Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSaturday, October 20, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 7
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,217
Newest Member: clarencewallace
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | OpenVMS Hobbyist Media Kits | OpenVMS Alpha Media Kits
Author Installation on AS600: Crash while configuring I/O board
ItsMeOnly
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 13.02.07
Posted on February 27 2007 12:26
Well, tried to install OpenVMS on my... khmmm... resurrected AlphaStation (see my post on comp.sys.dec), but PKQDRIVER bails out:
[code:1:9f9d412ecf]PKQDRIVER-W- PKB0, Port Shutdown due to numerous or serious ctrlr errors.[/code:1:9f9d412ecf]
Then there's BUGCHECK with the message[code:1:9f9d412ecf]INCONSTATE, Inconsistent I/O database[/code:1:9f9d412ecf]
Grepped in groups that it might be because VMS is issuing commands the I/O
controller doesn't understand. What can I do?

Rambo
21221452 m_roguski@yahoo.com m_roguski http://rambo.id.uw.edu.pl
Author
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on February 27 2007 17:22
Sounds like it's an unsupported controller. What does a SHOW DEVICE provide for the details for your controllers?
Author
ItsMeOnly
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 13.02.07
Posted on February 28 2007 03:55
[quote:831b907bb8="HobbyistOne"]Sounds like it's an unsupported controller. What does a SHOW DEVICE provide for the details for your controllers?[/quote:831b907bb8]
[code:1:831b907bb8]DKB0.0.0.1002.0 DKB0 RZ1CC-BA 883F
DKB500.5.0.1002.0 DKB500 RRD45 1645
[... snip CPU and EWA-C]
PKA0.7.0.1001.0 PKA0 SCSI Bus ID 7 5.57
PKA0.7.0.1002.0 PKB0 SCSI Bus ID 7 5.57[/code:1:831b907bb8]
There you go- there was also a Symbios Logic SE SCSI card, but it's now removed and the thing doesn't change anything.
21221452 m_roguski@yahoo.com m_roguski http://rambo.id.uw.edu.pl
Author
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on February 28 2007 04:07
What's connected to PKB0? Is it properly terminated?

SCSI requires a termination at both ends of the bus, though typically, the controller provides the termination of that end of the bus. With a BA35X, there is a terminator block inside the case (which can be moved to provide a split bus, or removed for an unterminated bus for chaining to other devices.
Author
ItsMeOnly
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 13.02.07
Posted on February 28 2007 08:44
Big update
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The good news is that after switching cables (PKB to PKA), the VMS installation ran smoothly. My question is now: how will the system react on drastic hardware downgrade (EV5->EV4, AS600->DEC2000/300).
21221452 m_roguski@yahoo.com m_roguski http://rambo.id.uw.edu.pl
Author
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on March 08 2007 00:04
you can take an image backup of that system and run it on a older system and often it can be fine.
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author Downgrades are okay
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on March 08 2007 02:46
OpenVMS is famously backward compatible. If your new hardware is running OpenVMS, the same disk image will run on older hardware, too. The only likely gotchas are going to be disk device naming, but logicals can take care of that!
Author Re: Downgrades are okay
ItsMeOnly
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 13.02.07
Posted on March 13 2007 11:55
[quotesmiley1d85574e8="HobbyistOne"]OpenVMS is famously backward compatible. If your new hardware is running OpenVMS, the same disk image will run on older hardware, too. The only likely gotchas are going to be disk device naming, but logicals can take care of that![/quotesmiley1d85574e8]
Turns out Jensen is an exception again smiley
Got VMS running on an 2 Gig WD disk, installed filesets, and removed the thing after reboot, before AUTOGEN- after putting it into Jensen GETDATA runs ok, but GENPARAMS stage bails out with a nasty error about "inproperly handled condition" (hard to see- scrolls too fast).
21221452 m_roguski@yahoo.com m_roguski http://rambo.id.uw.edu.pl
Author
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on March 13 2007 17:52
That's probably one of the tools for gathering feedback and such. If you can, catch the output of AUTOGEN with:

$ @SYS$UPDATE:AUTOGEN <start> <end> /OUTPUT=AUTOGEN.LOG

That should log the output of the failure, and hopefully track it down. Hopefully, it's just a bug in the feedback stuff, and you can avoid that with ading "NOFEEDBACK" as a third arguement to AUTOGEN
Author
ItsMeOnly
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 13.02.07
Posted on March 14 2007 00:08
[quote:ff7b317ac0="HobbyistOne"]That's probably one of the tools for gathering feedback and such. If you can, catch the output of AUTOGEN with:

$ @SYS$UPDATE:AUTOGEN <start> <end> /OUTPUT=AUTOGEN.LOG

That should log the output of the failure, and hopefully track it down. Hopefully, it's just a bug in the feedback stuff, and you can avoid that with ading "NOFEEDBACK" as a third arguement to AUTOGEN[/quote:ff7b317ac0]
You'll unfortunately have to tell me how to do that , I'm getting "process logged out" message and stats- but no prompt smiley
21221452 m_roguski@yahoo.com m_roguski http://rambo.id.uw.edu.pl
Author
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on March 14 2007 02:05
try
$ @SYS$UPDATE:AUTOGEN GETDATA TESTFILES NOFEEDBACK
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive