Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesTuesday, April 24, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 1
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,100
Newest Member: zhebaby0721
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | OpenVMS Hobbyist Media Kits | OpenVMS VAX Media Kits
Author Where can i download the Media Kit ?
Anonymous
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 11.12.05
Posted on December 29 2005 03:21
The HP Website is saying that Hobbyists can download or order the Mediakits. But i was not able to find the download recource.
Can somebody advice ?

Regards
Guido Schmitz
Germany
Author
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on December 29 2005 17:52
The licenses are free downloads. As the OpenVMS web site says, the media kits can be purchased for USD$30. At this time, we are not able to provide downloads of the software packages due to copyright issues.
Author
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on March 25 2006 22:40
See
http://vmsone.com/~ovmskits/vax_kits2003/
smiley
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author Current version of VMS on the Media?
Anonymous
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 11.12.05
Posted on May 05 2006 03:48
The web page says 7.3, but no sub-version. As of 7.3.2, SSH is included with the TCPIP package. This would avoid us running an old (1.5) version of the SSH protocol, as all the 2.0's currently require commercial purchase.
Author Re: Current version of VMS on the Media?
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on May 05 2006 09:10
[quote:1d5269c60b="Anonymous"]The web page says 7.3, but no sub-version. As of 7.3.2, SSH is included with the TCPIP package. This would avoid us running an old (1.5) version of the SSH protocol, as all the 2.0's currently require commercial purchase.[/quote:1d5269c60b]

The current version is V7.3, the kit was mastered before the -1 and -2 hit the streets.
Author Re: Current version of VMS on the Media?
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on May 05 2006 13:00
[quote:f9709cb119="Anonymous"]The web page says 7.3, but no sub-version. As of 7.3.2, SSH is included with the TCPIP package. This would avoid us running an old (1.5) version of the SSH protocol, as all the 2.0's currently require commercial purchase.[/quote:f9709cb119]

If you wish, you can get Hobbyist versions of TCPware or Multinet from process.com; they work fine with VMS V7.3, and have SSH (and many other goodies) built in.
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author another places to look for VAX media
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on September 08 2006 00:45
http://vms.vmslive.com/CharonVAX/5.2-h4/VMS55h4update.zip
ftp://ftp.langstoeger.at/vms/condist-kits/vax/openvms/vms073/
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author get installation kits to work on a VMS computer...
Micha
Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 16.12.06
Posted on January 01 2007 08:33
Maybe this thread is a good place to mention a pitfall that can drive beginners (like me) almost cracy:

From the above mentioned website http://vmsone.com/~ovmskits/vax_kits2003/ one can download the software kits (only file-by-file via HTTP).

When putting the kits to a SIMH- or a real VAX, they refuse to install, because of wrong block size. It is then helpful to apply the following odd command to the files to fix them:

$ SET FILE/ATTRIBUTES=(LRL=value) kitname

where value could be 32256 or 9216, the abbreviation LRL stands for "logical record length"


Micha
Author Re: get installation kits to work on a VMS computer...
BillyT
Member

Posts: 5
Location: Waterville, ME
Joined: 15.01.07
Posted on January 15 2007 17:58
Does anyone know the correct LRL value to install ADA035? I've tried everything and I'm making no progress.
Author Re: get installation kits to work on a VMS computer...
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on January 16 2007 03:27
[quote:372dc85b23="BillyT"]Does anyone know the correct LRL value to install ADA035? I've tried everything and I'm making no progress.[/quote:372dc85b23]

http://vmsone.com/~ovmskits/vax_kits2003/disk3/ada035/kit/ is rumoured to have it, but you didn't hear it from me...
Author
BillyT
Member

Posts: 5
Location: Waterville, ME
Joined: 15.01.07
Posted on January 16 2007 09:05
I was able to obtain the kit as you say, but I have tried:

$SET FILE/ATTRIBUTE(LRL:XXXXX) ADA035.A
$SET FILE/ATTRIBUTE(LRL:XXXXX) ADA035.B
$SET FILE/ATTRIBUTE(LRL:XXXXX) ADA035.C

where XXXXX IN (9216, 32256, 32768)

I tried setting all three file names to all three values and in each case, I get the same thing when I run
the command @SYS$UPDATE:VMSINSTAL ADA035 dua1:[DCSE12001.ADA035.KIT]:

%BACKUP-F-NOTSAVESET, DUA1:[DCSE12001.ADA035.KIT]ADA035.A;1 is not a BACKUP save set

I even tried the command BACKUP/LIST filename.ext /SAVE for all three files and I get:

%BACKUP-F-NOTSAVESET, DUA1:[DCSE12001.ADA035.KIT]ADA035.C;1 is not a BACKUP save set

So, I'm not really sure how to proceed. I'm really just interested in running all of the other computer language applications: ADA, APL, COBOL, DIBOL, LISP, etc... I'd even be willing to spend some money, travel or what not (if it were reasonable for a hobbyist) to obtain the language software. I already have the hobbyist licenses.
Author
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on January 16 2007 09:21
[quote:ae15d831ee="BillyT"]I was able to obtain the kit as you say, but I have tried:

$SET FILE/ATTRIBUTE(LRL:XXXXX) ADA035.A
$SET FILE/ATTRIBUTE(LRL:XXXXX) ADA035.B
$SET FILE/ATTRIBUTE(LRL:XXXXX) ADA035.C
[/quote:ae15d831ee]

Try 8192. Also, BACKUP generally will display the save set header during the listing, and often that includes the "Block Size: xxxxx" attribute in the list at some point before it gives the error.
Author
BillyT
Member

Posts: 5
Location: Waterville, ME
Joined: 15.01.07
Posted on January 16 2007 18:18
[code:1:c446eb3329]As background I am running the OpenVMS Hobbyist Kit V7.3-1 from Montagar software and have all of the programming languages installed from the CDROM.

The problem is that I want as many programming languages running as I can get my hands on. However, though I could obtain the license PAKs for many of the layered products, finding the layered products proved more difficult.

Then once I found them, getting the backup sets to be recognized by the VMS installer was my next hurdle.

Just to help someone else down the line who might find themselves in the same dilemma I did, I was successful at installing everything I wanted to by issuing the following commands.

Run this command for each backup set file in the setup kit (within the KIT directory):
$SET FILE/ATTRIBUTES=(RFM:FIX,MRS:XXXXX,LRL:XXXXX,RAT:NONE) FILENAME.EXT;VER

Use the following XXXXX (block size) values for the following product kits:
ADA035 9216
CXX056 32256
COBOL057 9216
PLI038 32256

Then run the install command:

[email protected]$UPDATE:VMSINSTAL PRODUCTKIT DEVICE:[KITDIRECTORY]

I also ran into a problem installing CXX056 as I already had CC064 installed. In order to get CXX056 successfully installed I had to do the following:

1. Extract COMPLEX.H from SYS$LIBRARY:DECC$RTLDEF.TLB, and save it.
$LIBR/EXTRACT=COMPLEX/OUT=SYS$SCRATCH:COMPLEX.H SYS$LIBRARY:DECC$RTLDEF.TLB
2. Remove COMPLEX.H from SYS$LIBRARY:DECC$RTLDEF.TLB.
$LIBR/DELETE=COMPLEX SYS$LIBRARY:DECC$RTLDEF.TLB
3. Install CXX056.
4. Reinsert the saved COMPLEX.H back into SYS$LIBRARY:DECC$RTLDEF.TLB
$LIBR/INSERT SYS$LIBRARY:DECC$RTLDEF.TLB SYS$SCRATCH:COMPLEX.H

$TYPE SYS$UPDATE:VMSINSTAL.HISTORY

VMSINSTAL Product Installation History File

S = Success F = Failure NA = Not Applicable

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Product Information | Installation Information
------------------------------------------------------------|
Name | Mnemonic | Version | Date | Status| IVP |Node | Installer
------------------------------------------------------------|
| BASIC | 3.9 | 13-JAN-2007 | S | S |TOPCAT | DCSE12001
| CC | 6.4 | 13-JAN-2007 | S | S |TOPCAT | DCSE12001
| FORT | 6.6 | 13-JAN-2007 | S | S |TOPCAT | DCSE12001
| PASCAL | 5.8 | 13-JAN-2007 | S | S |TOPCAT | DCSE12001
| ADA | 3.5 | 16-JAN-2007 | S | S |TOPCAT | DCSE12001
| CXX | 5.6 | 16-JAN-2007 | S | S |TOPCAT | DCSE12001
| COBOL | 5.7 | 16-JAN-2007 | S | S |TOPCAT | DCSE12001
| PLI | 3.8 | 16-JAN-2007 | S | S |TOPCAT | DCSE12001[/code:1:c446eb3329]
Author
BillyT
Member

Posts: 5
Location: Waterville, ME
Joined: 15.01.07
Posted on January 16 2007 18:31
I'm also aware that there are even more computer languages: Bliss, Macro64, Perl, Python, etc on the Freeware CDs which I just might buy myself a set of those.

However, I'd really really like to find (which are all marked as retired products on the HP web site):

VAX APL
VAX CORAL 66
VAX DIBOL
VAX LISP VMS
Fortran IV/Vax

Do you have any idea if it is possible to find and use these retired products?

I appreciate your time.

Bill T.
Author
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on January 16 2007 19:45
[quote:7b1281d9ad="BillyT"]I'm also aware that there are even more computer languages: Bliss, Macro64, Perl, Python, etc on the Freeware CDs which I just might buy myself a set of those.[/quote:7b1281d9ad]

You should be able to download them off Freeware page on the OpenVMS web site

[quote:7b1281d9ad]
However, I'd really really like to find (which are all marked as retired products on the HP web site):

VAX APL
VAX CORAL 66
VAX DIBOL
VAX LISP VMS
Fortran IV/Vax

Do you have any idea if it is possible to find and use these retired products?
[/quote:7b1281d9ad]

Some of those have been retired for some time, and none of the more recent Distributions have them. If anyone has an older distribution, maybe they can send you off a copy.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

Shoutbox Archive