Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, January 16, 2019
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 14
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,247
Newest Member: victornguyen
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | Emulated VAX Forum
Author SIMH Not saving changes to second hard disk?
Spintronic
Member

Posts: 3
Location: Arizona
Joined: 12.03.08
Posted on February 18 2014 07:20
Hi,
I'm new to SIMH and OpenVMS. I'm running simh-4.0-Beta--2014-01-23-9ab6c4d1 on Windows. My vax.ini is setup as follows:

;Load the processor ROM
;load -r /Users/marcus/vax/ka655x.bin
;Create and attach a file for emulated NVRAM
;attach nvr /Users/marcus/vax/nvram.bin
;Give the emulator 64 MB RAM
set cpu 256m
set cpu idle
set throttle 100%
;Define two RA92 drives, largest drives supported on VAX, and a CDROM.
set rq0 ra92
set rq1 ra92
set rq2 cdrom
;Attach defined drives to local files
attach rq0 d0.dsk
attach rq1 d1.dsk
;Attach the CDROM to the VMS iso in read only-mode
attach -r rq2 vms.iso
; Disable unused devices.
set rl disable
set ts disable
;Attach networking. Change en0 to the name of your NIC (eth0 in Linux for instance)
set xq mac=08-00-2B-AA-BB-CC
set CONSOLE TELNET=1
attach xq eth1
;Boot the CPU
SET CPU CONHALT
DEP BDR 0
BOOT CPU
EXIT

I have the most recent OpenVMS VAX system installed successfully. My question is, I mount rq1 with the commands:

$ INITIALIZE DUA1: DATA1
$ MOUNT/SYSTEM DUA1 DATA1

And proceed to transfer files over. When I reboot the system all the files are gone! Am I doing something wrong? rq0 is staying persistent.

Thanks,
Jovan
Author RE: I think I know why
Spintronic
Member

Posts: 3
Location: Arizona
Joined: 12.03.08
Posted on February 18 2014 10:39
Nevemind it's because I keep calling "INITIALIZE DUA1: DATA1" that my data disappears, duh!

Spintronic wrote:
Hi,
I'm new to SIMH and OpenVMS. I'm running simh-4.0-Beta--2014-01-23-9ab6c4d1 on Windows. My vax.ini is setup as follows:

;Load the processor ROM
;load -r /Users/marcus/vax/ka655x.bin
;Create and attach a file for emulated NVRAM
;attach nvr /Users/marcus/vax/nvram.bin
;Give the emulator 64 MB RAM
set cpu 256m
set cpu idle
set throttle 100%
;Define two RA92 drives, largest drives supported on VAX, and a CDROM.
set rq0 ra92
set rq1 ra92
set rq2 cdrom
;Attach defined drives to local files
attach rq0 d0.dsk
attach rq1 d1.dsk
;Attach the CDROM to the VMS iso in read only-mode
attach -r rq2 vms.iso
; Disable unused devices.
set rl disable
set ts disable
;Attach networking. Change en0 to the name of your NIC (eth0 in Linux for instance)
set xq mac=08-00-2B-AA-BB-CC
set CONSOLE TELNET=1
attach xq eth1
;Boot the CPU
SET CPU CONHALT
DEP BDR 0
BOOT CPU
EXIT

I have the most recent OpenVMS VAX system installed successfully. My question is, I mount rq1 with the commands:

$ INITIALIZE DUA1: DATA1
$ MOUNT/SYSTEM DUA1 DATA1

And proceed to transfer files over. When I reboot the system all the files are gone! Am I doing something wrong? rq0 is staying persistent.

Thanks,
Jovan

Edited by Spintronic on February 18 2014 10:40
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

jiml
November 09 2018
Thank you , Malmberg ! Exactly what I was hoping for . Reset key & all is well . JImL

malmberg
November 09 2018
Eisner was upgraded to the current Multinet Release. As part of that a new host key was generated. The old key was incompatible with newer Linux.

jiml
November 02 2018
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ?

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


Shoutbox Archive