Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, April 19, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 3
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,094
Newest Member: w0anm
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Emulated Alpha Forum
Author Stromasys PersonalAlphaPlus - New
johncookson
Member

Posts: 26
Location: Canada
Joined: 04.12.08
Posted on November 25 2011 02:21
Stromasys have a new Alpha emulator available although details remain sketchy at the moment. It seems that a 64bit host operating system may be required to run it (Something I don't currently have).

What I have heard so far about the new version is as follows :-

It is based on a DS10 and offers twice the performance of the older PersonalAlpha emulator.

The new emulator can be used for both personal and commercial use without any restrictions.

It supports 1 Gigabyte of emulated memory and 3 disk drives (type and capacity unknown).

It has no embedded expiration date.


This all sounds pretty exciting for hobbyists. I have been using the older product for some time now and it is superb. If anyone else is already using this new product, I would be interested in hearing their thoughts on it.

JohnC
Author RE: Stromasys PersonalAlphaPlus - New
R Price
Member

Posts: 36
Location: Canada
Joined: 09.12.10
Posted on December 05 2011 15:35
I just tried it on Win7 x64. Having to enter my admin password to install the software is normal and expected. Having to enter my admin password to run the installed application is abnormal and unexpected. I hit cancel and promptly un-installed this software.
Author RE: Stromasys PersonalAlphaPlus - New
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 459
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on December 06 2011 02:05
On Windows Vista and later, in order to run software that requires privileges, either a password must be entered, or the shortcut has to be set up in a special table.

It appears to me that the way that Microsoft wants privileged applications to be written as services that run under a dedicated non-interactive account, and that then communicate with a GUI or command line utility.

FreeAXP has the same issue.
Author RE: Stromasys PersonalAlphaPlus - New
cdandes
Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 01.09.11
Posted on December 06 2011 03:12
win7 64 did not ask me any password. That's probably because I disabled this nagging "security feature"

Running the VUPS benchmark which I found on this forum I had more than twice performance than on win32 (score 50 compared to 22).
Author RE: Stromasys PersonalAlphaPlus - New
R Price
Member

Posts: 36
Location: Canada
Joined: 09.12.10
Posted on December 06 2011 04:44
I deliberately run Windows with non-default security settings. I run with a Limited User Account and have set User Account Control to the highest setting, which requires administrator authentication to execute anything which requires privileges beyond those of a Limited User. After almost 20 years using *NIX systems, this is, to me, just the way a computer is supposed to work.

As for the specific case of Stromasys PersonalAlphaPlus, I am simply not willing to grant admin privileges to an app I feel should not require such. I understand the software was written in such a way as to need admin access. I simply feel this is inappropriate and choose not to run apps designed this way. Before Vista there would have been no choice but Microsoft has made real improvements in security to eliminate the need for everything to run with admin privileges and I refuse to use software written to work the old way, the wrong way, the way things were with XP and earlier. It took a while for AV software developers to come to terms with the new reality but eventually they did. When or if Stromasys updates their software to post-XP standards I will gladly try it again.
Author RE: Stromasys PersonalAlphaPlus - New
ch_123
Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 08.06.10
Posted on April 08 2012 15:24
I'm pretty sure the admin requirements are due to the need to get direct access to the ethernet hardware. SIMH under *nix needs root for the same reason.
Author RE: Stromasys PersonalAlphaPlus - New
R Price
Member

Posts: 36
Location: Canada
Joined: 09.12.10
Posted on April 15 2012 09:56
I'm sure it is something like that.

However, I tried FreeAXP a while back and I don't recall it needing admin access just to launch the application; to install it, yes, of course, but not just to run it once installed.

Maybe I'm recalling wrong but I do remember I booted my OpenVMS installer CD in FreeAXP and I cannot imagine I would have gone that far unless things met my basic requirements. Or maybe if I'd finished installing OpenVMS and tried to configure the network I would have found FreeAXP needs admin access, I don't know.
Author RE: Stromasys PersonalAlphaPlus - New
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 459
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on April 16 2012 03:07
FreeAXP definitely needs Admin access to run on Windows 7 for me.
Author RE: Stromasys PersonalAlphaPlus - New
R Price
Member

Posts: 36
Location: Canada
Joined: 09.12.10
Posted on April 16 2012 07:27
I could be mis-remembering. It has been a while since I tried FreeAXP, maybe a year.

Whatever, I'm still not comfortable running stuff that requires admin access when I feel it should not be necessary. VirtualBox runs from a non-admin account and I see no reason why FreeAXP or Personal Alpha should be any different.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

Shoutbox Archive