Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSaturday, April 21, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 6
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,098
Newest Member: amacmahon
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | OpenVMS Hobbyist Media Kits | OpenVMS Alpha Media Kits
Author My alpha kit cd won't boot!
gorg
Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 21.09.06
Posted on April 06 2007 06:44
Hello everyone,
I purchased an OpenVMS V7.3-1 CD for my Alphaserver 1000A/266 and discovered that it won't boot!.

After issuing a 'boot dka400' command from the SRM prompt, the system barfed the following:

[code:1:f3b53b542d]block 0 of dka400.4.0.200.0 is a valid boot block
reading 969 blocks from dka400.4.0.200.0.
failed to send Read to dka400.4.0.200.0
failed to read dka400.4.0.200.0
bootstrap failure
[/code:1:f3b53b542d]

As far as I can tell, my CDROM drive works fine, I had debian installed and can boot a cd-r copy of OpenVMS 8.2 with no problem (that is booting untill it starts complaining about my firmware beeing old).

I've read in the OpenVMS Hobbyist Guide PDF that the CDROM drive must be "512-byte sectored" which alarmed me a bit.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!
Author Re: My alpha kit cd won't boot!
ItsMeOnly
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 13.02.07
Posted on April 06 2007 08:58
[quote:a26cccdab3="gorg"]can boot a cd-r copy of OpenVMS 8.2 with no problem[/quote:a26cccdab3]
You're not alone, my Jensen machine with RRD42 had identical problems- read bootblock, but did not proceed further.

I guess time for "backup" copy, besides, if you have valid 8.3, your hobbyist licenses will work fine. You could also look for new drive, which is rather tricky, because you'd need some VERY old Teac, NEC or Yamaha drive (i heard some newer Mitsumis still have jumpers instead of firmware procedures.
21221452 m_roguski@yahoo.com m_roguski http://rambo.id.uw.edu.pl
Author
gorg
Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 21.09.06
Posted on April 06 2007 10:53
I have a RRD45 Drive. I figured out how to update the firmware through ARC and managed to boot my cd-r copy of OpenVMS 8.2.
Unfortunately, the installer couldn't accept my license and I got ended up with an unusable installation.

What do you mean by "backup" copy? The 7.3 cd (from the alpha kit) is not recognized by my PC. I can't seem to mount it via Linux. Although I can 'dd' it and create an image file. Are you saying that if I burn this image on a standard cd-r, I'm going to be able to boot it from my Alpha ?
Author
ItsMeOnly
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 13.02.07
Posted on April 06 2007 13:17
[quote:be216bf125="gorg"]Are you saying that if I burn this image on a standard cd-r, I'm going to be able to boot it from my Alpha ?[/quote:be216bf125]
Yup! That's how I got mine working.
21221452 m_roguski@yahoo.com m_roguski http://rambo.id.uw.edu.pl
Author
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on April 11 2007 02:42
"Unfortunately, the installer couldn't accept my license "

What was the exact error message?
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author
Altivo
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 86
Location: Illinois
Joined: 26.05.07
Posted on October 19 2007 11:09
I've received the same error when booting the new trial copy of OpenVMS 8.3 on the PWS 433au. It doesn't seem to be the CD drive, which worked to install OpenVMS from the same CD two days earlier, and still works if I mount the CD after VMS has booted up. Nor is it the CD media itself, which still boots fine in another Alpha (DS10.) I suspect something has altered in the SRM settings, but I can't find what it is.

I notice that SRM sometimes rearranges the hardware device names unexpectedly, so that the CDROM is dqb0 on some occasions and dkb0 on others. The two SCSI drives also shift around between dka0 and dka100 when the CD is dqb0, and dkc0 and dkc100 when the CD is dkb0. The floppy drive may also jump around, but since I haven't been using it I haven't paid attention.
http://altivo.dreamwidth.org/
Author vms cd won't boot!
squalus
Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 13.11.07
Posted on November 13 2007 17:55
I'm getting something similar on my DS10. Apperently montegar ran a bit short on silvers of 8.2 so I recieved an 8.3 prototype on a cdr. Sounds fine to me except that I get:

>>>boot DQA0
(boot dqa0.0.0.13.0 -flags 0)
block 0 of dqa0.0.0.13.0 is a valid boot block
reading 1226 blocks from dqa0.0.0.13.0
failed to send read to dqa0.0.0.13.0
failed to read dqa0.0.0.13.0
bootstrap failure

I think the cdrom is ok, I was able to install debian from it. This leads me to believe I'm either trying to boot from a shiny coaster or that some SRM setting could be misconfigured. Any ideas?
Author
Altivo
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 86
Location: Illinois
Joined: 26.05.07
Posted on November 13 2007 18:33
Try this at the SRM prompt

>>>set os_type openvms
>>>init
[wait for the BIOS to reinitialize]
>>>show dev
>>>boot "devicename for CDROM"

If your os_type is set to UNIX or if Linux (you mention Debian) was the last operating system booted, then the VMS bootstrap doesn't always seem to read in and execute properly. That's what I learned. Since instituting this procedure when switching operating systems, I've had no trouble. Set the os_type environment variable in the SRM firmware, then reinitialize. Boot only after doing that.
http://altivo.dreamwidth.org/
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

Shoutbox Archive