Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, August 23, 2017
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 6
No Members Online

Registered Members: 6,917
Newest Member: LorinRicker
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyist Licensing | VAX License PAK's
Author Licenses don't work on VAX/VMS?
Twylo
Member

Posts: 2
Location: Fremont, California, USA
Joined: 21.11.06
Posted on November 21 2006 10:40
Hi folks,

I can't seem to get the licenses currently being issued to work on my VAX anymore.

I just picked up a VAXstation 3100 model 76, and requested a license for it. Here's the license info (I've X'ed out the serial, checksum, and my Encompass membership number, but they're valid I assure you):

[code:1:24115c0fb3]
$ LICENSE REGISTER VAX-VMS -
/ISSUER=OPENVMS_HOBBYIST -
/AUTHORIZATION=HOBBY-USA-XXXXXX-976414-001 -
/PRODUCER=HP -
/UNITS=0 -
/TERMINATION_DATE=16-NOV-2007 -
/ACTIVITY=CONSTANT=100 -
/OPTIONS=(NO_SHARE) -
/TOKEN="ABXXXXXXXX" -
/CHECKSUM=2-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX
[/code:1:24115c0fb3]

The license checksum is valid, and the license loads fine. However, VMS does not recognize it as a valid key for VAX-VMS, and is giving me %LICENSE-I-NOLICENSE when I log in on OPA0:.

I've tried on VAX/VMS 5.5, 5.5-2, and OpenVMS 7.3, both on my VAXstation 3100 model 76, and on SIMH. No luck on either of them.

Is this a known problem? Is there a workaround?
http://www.loomcom.com/seth/
Author Re: Licenses don't work on VAX/VMS?
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on November 22 2006 07:36
[quote:f3592bd831="Twylo"]Hi folks,

I can't seem to get the licenses currently being issued to work on my VAX anymore.[/quote:f3592bd831]

Request new licenses. There was a problem with the new licensing tools (required in order to generate Integrity licenses) and it inadvertantly created VAX/Alpha licenses with a producer of "HP", and older system only recognize a producer of "DEC". I've fixed it, so newly requested licenses will work fine.
Author Re: Licenses don't work on VAX/VMS?
Twylo
Member

Posts: 2
Location: Fremont, California, USA
Joined: 21.11.06
Posted on November 22 2006 08:03
[quote:3c08f52266]Request new licenses. There was a problem with the new licensing tools (required in order to generate Integrity licenses) and it inadvertantly created VAX/Alpha licenses with a producer of "HP", and older system only recognize a producer of "DEC". I've fixed it, so newly requested licenses will work fine.[/quote:3c08f52266]

Thanks! The new license seems to work perfectly. You guys rock, I love the hobbyist program!

-Twylo
http://www.loomcom.com/seth/
Author HOBBYIST LICENSE NOT WORKING
rsr2007
Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 20.01.07
Posted on January 20 2007 13:39
See reference from screenshot:

Here is a list of the license information just entered:

Issuer: OPENVMS_HOBBYIST
Authorization: DECUS-USA-908729-XXXXXXX
Product Name: VAX-VMS
Producer: DEC
Units: 0
Release Date: 25-OCT-2007
Version:
Termination Date: 25-OCT-2007
Availability:
Activity: A
Options: NO_SHARE
Token:
Hardware ID: NONE
Checksum: 2-GMHF-NKAP-XXXX-OJKE

This authorization key is restricted to: UWVAX


Is that correct? [YES]:
Registering VAX-VMS license in SYS$COMMON:[SYSEXE]LMF$LICENSE.LDB...
%LICENSE-F-BADCHK, checksum does not validate for VAX-VMS

Please review all entered PAK data, including the checksum.

Do you wish to make corrections? [YES]:

I am using SIMH and entered "SIMH" for the H/W type and "SIMH" for the CPU S/N. Anyone got any idears?

Email is "[email protected]". Thanks.
Author Re: HOBBYIST LICENSE NOT WORKING
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on January 21 2007 05:55
[quote:ece170cb3f="rsr2007"]See reference from screenshot:
[/quote:ece170cb3f]

Try entering the license again, but do not enter anything into the Release Date field.

Requiring the Release Date and Termination Date was a artifact of the old software that generated the License PAK's, and that has all changed now. The Release Date is not longer required.
Author Same problem
kevinwil
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 05.05.07
Posted on May 05 2007 12:59
Hey Everyone,

I am having the same problem on my VS3100/m76. I'm not real sure what to use for the hardware ID, but I tried the VS43A-CP, and the serial, but I still get the same error as the post above. I didn't enter the release date, any ideas?

Thanks!
-Kevin
Author Still having issues
kevinwil
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 05.05.07
Posted on May 09 2007 10:04
Hi Stephen,

Thanks for your response and I appreciate your time. I am actually not even able to complete the registration for VAX-VMS during the install. I keep getting an invalid checksum error. I went ahead and skipped it and logged into the system anyway. License show does not show a valid vax-vms license and no matter how many times I've entered it, it seems to fail. Also I have an RZ57 and an RZ56 drive. the RZ57 is an old 1.05gb drive so I think it meets the 1gb limit, I could switch to the RZ56 which is only 600mb. It boots just fine though, and I didn't think that issue had anything to do with the licensing.

I am still wondering if my Hardware ID is incorrect, or does it even have anything to do with the checksum value? Do I enter the CPU name, IE VS43a-CP, or do I enter the system serial number? From this thread, it seems there really is no processor serial as such, correct?

The last item I can add is that I joined the German Decus group and that ID is what I have used to generate the hobbyist license. I wouldn't have thought it was locale aware, IE, the German hobbyist serial should work just fine on the US version of VMS?

Thanks!
-Kevin
Author
Sky
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 16.10.07
Posted on October 17 2007 03:19
Yeah,thanks.I will try using the @SYS$UPDATE:VMSLICENSE.COM . smiley
Author
flyco
Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 15.12.07
Posted on December 15 2007 13:04
Very great~!
Keep up the great work~!
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

ChrisChiesa
February 02 2017
What's the status of DECUS memberships? Just found my membership card. :-)

bofh
January 06 2017
Searching for Pathworks 6.0 for DOS & Windows. Anyone have it?

malmberg
December 29 2016
The openvms disks question is frequently answered in the forums, and is not something to ask about in the shout box.

Cmota
December 29 2016
Hello, I am in need of the openvms.disk, but I don't know where to obtain it

moch75
December 26 2016
personal alpha

moch75
December 24 2016
personal alpha+

malmberg
December 17 2016
I do not know what the status of the last known business that was handling the Digital PDP-11 os software.

malmberg
December 17 2016
There is a special license for hobbyist to run some Digital's OSs on SimH/PDP-11 only. Real hardware technically needs a new license.

bamchchnz
December 14 2016
Hello, this is my first post to this news group. I have installed openVMS on Alpha and a small VAX. However a friend has just given me a microPDP11/73 which is running RT-11. However I'd like t

abrsvc
October 21 2016
The license process takes a few days. I believe that it is processed in India so there are time zonesinvolved too.

Shoutbox Archive