Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, October 19, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 1
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,217
Newest Member: clarencewallace
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | Emulated VAX Forum
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Author norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
nafiri
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 14.10.10
Posted on October 14 2010 00:39
hi everyone,
well i m a newbie to openvms , i got a HPZ800 with windows xp running on it , i got simh exe for windows , i just follow this tutorial
http://www.wherry.com/gadgets/retrocomputing/vax-simh.html

but smiley when i wanna do the second "boot cpu " after defining available devices and backup command i just got the error :

?C6 2 03 FF 00 0000

P1=20140100 P2=00000000 P3=20084004 P4=00000000 P5=20084000
P6=00000000 P7=00000004 P8=00D40077 P9=0000000C P10=00000000
r0=00D40077 r1=2014079C r2=201404B2 r3=201407A4 r4=2004D2F0
r5=2004D310 r6=2004D317 r7=00000000 r8=00000000 ERF=80000000

u92;[c
KA655-B V5.3, VMB 2.7
Performing normal system tests.
40..39..38..

?33 2 01 FF 00 0001

P1=00000000 P2=00000000 P3=00000000 P4=00000000 P5=00000000
P6=00000000 P7=00000000 P8=00000000 P9=0000000C P10=00000000
r0=80000017 r1=20080100 r2=00000012 r3=20140784 r4=2004D534
r5=2004D54E r6=20055157 r7=00000000 r8=00000000 ERF=80000000
37..36..35..34..33..32..31..30..29..28..27..26..25..
24..23..22..21..20..19..18..17..16..15..14..13..12..11..10..09..
08..07..06..05..04..03..
Normal operation not possible.
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
ss
Member

Posts: 16
Location: desk
Joined: 03.05.08
Posted on October 16 2010 01:22
Never seen this happening myself.

There's the KA655 Maintenance manual. AFAIR this should tell you which tests got hung.
http://www.bitsavers.org/pdf/dec/vax/655/EK-306A-MG-001_655Mnt_Mar89.pdf

btw. this thread looks similar:
http://openvmshobbyist.com/forum/viewthread.php?forum_id=100&thread_id=726


HTH
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
agn453
Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01.06.08
Posted on October 21 2010 12:38
You didn't give details about your SIMH VAX environment.

I found similar "problems" when I compiled SIMH VAX with gcc 4.3.4 under Cygwin on Windows-XP SP3. Building it with the older gcc 3.4.4 compiler makes it work.

Tony
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
nafiri
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 14.10.10
Posted on October 22 2010 02:33
thx both & ang well in fact i didn't compile any thing i got just the exe zip :simhv38-1-exe windows xp 2002 sp2 . openvms_vax_7.3.img
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
nafiri
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 14.10.10
Posted on October 23 2010 13:50
hey could anyone help me! plzsmiley
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
ss
Member

Posts: 16
Location: desk
Joined: 03.05.08
Posted on October 24 2010 03:33
You said this happens when restarting the emulator. So post the output when starting the first time. Do you already get any error messages at this point?

What does you config file look like?

As your on Windows i'm not much of help here, but do you have proper accessrights to all your files/directories (NVRAM, Disks, et al.)?

If there's a C compiler present on your machine try compiling it from source and see if that helps.
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
nafiri
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 14.10.10
Posted on October 25 2010 00:08
wwwell ,i don't have any problem when starting the first time.no error
i m the admin of my machine
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
nafiri
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 14.10.10
Posted on October 25 2010 00:10
i don't know how to attach in your forum , i got snapshot of my whole process.
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
nafiri
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 14.10.10
Posted on October 25 2010 01:44
i don't know how to rebuilt simh with mingw on windows xp ?
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
ss
Member

Posts: 16
Location: desk
Joined: 03.05.08
Posted on October 25 2010 08:12
No need to attach anything, just copy&paste the output.
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
jackman
Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 24.08.10
Posted on October 26 2010 07:43
I get a similar screen output when compiling/running Simh V3.8 under Linux RHEL 5 (kernel 2.6.18, gcc version 4.1.2) on an HP xw8600 workstation. I'm trying to run VMS 7.3 using the ka655x.bin CPU. I follow all of Phillip Wherry's instructions, and it boots properly the first time. However, after I do a backup of the CD-ROM to the first hard disk (backup suceessful), I do a CTRL+E, and a boot cpu, then the output is:

?C6 2 03 FF 00 0000

P1=20140100 P2=00000000 P3=20084004 P4=00000000 P5=20084000
P6=00000000 P7=00000004 P8=00D40077 P9=0000000F P10=00000000
r0=00D40077 r1=2014079C r2=201404B2 r3=201407A4 r4=2004D2F0
r5=2004D310 r6=2004D317 r7=00000000 r8=00000000 ERF=80000000

KA655-B V5.3, VMB 2.7
Performing normal system tests.
40..39..38..

?33 2 01 FF 00 0001

P1=00000000 P2=00000000 P3=00000000 P4=00000000 P5=00000000
P6=00000000 P7=00000000 P8=00000000 P9=0000000F P10=00000000
r0=80000017 r1=20080100 r2=00000012 r3=20140784 r4=2004D534
r5=2004D54E r6=20055157 r7=00000000 r8=00000000 ERF=80000000
37..36..35..34..33..32..31..30..29..28..27..26..25..
24..23..22..21..20..19..18..17..16..15..14..13..12..11..10..09..
08..07..06..05..04..03..
Normal operation not possible.
>>>

Luckily I had an older version of Simh V3.6 lying around, installed it, and it appears to fix this issue. I suspect this has something to do with what the developers did in the version upgrade.

Good luck,
KJ
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
ss
Member

Posts: 16
Location: desk
Joined: 03.05.08
Posted on October 26 2010 09:28
Ok, at least there seems to be a way to circumvent this.

Even so i'd suggest sending a mail describing this to the SimH-mailinglist:
http://mailman.trailing-edge.com/mailman/listinfo/simh
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
nafiri
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 14.10.10
Posted on October 27 2010 01:06
ok, thx jackman
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
nafiri
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 14.10.10
Posted on October 27 2010 01:14
but jackman, could you please give me a link where can i find v3.6
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
ss
Member

Posts: 16
Location: desk
Joined: 03.05.08
Posted on October 28 2010 01:59
You'll find older versions on Sourceforge:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/simh/files/

HTH
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
nafiri
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 14.10.10
Posted on November 01 2010 05:01
i return back to you , could you tell me plz if you got an idea , i rebuild ur zip 3.6 and it's ok now , but this time when i did the second boot cp instead of having this :

>>>set boot dua0
>>>boot
(BOOT/R5:0 DUA0)
2..
-DUA0
1..0..

%SYSBOOT-I-SYSBOOT Mapping the SYSDUMP.DMP on the System Disk
%SYSBOOT-W-SYSBOOT Can not map SYSDUMP.DMP on the System Disk
%SYSBOOT-I-SYSBOOT Mapping PAGEFILE.SYS on the System Disk
%SYSBOOT-I-SYSBOOT SAVEDUMP parameter not set to protect the PAGEFILE.SYS
OpenVMS (TM) VAX Version BI73-7G7 Major version id = 1 Minor version id = 0
%WBM-I-WBMINFO Write Bitmap has successfully completed initialization.

it just contie and gve me the same screen as the first first boot,

>>>boot dua3
(BOOT/R5:0 DUA3)
2..
-DUA3
1..0..
%SYSBOOT-I-SYSBOOT Mapping the SYSDUMP.DMP on the System Disk
%SYSBOOT-W-SYSBOOT Can not map SYSDUMP.DMP on the System Disk
%SYSBOOT-W-SYSBOOT Can not map PAGEFILE.SYS on the System Disk
OpenVMS (TM) VAX Version X7G7 Major version id = 1 Minor version id = 0
%WBM-I-WBMINFO Write Bitmap has successfully completed initialization.
PLEASE ENTER DATE AND TIME (DD-MMM-YYYY HH:MM) 19-APR-2003 15:46
Configuring devices . . .

Now configuring HSC, RF, and MSCP-served devices . . .

Please check the names of the devices which have been configured,
to make sure that ALL remote devices which you intend to use have
been configured.

If any device does not show up, please take action now to make it
available.

Available device DUA0: device type RA92
Available device DUA1: device type RA92
Available device DUA2: device type RA92
Available device DUA3: device type RRD40

Enter "YES" when all needed devices are available: y
%BACKUP-I-IDENT, Stand-alone BACKUP T7.2; the date is.



i have an openvms_vax_7.3.img not an iso !!! please any help or if youcould send me ur openvms soft .thx in advance
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
ss
Member

Posts: 16
Location: desk
Joined: 03.05.08
Posted on November 01 2010 11:41
First step is to boot from your VMS VAX image which most likely is attached as an emulated CD-ROM (DUA3).

So make sure that you haven't mixed up the bootdevice. As after restarting the emulator you have to boot from one of your emulated Harddisks (DUA0 1 or 2 - the one to which you restored the Backup Saveset during the first step).

AFAICT if it's an ODS-2 image that you have it shoudln't matter which extension it has.
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
nafiri
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 14.10.10
Posted on November 02 2010 00:20
yes, my first boot is : boot dua3:
ten after backuping : bakup dua3: dua0:
rebot cpu
then boot dua0:
i just got the same sceen as the first boot :'(

http://www.wherry.com/gadgets/retrocomputing/vax-simh.html
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
ss
Member

Posts: 16
Location: desk
Joined: 03.05.08
Posted on November 02 2010 01:53
What BACKUP command do you use?

Check your configfile if all your disks are properly attached and existing on their paths.

To examine your image file you could use Files-11 Browser from Stromasys and check/post it's content.
btw. their empty disk images are IMHO also very handy.
http://www.stromasys.ch/support/support-downloads/charon-vax-downloads/
Author RE: norrmal operation not possible simh vax problem
nafiri
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 14.10.10
Posted on November 05 2010 02:51
please could you tell me how could i get keys licence plz ?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive