Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, January 19, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 8
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,021
Newest Member: pd123d
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | FreeAXP
Author FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 21
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 06 2017 16:24
I suppose this may be a VirtualBox/FreeAXP problem...

On an OSX 10.13.1 host, I have installed VirtualBox and created a VM with two NICs and loaded Windows10 into the VM; then installed FreeAXP on that. Within Windows10, one of the NICs has all Windows clients removed in Properties.

Windows sees and can use both NICs; FreeAXP cannot "see" either NIC. Choosing Bridged or NAT within VirtualBox makes no difference. The only option for connecting the DE500 is "Dummy Network".

Would appreciate some help please smiley
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 07 2017 02:38
What version of FreeAXP is installed?

Best I can suggest at the moment is re-install FreeAXP and see if it picks up the NICs.
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 21
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 07 2017 10:05
FreeAXP was downloaded three days ago, so current version I guess - 3.0.0.614

I have uninstalled, rebooted and reinstalled twice, and it still doesn't pick up any adapter. I have also bridged the two NICs, on the off chance that it will pick up the bridge adapter...it doesn't smiley
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 08 2017 02:30
Try FreeAXP 598 and see if it sees the NICs. If not, I am stumped at present.
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 21
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 08 2017 11:00
Uninstalled 614, rebooted windows, installed 598, rebooted windows, ran 598 and...didn't detect any adapter. Both VirtualBox adapters happily talking to other devices on the local network and also out to the internet... smiley

The two choices in the NIC interface dropdown are "dummy network" and " Invalid adapter: ask".
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 09 2017 02:20
Two questions:

1) Is this 32 or 64-bit Windows 10?

2) Can you test on an older version of Windows?
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 21
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 09 2017 11:06
1 - unsure...64bit VirtualBox container, W10 says 32bit on 64bit CPU.

2 - same behaviour with Win8.1 on VirtualBox where W8.1 says 32bit on 64bit CPU.

Despite multiple installs, can't get a Windows install on VirtualBox to say 64bit on 64bit CPU, despite having install DVD that contains both media...
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 10 2017 02:45
My next suggestion was going to be try a 64-bit version of Windows. Have you tested under Bootcamp?
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 21
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 10 2017 10:36
I am not prepared to install Bootcamp, for a variety of reasons.

I guess that there is just something odd happening, I can use the emulator but without any network functionality smiley
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 13 2017 05:56
FreeAXP filters the network adapter list before presenting it to the end user. Our best guess at this point is that something in the way Virtualbox is presenting the adapters is causing the filter to reject them from the usable list.

Under Start> All Programs> Accessories> System Tools you will find the System Information application. Open System Information and drill down to Components> Network> Adapter. Please post the contents of the Adapter page.
Edited by Bruce Claremont on November 13 2017 05:58
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 21
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 13 2017 12:00
Tried to include a screen snapshot - can't seem to...

Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapter
Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapter #2
Microsoft Networtk Adapter Multiplexor Driver
WAN Miniport (IKEv2)
WAN Miniport (IP)
WAN Miniport (IPv6)
WAN Miniport (L2TP)
WAN Miniport (Network Monitor)
WAN Miniport (PPOE)
WAN Miniport (PPTP)
WAN Miniport (SSTP)
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 14 2017 02:53
There is a Print function under the File menu in the System Information tool. I need to see all of the details for each adapter. I'll PM you an email address to send the information to.
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 15 2017 02:01
Output received. Thanks. We'll have a look and see what we can figure out.
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 15 2017 03:17
It looks like you have teamed the NICs. I see a Microsoft Network Adapter Multiplexor Driver with an IP assigned while the Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapters have no IP assigned.

Try this. Remove the Multiplexor. Allow all Windows default network functions on one of the Intel NICs. Re-install FreeAXP to force a refresh of the NIC list. See if both Intel NICs show up in the configuration utility NIC list.

FYI: Once you can see the NICs, it is sometimes necessary to treat virtual NICs like a wireless NIC. See sections 10.9 and 10.7 in the User Guide.
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 21
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 15 2017 10:49
I originally had the drives unbridged, as that didn't work, I found an article bout bridging them and trying to use the bridge adapter.

I have tried with both NICs in their default config, and one in default and the other with everything removed (MS client, IP4 and 6 etc.), but that didn't work either...
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 485
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 16 2017 01:53
Ok, we shall continue our research.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

ChrisChiesa
February 02 2017
What's the status of DECUS memberships? Just found my membership card. :-)

bofh
January 06 2017
Searching for Pathworks 6.0 for DOS & Windows. Anyone have it?

malmberg
December 29 2016
The openvms disks question is frequently answered in the forums, and is not something to ask about in the shout box.

Cmota
December 29 2016
Hello, I am in need of the openvms.disk, but I don't know where to obtain it

moch75
December 26 2016
personal alpha

moch75
December 24 2016
personal alpha+

Shoutbox Archive