Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, July 15, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 9
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,163
Newest Member: willajpeck
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Emulated Alpha Forum
Author Network COnfiguration
raperswil
Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 19.11.09
Posted on January 12 2011 07:25
Hello All
First things first: network configuration is not my strongest point.

I have the foll set up.

OSX --> Parallels 5 --> Win 2003 --> Personal Alpha --> VMS 8.3

I am trying to get network configured on VMS, I tried the TCPIP$CONFIG.COM utility, where I tried to set the interface. I ended up assigning 10.0.0.1 as IP.

How can I get Win2003 to telnet to it and FTP? I need help with the networking part. I enabled TELNET and FTP services fine.

Thanks.
Author RE: What are your emulated network adapters?
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 462
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on January 12 2011 17:01
I have set up VMS clusters using both VirtualBox and VMware Fusion on MacBook Pro / OS-X.

I have used Windows XP and Windows 7 for the VM running FreeAXP and what ever the current UBUNTU desktop was for the VM running SimH.

With out using VMs, you need to have a TUNTAP type adapter to bridge networking connections.

The simplest way to do the networking when you are running with VMs is to set up the Guest with an extra virtual network adapter. Then make sure that no network protocols are bound to the adapter and dedicate it to the emulator.

The VM Guests that I set up all have 4 virtual network interface cards (NICs).

NIC 1: bridged or NAT as needed from the Guest OS to the real NIC on the host.

NIC 2: bridged to an internal only LAN that is shared between guest OSs and the emulated hardware.

NIC 3: Bridged to the real NIC, and used only by the emulator so that VMS can reach the outside world.

NIC 4: Bridged to the internal only LAN and used only by the emulator for communications between the VMS systems and the guest OSes.

It looks like the virtualization software sets up a virtual network adapter on the host OS for the internal only LAN. I have not tried using that yet.
Author RE: Network COnfiguration
Bart
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 10
Location: The Netherlands
Joined: 29.01.13
Posted on November 04 2015 03:18
here http://www.divit.nl/index.php/openvms/tips-trics is everything you need to know
http://www.divit.nl
Author RE: Network COnfiguration
raperswil
Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 19.11.09
Posted on March 29 2016 05:16
Hello MalmBerg and Bart
Thank you for responding. I have spent several hours both on the Virtual Alpha users guide as well as Bart's link.
Here are the steps I have taken :
1. I now have a Windows 8 64-bit laptop. This is an office laptop with STATIC IP address configured on the Ethernet card and a Wifi.
2. Installed Windows 2012 in both VmWare Player and Virtual Box. I saw Bart's web page where he set the 'Promiscous mode' so I continued with Virtual Box here onwards.
3. Network cards configured in Windows 2012 guest are
3.1 NIC1 - NAT with Host Windows 8.
3.2 NIC2 - BRIDGE Adaptor to Windows 8 Ethernet card with Promiscous mode (Allow all) and 'Cable Connected'.
3.3 NIC3 - BRIDGE Adaptor to Windows 8 Wifi card with Promiscous mode (Allow all) and 'Cable Connected'.
3.4 NIC4 - HOST-ONLY Adaptor / Virtual Box-host only adapotpor. Promiscous mode (Allow all) and 'Cable Connected'. I suspect this is a stand alone NIC in guest.
3.5 NIC5 - TAP Windows adaptor from OpenVPN.
4. Bridging between NIC4 and NIC5.
4.1 Right click on NIC4 and uncheck TCPIP4 and TCPIP6. Windows client is also automatically unchecked.
4.2 Bridge NIC4 and NIC5. The combined bridge has an IP of 192.168.56.101
5. Install Migration specialities FreeAXP. Ensure the NET START MSIPCAP command is executed correctly with no errors.
6. Specify the NIC as NIC5 from 3.5
7. Boot into OpenVMS 8.4 and run @SYS$MANAGER:TCPIP$CONFIG.COM
7.1 In Interfaces (option 1 followed by 2), add an address against interface WE0.
$ tcpip sh int
Packets
Interface IP_Addr Network mask Receive Send MTU

LO0 127.0.0.1 255.0.0.0 4208 4208 4096
WE0 192.168.56.102 255.255.255.0 0 14 1500


I cant ping 192.168.56.102 from Win2012, nor 192.168.56.101 from VMS.

Assumptions :
1. I do not need NIC4 and NIC5 to talk to a DHCP server or DNS. I hope the bridging should take care of this.
2. VMS need not talk to the internet. ALL I WANT IS TO FTP the RDB database software to VMS from Windows.

Please let me know if my current setup is feasible and where I am going wrong.

Thank you.
Author RE: Network COnfiguration
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 504
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on March 30 2016 04:52
See if you can ping or telnet to the virtual Alpha from another system. If so, Windows and FreeAXP are sharing the same NIC. You will need to turn off Windows services on the FreeAXP NIC to prevent this from happening.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive