Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, October 17, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 14
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,216
Newest Member: aarons
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | FreeAXP
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Author RE: Network issues with PersonalAlpha container
VolkerHalle
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 96
Location: Germany
Joined: 02.04.10
Posted on May 21 2010 04:28
Gremlin,

you're running DECnet-OSI, so NCP is the wrong tool ! Use MC NCL SHOW ROUTING CIRCUIT * ALL to see the state of your routing circuit. I bet it's off, because the underlying CSMA-CD STATION is still set to use ESA0 (instead of EWA0). SDA> SHOW LAN will show the protocols active on your LAN device. Look for DECNETV and DECNET in the Client column ...

The fact that this node builds a cluster of it's own seems to indicate, that it does not see any cluster hello messages from another cluster node on the same LAN with the same cluster group number.

Check with SDA> SHOW LAN/COUNTER if the node is receiving any messages at all, this data is per protocol (i.e. SCS; DECNETV, ARP, IP etc.).

There is nothing like an 'OpenVMS PersonalAlpha image'. You can boot an OpenVMS system disk on ANY system of the correct architecture. You may need to adapt your configuration to the underlying hardware (or emulator). If you're clever enough, you can even do this with some IF F$GETDVI(...) statements dynamically during boot in SYLOGICALS.COM or SYSCONFIG.COM.

I can boot my OpenVMS .vdisk on my notebook with PersonalAlpha or FreeAXP alternatively and have a working environment (including an IP address received via DHCP).

So if you say your .vdisk works correctly with PersonalAlpha (using ESA0) and it doesn't work with FreeAXP (.271) (using EWA0), then you need to systematically troubleshoot the network stacks.

Volker.
http://www.invenate.de
Author RE: Network issues with PersonalAlpha container
gremlin
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on May 21 2010 23:00
Hi

Thanks for the info, it is well beyond my skill to trace in detail. I had hoped that I could pick up the image and run it under FreeAXP - clearly I can't without significant modification to cater for underlying network differences between PA and FreeAXP - no problem at all.

I guess that the best option would be to build clusters under either PA or FreeAXP and not try to "migrate" images from one to the other?

Cheers
Author RE: Network issues with PersonalAlpha container
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 506
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on May 22 2010 11:51
How about running NET$CONFIGURE.COM and rebuilding the DECnet configuration for EWA0. Be sure to shutdown TCP/IP services before initiating DECnet. Then run TCPIP$CONFIG.COM to set up TCP/IP services on EWA0.
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive