Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, February 28, 2021
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,560
Newest Member: gandalf68000
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | OpenVMS Hobbyist Media Kits | OpenVMS Alpha Media Kits
Author Problem?
growe
Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 21.02.12
Posted on February 21 2012 13:43
I have been playing with the Stromasys Personal Alpha emulator and have just recently downloaded my AXP-VMS media kit from the HP web site.

I hear that quite a few others have done this and don't have any problems but alas I am.

I'd be grateful if anyone can detail the process they used to download and prepare their VMS boot disk so I can see where I'm going wrong!

Thanks

Geoff
Author RE: Problem?
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 584
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on February 21 2012 16:18
Personally I would prefer you use FreeAXP. That said, if the download is in ISO format, then you should be able to mount the ISO file as a disk and boot it. If the download is a backup save set, then you are going to need an existing VMS system to facilitate things.
Author RE: Problem?
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 584
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on February 21 2012 16:53
I checked with John Egolf and he says the O/S Hobbyist distributions are ISOs, so you should be able to boot the ISO and install VMS just like on real hardware.
Author RE: Problem?
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 524
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on February 22 2012 01:50
Technically they are disk images, not ISO files.

The Itanium boot disk is dual format ISO and VMS native. If you use an ISO copy tool, it can only see a small part of the disk.

Most disk burning or virtual disk software will treat disk images and ISO files identically.

The Windows 7 option to create an ISO file from a VMS CD/DVD does not work. I have used the free tools from the site that also provided MagicDisk.

And make sure that you used IMAGE mode to download the disk images, not ASCII or course.

I also have used MagicDisk to mount the VMS disk images for the FreeAXP alpha emulator.

Update: After a e-mail conversation with Bruce, I do not think I used Magic Disk to mount VMS disk images for the emulator. I run the FreeAxp under VirtualBox and Virtualbox will present the VMS disk image files as CD-ROM images. This means that I would not ever need MagicDisk.

On Windows for copying VMS format CD-ROMs, I think I used the cygwin utility to copy a disk and I did the same on the Mac. I may have only used MagicISO to burn physical CDROMs or DVDs.

I uses FreeAxp because it has dual ethernet, and I have multiple Virtualbox VMs on a host which allow me to make a VMS cluster, where one ethernet is used for the internal communications and one is used for external access.
Edited by malmberg on February 24 2012 05:49
Author RE: Problem?
growe
Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 21.02.12
Posted on February 22 2012 13:51
Thanks for the help guys! I have some homework to do. Sadly I've been swamped by issues of a more mundane (read, worky stuff) nature today, hopefully tomorrow!

Geoff
Author RE: Problem?
growe
Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 21.02.12
Posted on February 23 2012 10:51
Bruce,

I took your advice and took a look at FreeAXP! Interesting! Such a difference and now I'm up and running. Can't believe how easy it was! I'm sitting here with a silly grin my my face plowing through the contents of sys$system....! It's been a LOT of years since I had a VMS box to play with!

Now I've proved it all works on my laptop I have an old desktop sitting gathering dust. I have the perfect excuse now to resurect it.

Now I have to see if I have PROMIS media somewhere, I'm now fascinated by the concept of a clustered pair of servers in Primary/Secondary mode......!

I'm not anti-PC but I definitely prefer Mac's for my real 'other' job!
Author RE: Problem?
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 584
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on February 24 2012 04:43
Happy to hear FreeAXP worked for you. Be advised your "old" desktop system will need two CPUs to run FreeAXP.

FYI: If you use Boot Camp or Parallels to support Windows on your Mac, you can run FreeAXP there as well.
Author RE: Problem?
growe
Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 21.02.12
Posted on February 24 2012 07:23
Yeah, You know I was thinking of that but I don't want to 'pollute' my Mac by running PC stuff; it's more than busy running Photoshop (memo to self, need memory upgrade!).

The PC is a dual core, I think. I've been thinking of doing some upgrades to that and turning into a home disk/print server..... I'm rambling!!! smiley
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

jiml
July 11 2020
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ? Of WHO can we ask that somewhere on the eisner webpage they

wyan
May 06 2020
Turns out I had an account here, it still was set to my location a decade ago, so hey, I'm back after over a decade!

Hein
April 21 2020
Hi all, haven't been here in years. Good to see it is all there still. I'm looking around at the forum to stop/start msipcap - 'could not be stopped' - for now. I'll shutdown FreeA

EstesDave
January 09 2020
does anyone have or know of DRB32 manuals

romaxmaniax
November 04 2019
V6.1

romaxmaniax
November 04 2019
openvms 6.1

jmvms
September 27 2019
does anyone know if you can boot an alpha es80 from the OPC panel on the front of the box

mgssnr
June 21 2019
FYI, the "OpenVMS Developers and Solutions Partnerts" link http://h21007.www2.hp.com
/ doesn't work.


Shoutbox Archive