Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, December 13, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 10
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,239
Newest Member: liu000888
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | OpenVMS Hobbyist Media Kits | OpenVMS Alpha Media Kits
Author Problem with restoring the backup save sets when installing
Kenashkov
Member

Posts: 28
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Joined: 02.01.06
Posted on February 25 2007 09:48
Up to the moment I've always used FTP to download from another home server the software kits, then with the RESET_BACKUP_SAVESET_FILE_ATTRIBUTES.COM procedure found on the HP freeware site I restored the atrributes and the installation was successfull.
Today I created CDs with the products (the same files from the FTP server - they are OK), and when I start the installation of a product I get:
%VMSINSTAL-I-RESTORE, Restoring product save set A ...
%BACKUP-F-NOTSAVESET, DKA400:[CC065.KIT]CC065.A;1 is not a BACKUP save set
%VMSINSTAL-E-NOSAVESET, Save set A cannot be restored.

What can be the cause? The CDWRITER is a modern ATA drive on GNU/Linux box. I have as well an old YAMAHA SCSI Writer - in case the problem is 512/2048 block size related (in fact I do not know what block size uses that YAMAHA - I just hope is 512). I could connect it to the OpenVMS but how I can transfer all the files to write them from OVMS (besides that I do not have enough space)? If I use FTP I'll have to restore the attributes with the above mentioned procedure on all the files... it is a tedious task - I have to find a big hard drive, then transfer, then repair the save sets...
Is there a way to write the kits from a PC?


P.S. the CDROM on OVMS that I use for read/install the products is OK - I installed OVMS it self from it.

P.P.S. I checked - the YAMAHA writer has jumper for the block size. Will it write correctly the CDs? Of course I'll try tomorrow with it, but maybe occasionally somebody has tried this already, or knows what the problem is.
109218396 http://azonmedia.com
Author
wyan
Member

Posts: 2
Location: Madrid, Spain
Joined: 28.03.06
Posted on February 26 2007 08:43
Hi!
I was having similar problems, with files downloaded from FTP and burning them on CD and such... I finally found the solution in some webpage:

$ SET FILE/ATTRIBUTES=(RFM:FIX,MRS:32256,LRL:32256,RAT:NONE) filename

should repair the block sizes of the files (they have to be on hard disk, though, otherwise this will fail). Change the LRL parameter accordingly: IIRC CC064 needs it to be 09216, as well as a some other packages too...

Hope this helps!

Ruben.
Author decset problem
Wardc
Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 02.02.07
Posted on March 02 2007 10:18
hey there,

I used the command that you provided, to the glory of many now installed kits. Now however, i'm facing a strange problem. In the same way i restored the other kits after copying to my harddisk (the previous quoted SET FILE/ATTRIBUTES...LRL:09216... command), i restored the 11 save sets. Installation goes well, till it starts to restore save set c. here are some errors, the real list is much longer, but constitutes of the same errors.

[code:1:28581689d3]
%VMSINSTAL-I-RESTORE, Restoring product save set C ...
%BACKUP-E-READERR, error reading DKA0:[WARD.FTPFILES]decset124.c;3
-BACKUP-E-BLOCKCRC, software block CRC error
%BACKUP-E-INVBLKSIZE, invalid block size in save set
%BACKUP-E-INVRECSIZ, invalid record size in save set
%BACKUP-E-INVRECSIZ, invalid record size in save set
%BACKUP-E-BLOCKLOST, block of DKA0:[WARD.FTPFILES]decset124.c;3 lost due to unrecoverable error
-BACKUP-E-HDRCRC, software header CRC error
%BACKUP-E-READERR, error reading DKA0:[WARD.FTPFILES]decset124.c;3
-BACKUP-E-HDRCRC, software header CRC error
%BACKUP-E-INVBLKSIZE, invalid block size in save set
[/code:1:28581689d3]

i re-downloaded the file, same problem. I puzzles me, because the rest (.c files in other kits, and .a and .b file in this kit)worked fine.

Any ideas?

thanks in advance....
Author
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on March 02 2007 16:51
Do a BACKUP/LIST DECSET124.C/SAVE and look at the results. It will include displaying the header, which includes the actual blocksize. Now, typically SPKITBLD.COM (The command procedure commonly used to build VMSINSTAL kits) will set the blocksize to a nice value, but this is always a good doublecheck, since they may not have used SPKITBLD.
Author how to set the blocksize
Wardc
Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 02.02.07
Posted on March 04 2007 01:16
thanks. Sorry for all the stupid questions smiley
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

jiml
November 09 2018
Thank you , Malmberg ! Exactly what I was hoping for . Reset key & all is well . JImL

malmberg
November 09 2018
Eisner was upgraded to the current Multinet Release. As part of that a new host key was generated. The old key was incompatible with newer Linux.

jiml
November 02 2018
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ?

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


Shoutbox Archive