buy the CDs but I don't see a COBOL listed for VAX. It has COBOL for Alpha, but I'm not sure my SIMH emulator has an Alpha configuration. Yet the 'Available PAKs' page says COBOL is available in the Layered Products.

Which package should I get ?
And btw, I thought this was free for hobbyists ?

Any clarification would be appreciated.
Thanks.
J.D.
Author RE: COBOL and FMS for VAX Kit ?
jdbertron
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 7
Joined: 03.06.10
Posted on July 27 2010 12:30
I also need the FMS and that doesn't appear in the purchasable media.
Does someone know if these are included int he VAX kit ?
Author RE: Jump through hoops ?
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 462
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on July 27 2010 12:42
The hobby license for OpenVMS is free for non-commercial home use. Other use requires either a DSPP (Professional developer) or commercial license.

HP does not administer the hobby VMS program, or distribute media for it.

As I understand it, HP has granted the openvmshobbyist.org site permission to issue the license keys and to sell hobby media kits. The openvmshobbyist site is totally run by volunteers and any money made from the sale of the media kits over the cost of producing them goes toward it's operation.

HP does not allow public download sites of its software, but does not restrict where a hobbyist gets their media from.

So if you need software that is not on the hobbyist CD-ROM, then the best way to get it is to post either here or on the comp.os.vms newsgroup for what you need and where you are located, and that it is for hobby use, and how to contact you off line.

Apparently there was not room on the Hobbyist VAX CD-ROM for Cobol on the latest VAX cdrom kit. Cobol 5.5a was on the previous VAX Hobbyist CD-ROM.

People are encouraged to purchase the hobby media if it meets their needs to help support this site.

There are two free commercial Alpha emulators available for download that are documented on this forum, and one open source one. They would use the Alpha media.
Author RE: Jump through hoops ?
jdbertron
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 7
Joined: 03.06.10
Posted on July 28 2010 06:35
Thanks for the response. I tried PersonalAlpha (Charon AXP) but it doesn't work under Windows 7, so I'm using SIMH.
As for the media kit, I'm still not sure which one to get.
Are you suggesting I buy the latest version of VMS and then turn to com.os.vms to get a COBOL that will run on it ?
Author RE: Jump through hoops ?
abrsvc
Member

Posts: 97
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on July 28 2010 06:50
Perhaps this is a discussion for another thread, but rather than trying to resolve the emulator situation...

What is the isseu with the Cobol program that you are trying to solve? Perhaps we can assit with that instead? There are many folks here that have VAX hardware that might be able to help (myself included).

Dan
Author RE: Jump through hoops ?
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 462
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on July 28 2010 16:49
I am currently running a Hobbyist cluster consisting of FreeAXP and SimH running under VirtualBox emulation on MacBook Pro. I run each emulator in its own Virtual machine, and use VirtualBox to provide a private internal LAN for cluster traffic.

So I have both. I never use Cobol though.

FreeAxp claims to be supported on Windows 7.

Before buying anything, I would recommend seeing if you can find all the parts that you need.
Author RE: Jump through hoops ?
diegolocks10
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 27.09.10
Posted on October 05 2010 01:26
Hi, I'm a newbie here. So far I'm enjoying reading posts and I am learning from it. Thanks for sharing.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

Shoutbox Archive