Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSaturday, December 15, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 13
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,239
Newest Member: liu000888
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | FreeAXP
Author network problem with freeaxp
biswa_ju1
Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 23.12.10
Posted on February 04 2011 17:05
Recently I have faced a problem on the virtualization of OpenVMS 7.1 to a windows computer with the help of FreeAXP. In our power plant we use OpenVMS 7.1-1H1 (hp make) as an operating system and to control the process we are using PMS 2.2 which is an application on OpenVMS. Now I have installed OpenVMS 7.1-1H1 ON 255 alpha workstation and created a network with windows computer (in which freeaxp is running and having two network cards). I have disabled

1) Client for Microsoft network
2) File and Printer Sharing
3) Internet protocol version 4(TCP/IP) from one network card (in windows computer).

And I have given

255 workstation decnet= 1.32 ip= 172.16.6.32 subnet 255.255.0.0

Wndows computer(one network card) ip =172.16.6.34subnet mask=255.255.0.0


Windows computer (second network card) ip=172.16.6.33subnet mask=255.255.0.0
And decnet=1.33


I have given the ip and subnet mask in the second network card with the help of freeexp
And @UCX$CONFIG.COM

On 255 workstation (pinging)
I get reply from 172.16.6.34(windows computer) but did not get any reply from 172.16.6.33 (freeaxp is running).

From windows computer, it is possible to enter inside the 255 workstation by telnet
(Telnet 172.16.6.32).

But from freeaxp (after booting dka0)(in dka0 I have installed OpenVMS 7.1-1H1),
When I have given
Ucx>ping 172.16.6.32 and get error message

When I gave
$ Sh dev
Then I noticed that ewa0 (network card) was offline on freeaxp.

My requirement is to enter 255 workstation from freeaxp with set host and then take image backup of disk dka0 (from workstation) and restore it to dka100 on freeaxp.(windows computer).Is it possible?

My another question
Is it possible to load color full Graphics on freeaxp?
Author RE: network problem with freeaxp
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 508
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on February 05 2011 16:44
Try changing the DE500 to a DE435. Versions of VMS prior to 7.2 work better with the DE435.

An image backup across a DECnet network is feasible. OpenVMS and DECnet will need to be running on the 255 workstation and FreeAXP. A backup command similar to this should work:

$ BACKUP /IGNORE=INTERLOCK /IMAGE DKA0: FREEAXP::DKA100:SYSTEM_255.BCK /SAVE



Edited by Bruce Claremont on February 05 2011 16:45
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

jiml
November 09 2018
Thank you , Malmberg ! Exactly what I was hoping for . Reset key & all is well . JImL

malmberg
November 09 2018
Eisner was upgraded to the current Multinet Release. As part of that a new host key was generated. The old key was incompatible with newer Linux.

jiml
November 02 2018
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ?

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


Shoutbox Archive