Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, July 16, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 3
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,163
Newest Member: willajpeck
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | Emulated VAX Forum
Author Maximum memory that can be used?
alexbuell
Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 27.09.10
Posted on October 06 2010 09:39
I recently tried to boot VMS 5.3 with 512MB and could not get to boot until I reduced the RAM to 128MB. at that point it booted perfectly. OpenVMS 7.3 booted without any problems with 512MB.

What is the maximum memory simh-vax can handle?

Thanks!
Author RE: Maximum memory that can be used?
astrodanco
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 04.03.10
Posted on November 10 2010 12:17
512MB works fine here with SIMH 3.8-1.

Here is the contents of my SIMH boot script (do boot from simh> prompt):

set cpu 512m
set cpu conhalt
set cpu idle
set lpt disable
set tq disable
set rq0 rauser=8000
attach rq0 vaxvms073.dsk
set rq1 rrd40
attach -r rq1 vaxvms073.iso
set dz lines=4
attach -am dz 1025
show xq eth
set xq mac=00-24-8C-A1-DC-D0
attach xq0 eth2
b cpu
Edited by astrodanco on November 10 2010 12:17
Author RE: Maximum memory that can be used?
abrsvc
Member

Posts: 97
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on November 11 2010 01:22
This is likely to be VMS version dependent. I will try to look this up, but V5.3 is very old and may not support the full 512MB. Realize that the VAX 8700/8800 was the first to actually be able to have 512MB of real memory. Prior to that, I'm not sure if the hardware structures could handle "real" memory sizes over 128MB. Stay tuned. I'll look up in the release notes (I think I still have them.)

Dan
Author RE: Maximum memory that can be used?
kzsolt
Member

Posts: 14
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Joined: 08.10.09
Posted on March 13 2011 03:44
smiley I Have the problem with OpenVMS 7.3. I can increase the memory to 128m or 256m or 512m, I see it on autoboot vax console, but looks like VMS does not recognize it. The show memory always tell 64M. Just for sure if I decrease it to 32m, then I show 32M on show memory result.

Remark: The PHYSICALPAGES default value is 1048576 and the current is 131072.
Author RE: Maximum memory that can be used?
VolkerHalle
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 96
Location: Germany
Joined: 02.04.10
Posted on March 13 2011 06:45
The PHYSICALPAGES system parameters controls the useable physical memory in OpenVMS VAX. Consider to run AUTOGEN to get the correct value set for PHYSICALPAGES or increase the parameter yourself with a conversational boot.

Volker.
http://www.invenate.de
Author RE: Maximum memory that can be used?
kzsolt
Member

Posts: 14
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Joined: 08.10.09
Posted on March 14 2011 11:58
Thank you!

smiley For me the:
1. set def sys$update
2. @autogen getdata reboot nofeedback
form was the winner...
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive