Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, April 23, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,098
Newest Member: amacmahon
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | FreeAXP
Author Error when copying information from DVD-R
srallen87
Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 04.08.11
Posted on August 09 2011 03:10
I'm running freeaxp on windows vista, I have a .sav file I am attempting to copy over. Every time I try, I get the following error:
Error opening dka100:[000000]backup.sav;1
-RMS-F-ALQ, invalid allocation quantity (negative, or 0 on $extend)

I apologize for asking so many questions.
Author RE: Error when copying information from DVD-R
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on August 09 2011 03:34
It looks like a file or file header corruption problem. Try an ANALYZE/RMS on the file.
Author RE: Error when copying information from DVD-R
srallen87
Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 04.08.11
Posted on August 10 2011 03:02
Well I ran the command, only to find out that the .sav file is compressed. Could it be an issue between it being compressed and then transferred to a windows machine? I tried to use the .sav uncompressed and come to find out it was too big for the iso file format. I was thinking I could inject the file into one of the virtual disks I have, but I haven't been able to find a way to do this.
Author RE: Error when copying information from DVD-R
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on August 10 2011 15:06
Can you provide details on where and how the .sav file was created? Is it a VMS backup save set or something else?
Author RE: Error when copying information from DVD-R
srallen87
Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 04.08.11
Posted on August 12 2011 04:00
I backed it up from my VMS Machine using VMS. It created a compressed save set, then I FTP'd it to a windows machine using binary. Then I burned it to a disc using cdxp . This is the second time I've done it and I'm still having issues.
Author RE: Error when copying information from DVD-R
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on August 13 2011 05:41
What command did you use to create the save set?
Author RE: Error when copying information from DVD-R
drew77
Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 18.08.11
Posted on August 18 2011 04:49
I am working with allen on this.

we used the backup/image command.
Author RE: Error when copying information from DVD-R
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on August 18 2011 05:25
Okay, when you FTP'd the save set its file structure gets modified. This is a common issue when using FTP to move save sets. It can be corrected once the save set is back on a VMS system using the following procedure:

$! RESET_BACKUP_SAVESET_ATTRIBUTES.COM
$!
$! P1 is the specification of the BACKUP
$!
$! This procedure resets the record format and
$! length attributes of a BACKUP saveset --
$! can get "broken" during certain sorts of
$! transfers -- such as FTP. This procedure reads
$! (undocumented) saveset record attributes
$! out of the target
$!
$! First render the saveset readable, and
$! check that the file exists.
$!
$ Set File /Attributes=(RFM:FIX,MRS:512,LRL=512,ORG=SEQ,RAT=NONE) 'p1'
$!
$ Open/Error=whoops/Read BckSaveset 'p1'
$ Read/Error=whoops/End=whoops BckSaveset Record
$ Close/Nolog BckSaveset
$!
$! Find the blocksize from within the record...$
$ BlockSize = 0
$ BBH_L_BLOCKSIZE = %x28*8
$ BlockSize = F$CVUI(BBH_L_BLOCKSIZE, 32, Record)
$ If BlockSize .lt. 2048 .or. BlockSize .gt. 65535
$ Then
$ Write sys$output "Unexpected block
$ Goto whoops
$ Else
$ Set File /Attributes=(RFM:FIX,LRL='BlockSize', MRS='BlockSize',RAT=none) 'p1'
$ endif
$ exit
$!
$WHOOPS:
$ Write sys$output "Error"
$ exit




See these links for more information:
http://labs.hoffmanlabs.com/node/684
http://h71000.www7.hp.com/openvms/freeware/backup.html
Edited by Bruce Claremont on August 18 2011 05:26
Author RE: Error when copying information from DVD-R
srallen87
Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 04.08.11
Posted on August 30 2011 02:30
Thanks so much for that! But now the issue I'm running into is that the cd is writelock, so I cannot modify the attributes of the file. I've been using google like a fiend today in hopes to find a way to inject a file into a openvms virtual disk, but I have come back with nothing.

I was thinking I could inject the file Into a virtual disk, then use the script to repair it. It's the only thing I can think of.

Thanks for all your help!
Author RE: Error when copying information from DVD-R
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on August 30 2011 04:00
FTP the file from Windows into the VMS system.
Author RE: Error when copying information from DVD-R
Marc
Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 05.01.08
Posted on September 12 2011 18:38
srallen87 wrote:
Thanks so much for that! But now the issue I'm running into is that the cd is writelock, so I cannot modify the attributes of the file. I've been using google like a fiend today in hopes to find a way to inject a file into a openvms virtual disk, but I have come back with nothing.

If I'm reading your posts correctly, you burned a regular data DVD (as opposed to a VMS-formatted one). In which case, you can modify the attributes of otherwise unformatted files on the disc.

I don't recall the exact format of the command, but I'm hoping that this will give you a head start.

$ MOUNT/MEDIA_FORMAT=CDROM/UNDEFINED_FAT=FIXED:NONE:32256 device label

This should then present the files on the CD using the specified file attributes. I don't know if the block-size is correct - you may need to tweak that value.

Note -- I'm going from memory that's about a decade old since I last used VMS in production. I could be completely off-base here.
Edited by Marc on September 12 2011 18:39
Author RE: Error when copying information from DVD-R
Guenther
Member

Posts: 6
Location: Colorado
Joined: 27.11.10
Posted on September 15 2011 11:19
What did you do? Step-by-step...

So far I know you created a BACKUP save set. Where does the 'compressed' come in? Did you create a .zip from the save set?

Then you burned a DVD. On OpenVMS? Or, did you FTP 'the file' from OpenVMS to Windows and the burned it on Windows?

Then when did you get the RMS-F-ALQ error? Using BACKUP to restore from the save set on the DVD? Or, trying to COPY the file off the DVD?

It's hard to guess what you really did...and frustrating not to get all the details.

/Guenther
Edited by Guenther on September 15 2011 11:20
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

Shoutbox Archive