Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, January 22, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,021
Newest Member: pd123d
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | Emulated VAX Forum
Author Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on May 29 2011 23:16
Hi, I'm new to this forum, though I've come across some discussions while looking for answers to SimH and emulated VAX issues.

Recently I tried to port an existing CHARON disk images (system and user) to SimH, and was able to boot successfully and login/shutdown from SYSTEM.

However when I tried logging in as a user [NKT], I encountered this error:
%DCL-E-OPENIN, error opening FACTAM$SYSTEM:[NKT]EFTUSYM.COM; as input
-RMS-F-DEV, error in device name or inappropriate device type for operation

When I tried a DIR command, I got the same error. Can anyone advise me on the possible source of problem? Thank you.
Author RE: Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on May 29 2011 23:37
I almost forgot. The following is the SimH script I used:

et cpu 64m
load -r vax\ka655.bin
set rl disable
set lpt disable
set tq disable
set rq0 ra92
att rq0 mv36sys.dsk
set -L rq1 rauser=8500000
att -e rq1 ate.dsk
set console telnet=23
set xq MAC=08-00-2b-aa-bb-cc
att xq eth0
boot cpu

I use Putty for my console, linking it to localhost via Port 23. The two disk images are:

mv36sys.dsk 1,381,977,600 bytes
ate.dsk 4,290,600,960 bytes

When I did a SHOW DEVICE only the mv36sys.dsk was mounted. The ate.dsk was online.

How do I mount such a large disk image? RAUSER didn't seem to work in my case.
Author RE: Unable to DIR
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on May 30 2011 04:30
Most likely, your disk device names have changed. SimH is presenting a DUAn device. Was your Charon device DKA0? Check your VMS start up procedures for physical disk references and change them to match the "new" disk.

Note: Your network device will change as well. You will need to reconfigure DECnet and TCP/IP to recognize the "new" device.
Author RE: Unable to DIR
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on May 30 2011 19:29
The error message says that the device FACTAM$SYSTEM: references cannot be found.
Possible reasons:
- The logical name FACTAM$SYSTEM isn't defined (check with SHOW LOGICAL FACTAM$SYSTEM).
- The device that FACTAM$SYSTEM resolves to cannot be found.
- The device that FACTAM$SYSTEM resolves to exists, but isn't mounted (not sure about this one).

HTH
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on June 03 2011 20:17
Hi Bruce and Martin. Thanks for the replies. I've managed to boot and mount ATE.dsk as DUA1 after I performed a BACKUP/IMAGE to a smaller RA90 disk file which I created.
The problem I faced now is while the mount is successful, SimH doesn't seem to emulate the TXA0 and TXA1 lines, resulting in some part of the boot-up script unable to complete properly and I ended up with the same problem when I issue a DIR command.
Anyone knows how to fix the TXA0 and TXA1 with SimH? Many thanks!
Author RE: Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on June 03 2011 20:26
Below is part of the boot-up messages for your examination:

The VAX/VMS system is now executing the host-specific startup commands.

Mounting RA90

%MOUNT-I-MOUNTED, ATE mounted on _$1$DUA1: (MV3DN)
Starting laser printer queue ps

%SET-W-NOTSET, error modifying TXA0:
-SYSTEM-W-NOSUCHDEV, no such device available
%SET-E-NOTSET, error modifying TXA0:
-SYSTEM-W-NOSUCHDEV, no such device available
%SYSTEM-W-NOSUCHDEV, no such device available
%SET-W-NOTSET, error modifying TXA1:
-SYSTEM-W-NOSUCHDEV, no such device available
%SET-E-NOTSET, error modifying TXA1:
-SYSTEM-W-NOSUCHDEV, no such device available
%SET-I-INTSET, login interactive limit = 64, current interactive value = 0
4-JUN-2011 14:14:59
%%%%%%%%%%% OPCOM 4-JUN-2011 14:15:01.90 %%%%%%%%%%%
Message from user DECNET on MV3DN
DECnet event 4.10, circuit up
From node 3.2 (MV3DN), 4-JUN-2011 14:14:56.60
Circuit QNA-0


%STARTVWS-I-NOSTART, SYSGEN WINDOW_SYSTEM parameter precludes VWS startup
SYSTEM job terminated at 4-JUN-2011 14:15:02.29

Accounting information:
Buffered I/O count: 1276 Peak working set size: 659
Direct I/O count: 711 Peak page file size: 3416
Page faults: 10016 Mounted volumes: 1
Charged CPU time: 0 00:00:07.61 Elapsed time: 0 00:00:17.97
Author RE: Unable to DIR
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on June 04 2011 03:36
The TXA messages are just warning and should not be interfering with the overall boot process. Define a serial device to create TXA devices:

;
; Set up 8 serial ports
;
set vh enable
attach vh 10000




You can try a SET NOON in the SYSTARTUP_VMS.COM procedure to ignore errors on boot.

Post your Charon configuration file.
Author RE: Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on June 05 2011 20:46
Thanks Bruce for the reply. My Charon configuration file listing:

set session hw_model="MicroVAX_3600"
set session log="charon.log" log_method="overwrite"
set toy container="charon.dat"

set cpu ace_mode=true
set ram size=128

load virtual_serial_line/chserial OPA0 port=10003 application
="c:\putty\putty.exe telnet://localhost:10003"
set uart line=OPA0
set OPA0 break_on="Ctrl-P, BREAK"

load RQDX3/RQDX3 DUA
set DUA container[0] = "C:\VDISK\MV36SYS.vdisk"
set DUA container[1] = "C:\VDISK\ATE.vdisk"

load TQK50/TQK50 MUA
set MUA container[0]="C:\VDISK\TAPE0.vtape"

load DELQA/DEQNA XQA
load ndis5_chpack_port/chnetwrk XQA0 interface
="3Com EtherLink XL 10/100 PCI For Complete PC Management NIC (3C905C-TX)"
set XQA interface=XQA0

load DHV11/DHV11 TXA
load physical_serial_line/chserial TXA0 line="COM1:"
set TXA line[0]=TXA0
load physical_serial_line/chserial TXA1 line="COM2:"
set TXA line[1]=TXA1

set bdr boot=auto
Author RE: Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on June 05 2011 20:52
The boot-up message for Charon is as follow (in contrast to SimH's shown in my earlier post):

The VAX/VMS system is now executing the host-specific startup commands.

Mounting RA90

%MOUNT-I-MOUNTED, ATE mounted on _$1$DUA1: (MV3DN)
Starting laser printer queue ps

Staring SYS$BATCH

Set terminals for CS/200

%SET-W-NOTSET, error modifying DUA0:
-CLI-E-IVDEVTYPE, invalid device type - specify a mailbox device
%SET-W-NOTSET, error modifying DUA0:
-CLI-E-IVDEVTYPE, invalid device type - specify a mailbox device
Starting TCP/IP

inetload: loading configuration file twg$tcp:[netdist.etc]config.net
inetload: Hardware Model #: 25

inetload: Using key 0-uwi7rbw-jlqk2ir-8xmkxoy
inetload: Loading twg$tcp:[netdist.etc]inet.exe (0x2f200 bytes)
inetload: twg$tcp:[netdist.etc]inet.exe loaded and started at 0x8021f600

%%%%%%%%%%% OPCOM 6-JUN-2011 07:58:40.72 %%%%%%%%%%%
Message from user INTERNETWORK on MV3DN
Maximum WIN/TCP memory allocation is 256K

%RUN-S-PROC_ID, identification of created process is 0000010F
%%%%%%%%%%% OPCOM 6-JUN-2011 07:58:51.12 %%%%%%%%%%%
Message from user SYSTEM on MV3DN
enet<->inet: ep0 is XQA with ethernet address aa:0:4:0:2:c

%%%%%%%%%%% OPCOM 6-JUN-2011 07:59:10.54 %%%%%%%%%%%
Message from user DECNET on MV3DN
DECnet event 4.15, adjacency up
From node 3.2 (MV3DN), 6-JUN-2011 07:59:10.54
Circuit QNA-0, Adjacent node = 3.1 (V785DN)


%RUN-S-PROC_ID, identification of created process is 00000110

*******************************************************
* WIN/TCP Network Started Successfully *
*******************************************************

Starting EFTU logical and installation

Starting up EFTU process

%RUN-S-PROC_ID, identification of created process is 00000111
Starting PMS

%DCL-I-SUPERSEDE, previous value of MB$USER has been superseded
%RUN-S-PROC_ID, identification of created process is 00000112
%SET-I-INTSET, login interactive limit = 64, current interactive value = 0
6-JUN-2011 07:59:16
%DECW-W-NODEVICE, No graphics device found on this system
-DECW-I-NODECW, DECwindows graphics drivers will not be loaded
%STARTVWS-I-NOSTART, SYSGEN WINDOW_SYSTEM parameter precludes VWS startup
SYSTEM job terminated at 6-JUN-2011 07:59:19.24

Accounting information:
Buffered I/O count: 1841 Peak working set size: 597
Direct I/O count: 1134 Peak page file size: 3416
Page faults: 18213 Mounted volumes: 1
Charged CPU time: 0 00:00:04.69 Elapsed time: 0 00:00:53.74
Author RE: Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on June 05 2011 21:56
Hi Bruce, guess what? After implementing the serial port fix you suggested, SimH boots successfully and now I can actually log in as a user and access all the software development environment!
Thanks for your help! Not forgetting Martin, whose presence in the OpenVMS forum has been encouraging... Kudos to you guys! smiley
Author RE: Unable to DIR
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on June 06 2011 03:53
Very good. I see you were using the RQDX controller in Charon, so my comments regarding disk naming were a red herring. Sorry for that.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

ChrisChiesa
February 02 2017
What's the status of DECUS memberships? Just found my membership card. :-)

bofh
January 06 2017
Searching for Pathworks 6.0 for DOS & Windows. Anyone have it?

malmberg
December 29 2016
The openvms disks question is frequently answered in the forums, and is not something to ask about in the shout box.

Cmota
December 29 2016
Hello, I am in need of the openvms.disk, but I don't know where to obtain it

moch75
December 26 2016
personal alpha

moch75
December 24 2016
personal alpha+

Shoutbox Archive