Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesTuesday, April 23, 2024
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 6
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,708
Newest Member: nifseg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | Emulated VAX Forum
Author Mounting ISO images on SIMH
Daniel Marin

Posted on October 14 2013 07:07
Greetings,

First of all, I'm a beginner with VAX, OpenVMS and SimH, please keep this in mind.

I have a SIMH VM running with OpenVMS OS fully installed and with Hobbyist licenses already activated. Now, what I've been trying to do is to read the contend of a CD I have, which has a application specifically for VAX-OpenVMS. Of course, I created an ISO 9660 image with this CD, however, an error appears when I try to mount it on OpenVMS. The following are the command I use to mount the unit, and the message displayed (supposed I mount my ISO image on DUA1):

$ mount dua1
_Label: disk03
_Log name: disk03
%%%%%%%% OPCOM 14-OCT-2013 10:34:11.25 %%%%%%%%%
Message from user SYSTEM on DELTAV
incorrect volume label

%Mount-I-OPRQST, incorrect volume label

...And the system request me to mount volume DISK03 in device DUA1. The following are the command I've been using on SIMH:

sim> set rq1 rrd40
sim> attach -r rq1 disk03.iso

I don't know where could be the problem, but I think this problem is because I don't know the volume label of the CD I have, and this label I should type it when I mount the unit. Could be this the problem? If the problem is this, or another (like bad ISO image, bad configuration, etc.), What I should do to fix it?

I'll appreciate any help given.

Regards,

Daniel Marin.
Author RE: Mounting ISO images on SIMH
somersdave

Posted on October 14 2013 10:52