Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, March 28, 2024
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 6
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,708
Newest Member: nifseg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyists and OpenVMS | Introduction Forum
Author Hello everyone!
matt

Posted on February 09 2020 02:29
I'm completely new to OpenVMS. A buddy of mine was showing me his retro computer collection the other day and showed me his DEC Alpha systems running Tru64 and told me about the absolutely legendary stability of these systems, and how they can have uptimes measured in decades when running an OS like OpenVMS. I'm interested in finding out more about it so after a few searches on how to emulate the system and get copies of it I found this forum and the hobbyist program.

Anyhow I have some noob questions, as I know almost nothing about this system.

1) Is it Unix-like at all? Most of my experience is with Unix and Linux systems. These all share a lot of common standards and tools and whatnot, so how does VMS compare both in terms of the system design and the user experience? Is there any adherence to standards like POSIX for easier porting of Unix programs?

2) What's the GUI like? From screenshots I see that it runs a Motif based interface, and in others it has a full CDE desktop. Does it differ at all from the CDE desktop you'd find on something like Solaris 10? Does it run X11 and MWM?

3) Is the installation easy or does it give IRIX a run for its money? smiley

4) What's the state of the x86-64 port and where can I keep up with news on that?

5) Will the x86-64 port be available under the hobbyist program?