Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, July 20, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 8
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,166
Newest Member: guozihao
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | OpenVMS Hobbyist Media Kits | OpenVMS Alpha Media Kits
Author Fortran install problem from Hobbyist kit
liviusmaximus
Member

Posts: 5
Location: Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
Joined: 31.12.05
Posted on December 31 2005 05:12
Hi there,
I am trying to install Fortran 7.5 from Hobbyist kit (CD version 3.0)
on my OpenVMS 7.3-1 and am getting the following error message:

DCL-E-OPENIN error opening
SYS$SYSROOT:[SYS$STARTUP]FORT$STARTUP.COM; as input
-RMS-E-FNF file not found
Terminate [YES}: yes

Does anyone know why Layered Product Fortran is having this
installation problem ?

Thanks in advance,
Luiz
maximuslivius
Author fortran instalation problems
ton.vanderzwet
Member

Posts: 6
Location: Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Joined: 12.01.06
Posted on January 13 2006 11:53
Hi Luiz,

without more information its difficult to give a sollution. Lets start at the beginning:
-I guess this is a Alpha

If you are logged in as system and try the following commands, what do you see:

$ [b:3f70acb6e3]prod sh prod[/b:3f70acb6e3]
----------------------------------- ----------- ------------
PRODUCT KIT TYPE STATE
----------------------------------- ----------- ------------
CPQ AXPVMS CDSA V2.1-331 Full LP Installed
CPQ AXPVMS CSWB V1.7-11 Full LP Installed
CPQ AXPVMS CSWS V1.3-1 Full LP Installed
CPQ AXPVMS CSWS_PHP V1.2-1 Full LP Installed
CPQ AXPVMS GTK V1.2-10 Full LP Installed
CPQ AXPVMS OPL V1.0-0A9 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS CXML V5.2-1 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS DWMOTIF V1.5 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS FORRTL V7.6-1 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS FORTRAN V7.6-1 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS GNV V1.6-2 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS JAVA142 V1.4-24P2 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS OPENVMS V8.2 Platform Installed
DEC AXPVMS TCPIP V5.5-11 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS VMS V8.2 Oper System Installed
HP AXPVMS AVAIL_MAN_BASE V8.2 Full LP Installed
HP AXPVMS KERBEROS V2.1-72 Full LP Installed
HP AXPVMS TDC_RT V2.1-69 Full LP Installed
JFP AXPVMS LIBBZ2 V1.0-2 Full LP Installed
JFP AXPVMS MYSQL V4.1-14 Full LP Installed
JFP AXPVMS OPENSSL097E V1.2-0 Full LP Installed
JFP AXPVMS ZLIB V1.2-3 Full LP Installed
STLK AXPVMS CGATEPRO V5.0-1 Full LP Installed
----------------------------------- ----------- ------------

23 items found
$ [b:3f70acb6e3]sea systartup_vms.com fort/wind=3[/b:3f70acb6e3]
$!
$! Uncomment the following command to start FORTRAN
$!
$ FILE = F$SEARCH("SYS$STARTUP:FORT$STARTUP.COM")
$ IF FILE .NES. "" THEN @'FILE'
$
$[b:3f70acb6e3] fortran/version[/b:3f70acb6e3]
HP Fortran V7.6-3276-48D52
$

Please show us your results and we can try to solve your problem.

Greetings Ton.
http://www.oooovms.dyndns.org
Author
liviusmaximus
Member

Posts: 5
Location: Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
Joined: 31.12.05
Posted on January 14 2006 04:07
Hi Ton,

What I tried to do was to install Fortran kit booting the system from the cdrom following the menu which, for some reason, did not work reporting the error posted in my original question.
So, I tried the installation from the DCL command line and all went very smoothly with a successful result:
$ prod sh prod
----------------------------------- ----------- ------------
PRODUCT KIT TYPE STATE
----------------------------------- ----------- ------------
CPQ AXPVMS CDSA V1.0-2 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS DECNET_OSI V7.3-1 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS DWMOTIF V1.2-6 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS FORRTL V7.5-1 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS FORTRAN V7.5-1 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS OPENVMS V7.3-1 Platform Installed
DEC AXPVMS VMS V7.3-1 Oper System Installed
----------------------------------- ----------- ------------

$ sea systartup_vms.com fort/wind=3
%SEARCH-I-NOMATCHES, no strings match

$ fortran/version
Compaq Fortran V7.5-1961-48BCD

My system is a DEC Alpha PWS 500au running OpenVMS 7.3-1,
dka0: system disk 36GB 10K.7
dka100: user disk 18GB
dka200: sys$sysfree 9GB
dkb400: cdrom1 512bytes/block
dkb500: cdrom2 512bytes/block
mkb0: exabyte1
mkb200: exabyte 2
dkb100: external disk for FreeBSD 9GB

Still remains the question: why the installation via cdrom failed ?
Is it because cdrom bootup is a standalone system ?
I appreciate comments on this matter.

Luiz
maximuslivius
Author
Anonymous
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 11.12.05
Posted on January 14 2006 04:45
Hi Luiz,

Glad to hear that you can compile your sources now!

Something about the missing fortran startup procedure in systartup: It is not neccesary to run this procedure, but is you run a heavy, multi-user compile shop It will make a performance difference. The startup will only make the startup of the compiler(s) (F77 and F90) faster.

If you startup from a cd-rom the cd-rom becomes the "systemdisk". I imagine the installation procedure can easily get confused when it needs to modify or add some files to system directories (f.i. the DCL-tables)

I personally install or upgrade VMS booted from CDROM but everything else booted from the new systemdisk. As the need to reboot after installation of compilers and such is virtually non-existent (if your system-parameters are sufficient) I see no need to do such a thing stand-alone. If the dcl-tables are modified you can log out and log in again .

Greetings Ton.
Author
Anonymous
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 11.12.05
Posted on January 14 2006 05:35
Hi Ton,

Thanks for your prompt and clarifying answer.
By the way, do you use hobbyist license ?
I am asking because I can see that you have OVMS 8.2 and
many other stuff installed on your system that is not provided
in the hobbyist cdrom.
If so, how can I get Java, Basic and other LP products (that
are indeed hobbyist licensed). Is there any OVMS 8.2 available for the
hobbyist license ? I am struggling in finding it because HP
only provides the kits with the commercial license for a very high
price, as far as I know.

cheers,
Luiz
Author hobbyist running VMS 8.2???
ton.vanderzwet
Member

Posts: 6
Location: Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Joined: 12.01.06
Posted on February 07 2006 10:29
[quotesmileyaa6f81143="Anonymous"]Hi Ton,

Thanks for your prompt and clarifying answer.
By the way, do you use hobbyist license ?
I am asking because I can see that you have OVMS 8.2 and
many other stuff installed on your system that is not provided
in the hobbyist cdrom.
If so, how can I get Java, Basic and other LP products (that
are indeed hobbyist licensed). Is there any OVMS 8.2 available for the
hobbyist license ? I am struggling in finding it because HP
only provides the kits with the commercial license for a very high
price, as far as I know.

cheers,
Luiz[/quotesmileyaa6f81143]

Hi Luiz,

excuses for the long delay. I only checked today for the first time if something was happening on this BB.

To answer your questions:
1- I am a pure hobbyist. OpenVMS advocate, if you will :wink:
2 - My employer has OpenVMS running and the hobbyist license allows me (i understand it as such) to use every version of OpenVMS I can get my hands on.
3 - As an active member of the dutch OpenVMS SIG with good contacts i managed to lend some media.
4 - java is downloadable from the HP site. If you have contacts from whom you can lend media, I think it's OK to use them to install the software, as long as you are licensed to do so (hobbyist license). Sometimes complete distributions are on e-bay...
5 - If you were living in the neighborhood I could help you. Contact me off-line and I can try to give you some names of people more capable in your neighborhood.

cheers,

Ton.
http://www.oooovms.dyndns.org
Author
giacomo
Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 01.10.07
Posted on November 01 2007 22:52
hi all

I managed to install OpenVMS (TM) Alpha Operating System, Version V8.3
on a personalalpha virtual machine. (hobbyist license)
WOW, it's fun! smiley

But I can't understand how I could start the fortran

prod sh prod
------------------------------------ ----------- ---------
PRODUCT KIT TYPE STATE
------------------------------------ ----------- ---------
CPQ AXPVMS CDSA V2.2-271 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS CXML V5.2-1 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS DECNET_OSI V8.3 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS DWMOTIF V1.6 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS DWMOTIF_SUPPORT V8.3 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS FORRTL V7.6-1 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS FORTRAN V8.0-2 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS OPENVMS V8.3 Platform Installed
DEC AXPVMS TCPIP V5.6-9 Full LP Installed
DEC AXPVMS VMS V8.3 Oper System Installed
HP AXPVMS AVAIL_MAN_BASE V8.3 Full LP Installed
HP AXPVMS KERBEROS V3.0-103 Full LP Installed
HP AXPVMS SSL V1.3-281 Full LP Installed
HP AXPVMS TDC_RT V2.2-107 Full LP Installed
------------------------------------ ----------- ---------
14 items found
$

I'm a total newbie , so I'm sure I'm doing smtg wrong....

but *what* is wrong?! smiley
thanks
Author
giacomo
Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 01.10.07
Posted on November 02 2007 03:28
many thanks!

$ fortran/version
HP Fortran V8.0-1-104669-48GBT
$

:-)


[quote:f58492aebd="Stephen Hoffman"]
There are two sets of licenses that are associated with the hobbyist program, one set for the layered products, and a second set for the base operating system. Both sets need to be loaded.
[/quote:f58492aebd]

As far as i remember, i did it
show license gives me

Active licenses on node MINDVM:

------- Product ID -------- ---- Rating ----- -- Version --
Product Producer Units Avail Activ Version Release Termination
C DEC 0 0 100 0.0 (none) 16-OCT-2008
DW-MOTIF DEC 0 0 100 0.0 (none) 16-OCT-2008
FORTRAN DEC 0 0 100 0.0 (none) 16-OCT-2008
OPENVMS-ALPHA DEC 0 0 A 0.0 (none) 16-OCT-2008
UCX DEC 0 0 100 0.0 (none) 16-OCT-2008
UCX-IP-CLIENT DEC 0 0 100 0.0 (none) 16-OCT-2008


[quote:f58492aebd]
And in general, do consider starting a new thread for a new question, rather than thread-jacking an existing thread.[/quote:f58492aebd]

yes, you are right.
I upped the old topic cos initially i wasn't able to start the kid.
once found the solution, i just edited my old msg, forgetting were i was ;-)
Author A guess about why the PCSI install did not work
vance
Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 02.02.08
Posted on February 02 2008 23:15
When installing a product on OpenVMS with PCSI, sometimes it will want to create temporary files. I've noticed with some products (e.g. DCPS) the installation will fail if your default directory is a CD-ROM or a directory which is not yours or not writable.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive