Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, September 28, 2020
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 8
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,517
Newest Member: Greg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | Emulated VAX Forum
Author simh networking tuntap no success
valdirfranco
Member

Posts: 73
Location: Indaiatuba-SP/Brazil
Joined: 18.06.08
Posted on December 20 2014 15:27
Hi, forum.

After a few years out, I decided to put simh-vax up again.
Since my old files were lost on an old desktop, now I am setting simh-vax on a laptop with eth0
and wlan0, as network interfaces.
My first goal was just to put vax-vms running again. That's ok. VAX-VMS073 with ethernet support
installed.
Now, trying to get telnet working, after insert licenses and install tcpip, I stuck with
simh networking again.
Following docs on simh-3.9 (readme_ethernet-howto), I did:

-my LAN 192.168.25.0 - wlan0 192.168.25.23 - eth0 not in use.
-linux side:
-after setting up a tuntap tap0 is available.
-bridging: br0 ip address 192.168.25.100/24 with eth0(ip 0.0.0.0) and tap0(ip 0.0.0.0)

-(simh)vax-vms side:
-xqa0 attached to eth0 (QE0 ip 192.168.25.200) and xqb0 attached
to tap:tap0 (QE1 ip 192.168.25.220). No success.

I've checked and tryied to set QE0 to ip 0.0.0.0, with no success (invalid address under vms).
So I cant figure out how to put vms talking to host via tcpip. Even after several trying on
bridging.
Any help welcome.
thanks.

marx


marx
39575927
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 570
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on December 21 2014 04:08
Is the adapter defined correctly in the SimH config file. Use "sh xq eth" to show available adapters, the "attach xq" to define the adapter on the virtual VAX.

Make sure DECnet and TCPIP are shutdown or not started.

If you are using DECnet, set it up first: $ @NETCONFIG.COM

Once DECnet is working set up TCP/IP: $ @UCX$CONFIG or TCPIP$CONFIG
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
valdirfranco
Member

Posts: 73
Location: Indaiatuba-SP/Brazil
Joined: 18.06.08
Posted on December 21 2014 11:15
Hi.
I'm not using DECNet, just TCPIP. And the adapters are "defined" and "attached" correctly (I suppose to):

;
; Attach Ethernet to a network interface
;**
set xq enabled
set xq type=DELQA
set xq mac=08-00-2B-AA-BB-CC
attach xq0 eth0
;
set xqb enabled
set xqb type=DELQA
set xqb mac=08-00-2B-AA-BB-CE
attach xqb0 tap:tap0

At the first time I run simh/vax-vms (few years ago) version was in 2.38 or something. I had to use a small program taptap.c. But now with version 3.9 I did understand that is no need to use taptap.c, or I misunderstood...

On VMS side, first I assign IP to both adapters XQA0 and XQB0 (QE0 and QE1) on same subnet.

No success at all.

greetings


marx
Edited by valdirfranco on December 21 2014 11:48
39575927
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 570
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on December 22 2014 03:19
I run SimH under Windows, so that's my diagnostic perspective.

What do you get with a sh xq eth?

The Windows version of simH has a non-network and network release. The network release uses WinPcap. Are you running a release with networking built in?

Have you confirmed eth0 works properly on the host side?

Who's VMS TCP/IP services are you using: Digital, TCPware, Multinet, other?
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
valdirfranco
Member

Posts: 73
Location: Indaiatuba-SP/Brazil
Joined: 18.06.08
Posted on December 23 2014 06:45
Hi...
Service running are just FTP and TELNET
Using vde simh connects to host, although cant reach outside the LAN. Besides, traffic became a little heavy
This is the show xq eth output (simh).

sim> sh xq eth
ETH devices:
eth0 eth0 (No description available)
eth1 wlan0 (No description available)
eth2 tap0 (No description available)
eth3 br0 (No description available)
eth4 tap:tapN (Integrated Tun/Tap support)
eth5 vdesmileyevice (Integrated VDE support)
eth6 udp:sourceport:remotehost:remoteport (Integrated UDP bridge support)
Open ETH Devices:
XQ eth0 (No description available)
Ethernet Device:
Name: eth0
Reflections: 0
Self Loopbacks Sent: 2
Self Loopbacks Rcvd: 0
Host NIC Address: (removido)
Packets Sent: 3
Asynch Interrupts: Disabled
Read Queue: Count: 0
Read Queue: High: 0
Read Queue: Loss: 0
Peak Write Queue Size: 1
BPF Filter: (((ether dst 08:00:2B:AA:BB:CC)))
XQB tap:tap0 (No description available)
Ethernet Device:
Name: tap0
Reflections: 0
Self Loopbacks Sent: 2
Self Loopbacks Rcvd: 0
Packets Sent: 3
Asynch Interrupts: Disabled
Read Queue: Count: 0
Read Queue: High: 0
Read Queue: Loss: 0
Peak Write Queue Size: 1
sim>

regards




marx
39575927
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 570
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on December 24 2014 03:37
If you configure eth0 within linux, can you communicate with it?
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
valdirfranco
Member

Posts: 73
Location: Indaiatuba-SP/Brazil
Joined: 18.06.08
Posted on December 26 2014 16:58
yes...pinging any IP assign to eth0 is replyed. I keep trying ...


marx
39575927
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 570
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on December 27 2014 04:20
Have you tried using one of the other NICs: eth1, eth2, etc?
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
valdirfranco
Member

Posts: 73
Location: Indaiatuba-SP/Brazil
Joined: 18.06.08
Posted on December 27 2014 06:22
No... physical just eth0 and wlan0.
Added tap0 and used together eth0 into a bridge with IP 192.168.25.100/24, assigning eth0 and tap0 with IP 0.0.0.0.
Since the basic steps didnt work, I did some modification and checked results:
At vms side assigned IP to eth0(QE0) 192.168.25.200/24 and tap0(QE1) 192.168.25.220/24. Failed.
So, assigned IP (linux side) eth0 with 192.168.25.120, keeping tap0 with 0.0.0.0, Failed.
Changed (linux side) eth0 to IP 10.0.0.1/24 and (vms side) QE0(xq0<--eth0) with 10.0.0.2/24. Failed.
Deleted QE0(vms) keeping QE1 with IP 192.168.25.220/24.Failed.
Although traffic gets a bit heavy, using vde simh-vax/vms runs ok, but no outside (internet) connection is reached.

...




marx
39575927
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 570
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on December 28 2014 04:10
I suspect there is a problem using a single NIC for both the host O/S and VMS. However, I don't know Linux well enough to suggest anything. Can a separate system ping the VMS system when it is running?
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
valdirfranco
Member

Posts: 73
Location: Indaiatuba-SP/Brazil
Joined: 18.06.08
Posted on December 30 2014 13:30
Just for verification, I did a NetBSD/vax installation with the same virtual machine (simh39) that was used to VMS73. Net adapter eth0 bridged with virt. tap0, under bridge br0, with IP from lan 192.168.25.0 (with same steps as followed to put vms network up). Connecting via ssh from linux to vax (netbsd) and ...voilá...connection established. So, I think there is a misconfiguration with VMS. I have to check it out.
Meanwhile, I have to choose vde, even if network traffic gets a bit heavy.




marx
39575927
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 570
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on December 31 2014 03:42
Walk through the entire TCPIP$CONFIG.COM process, taking both All options. That should clear up any configuration issues.
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
Alan Fay
Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01.04.15
Posted on April 02 2015 06:59
I run SIMH V3.9 on linux (Linux Mint 16 Petra) and tun/tap network devices work just fine. They are
more efficient and in my experience are much more reliable than directly libpcap’ing the physical
ethernet device. The nice thing about tun/tap network devices is you can run multiple instances of
SIMH on the same system and each instance can connect to the host, each other and the internet.

Make the VAX executable with the following defines:

make vax USE_READER_THREAD=1 USE_NETWORK=1 USE_TAP_NETWORK=1 USE_INT64=1

USE_NETWORK enable networking
USE_TAP_NETWORK enable tun/tap devices
USE_INT64 enable larger disk sizes such as:

8GB system disks:

set rq0 ra92
set -L rq0 rauser=16777216
attach rq0 dua0.dsk

16GB data disks:

set rqc0 ra92
set -L rqc0 rauser=33553408
attach rqc0 duc0.dsk

I’m connecting eth2 to the bridge because the system is headless and I don’t want to lose connectivity:

brctl addbr br0
ifconfig eth2 0.0.0.0
ifconfig br0 192.168.1.21 up
brctl addif br0 eth2
brctl setfd br0 0
tunctl -t tap0
brctl addif br0 tap0
ifconfig tap0 up

The bridge br0 acts as a switch/hub to eth2 for the connected tap0 network device, only packets
with the SIMH mac=addr will be sent to tap0. We set the bridge to have the same IP that eth2 had
because when it is attached to the bridge it loses its IP.

Start simh (mvax) with:

./mvax vax.ini

where vax.ini contains:

set xq mac=08-00-2B-AA-BB-CC
attach xq tap:tap0

sim> sh vers
VAX simulator V3.9-0 [64b data, 64b addresses, Ethernet support]
sim>

You can start other instances of SIMH running OpenVMS, OpenBSD, etc. each instance requires
its own tapN network device which can be added to the bridge/switch/hub. Each SIMH instance
must have a unique set xq mac=addr.

Alan
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
valdirfranco
Member

Posts: 73
Location: Indaiatuba-SP/Brazil
Joined: 18.06.08
Posted on April 22 2015 13:51
Hi,
I already run simh under ubuntu, now trying it on slackware (my first and favorite distro, besides another machine with mint).
I'll review all steps I did, and try it again.
Thanks.



marx
39575927
Author RE: Re: simh networking
tolcherme
Member

Posts: 4
Location: UK GU34
Joined: 23.03.10
Posted on August 28 2015 04:34
This might help (worked for me) and I've managed to get multiple instances of simh running with one physical NIC - using both ECnet and TCP/IP

https://mike632t.wordpress.com/2014/03/23/networking-with-simh-qemu/
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
tolcherme
Member

Posts: 4
Location: UK GU34
Joined: 23.03.10
Posted on August 28 2015 04:34
This might help (worked for me) and I've managed to get multiple instances of simh running with one physical NIC - using both ECnet and TCP/IP

https://mike632t.wordpress.com/2014/03/23/networking-with-simh-qemu/


Mike T.
Author RE: simh networking tuntap no success
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 520
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on August 28 2015 14:36
I run SimH/VAX in a VM that is dedicated to it. Gives me one ethernet adapter dedicated to a internal network bridge and one dedicated ethernet adapter bridged to the home LAN.

I plan to experiment with using Linux Containers to provide the ethernet to SimH/VAX.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

jiml
July 11 2020
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ? Of WHO can we ask that somewhere on the eisner webpage they

wyan
May 06 2020
Turns out I had an account here, it still was set to my location a decade ago, so hey, I'm back after over a decade!

Hein
April 21 2020
Hi all, haven't been here in years. Good to see it is all there still. I'm looking around at the forum to stop/start msipcap - 'could not be stopped' - for now. I'll shutdown FreeA

EstesDave
January 09 2020
does anyone have or know of DRB32 manuals

romaxmaniax
November 04 2019
V6.1

romaxmaniax
November 04 2019
openvms 6.1

jmvms
September 27 2019
does anyone know if you can boot an alpha es80 from the OPC panel on the front of the box

mgssnr
June 21 2019
FYI, the "OpenVMS Developers and Solutions Partnerts" link http://h21007.www2.hp.com
/ doesn't work.


DTL
June 16 2019
The URL for the Trivia Quiz is erroneoux. Spaces should be removed. Correct link is http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/downloads/digital_t
imeline_trivia_quiz.ppt


urbancamo
May 16 2019
DEC Legacy is back on 9th-10th Nov 2019, Windermere UK, see http://wickensonline.co.u
k/declegacy/ for more details


JonathanBelanger
May 09 2019
We need a new poll.

Shoutbox Archive