Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, April 22, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,098
Newest Member: amacmahon
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | FreeAXP
Author FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 06 2017 16:24
I suppose this may be a VirtualBox/FreeAXP problem...

On an OSX 10.13.1 host, I have installed VirtualBox and created a VM with two NICs and loaded Windows10 into the VM; then installed FreeAXP on that. Within Windows10, one of the NICs has all Windows clients removed in Properties.

Windows sees and can use both NICs; FreeAXP cannot "see" either NIC. Choosing Bridged or NAT within VirtualBox makes no difference. The only option for connecting the DE500 is "Dummy Network".

Would appreciate some help please smiley
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 07 2017 02:38
What version of FreeAXP is installed?

Best I can suggest at the moment is re-install FreeAXP and see if it picks up the NICs.
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 07 2017 10:05
FreeAXP was downloaded three days ago, so current version I guess - 3.0.0.614

I have uninstalled, rebooted and reinstalled twice, and it still doesn't pick up any adapter. I have also bridged the two NICs, on the off chance that it will pick up the bridge adapter...it doesn't smiley
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 08 2017 02:30
Try FreeAXP 598 and see if it sees the NICs. If not, I am stumped at present.
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 08 2017 11:00
Uninstalled 614, rebooted windows, installed 598, rebooted windows, ran 598 and...didn't detect any adapter. Both VirtualBox adapters happily talking to other devices on the local network and also out to the internet... smiley

The two choices in the NIC interface dropdown are "dummy network" and " Invalid adapter: ask".
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 09 2017 02:20
Two questions:

1) Is this 32 or 64-bit Windows 10?

2) Can you test on an older version of Windows?
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 09 2017 11:06
1 - unsure...64bit VirtualBox container, W10 says 32bit on 64bit CPU.

2 - same behaviour with Win8.1 on VirtualBox where W8.1 says 32bit on 64bit CPU.

Despite multiple installs, can't get a Windows install on VirtualBox to say 64bit on 64bit CPU, despite having install DVD that contains both media...
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 10 2017 02:45
My next suggestion was going to be try a 64-bit version of Windows. Have you tested under Bootcamp?
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 10 2017 10:36
I am not prepared to install Bootcamp, for a variety of reasons.

I guess that there is just something odd happening, I can use the emulator but without any network functionality smiley
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 13 2017 05:56
FreeAXP filters the network adapter list before presenting it to the end user. Our best guess at this point is that something in the way Virtualbox is presenting the adapters is causing the filter to reject them from the usable list.

Under Start> All Programs> Accessories> System Tools you will find the System Information application. Open System Information and drill down to Components> Network> Adapter. Please post the contents of the Adapter page.
Edited by Bruce Claremont on November 13 2017 05:58
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 13 2017 12:00
Tried to include a screen snapshot - can't seem to...

Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapter
Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapter #2
Microsoft Networtk Adapter Multiplexor Driver
WAN Miniport (IKEv2)
WAN Miniport (IP)
WAN Miniport (IPv6)
WAN Miniport (L2TP)
WAN Miniport (Network Monitor)
WAN Miniport (PPOE)
WAN Miniport (PPTP)
WAN Miniport (SSTP)
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 14 2017 02:53
There is a Print function under the File menu in the System Information tool. I need to see all of the details for each adapter. I'll PM you an email address to send the information to.
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 15 2017 02:01
Output received. Thanks. We'll have a look and see what we can figure out.
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 15 2017 03:17
It looks like you have teamed the NICs. I see a Microsoft Network Adapter Multiplexor Driver with an IP assigned while the Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapters have no IP assigned.

Try this. Remove the Multiplexor. Allow all Windows default network functions on one of the Intel NICs. Re-install FreeAXP to force a refresh of the NIC list. See if both Intel NICs show up in the configuration utility NIC list.

FYI: Once you can see the NICs, it is sometimes necessary to treat virtual NICs like a wireless NIC. See sections 10.9 and 10.7 in the User Guide.
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on November 15 2017 10:49
I originally had the drives unbridged, as that didn't work, I found an article bout bridging them and trying to use the bridge adapter.

I have tried with both NICs in their default config, and one in default and the other with everything removed (MS client, IP4 and 6 etc.), but that didn't work either...
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on November 16 2017 01:53
Ok, we shall continue our research.
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
gremlin
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 19.04.10
Posted on April 06 2018 02:10
[UPDATE]
The problem was almost certainly that the Windows installations were 32bit...even though I had "forced" a 64bit install.

So, I installed Windows Server 2016 64bit and - bingo - interface appears and can be configured.

And so now I have an additional/different problem...

The vAlpha has a fixed IP address of 192.168.56.10 on WE0 and it can ping itself and 127.0.0.1; the Windows host running on VirtualBox can also ping the VirtualBox LAN (vboxnet0) of 192.168.56.254 . The vAlpha can't ping any other IP address. Within the vAlpha, TCP is configured to use 192.168.56.254 as its router/gateway; there are no errors in startup.

The Windows host has two NICs, one is configured with all services (including TCPIP) unbound/unchecked and it is this NIC that is configured in FreeAXP as the DE500.

Clearly I am doing something wrong, but I can't figure out what it is...
Author RE: FreeAXP on VirtualBox Windows10 on OSX - NIC problem
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on April 06 2018 03:11
Take a look at sections 10.7, 10.9, and 10.10 in the User Guide. Also, you say IPV4 is enabled on the Windows side of the NIC used by FreeAXP. Make sure the IP address assigned on the Windows side does not conflict with the 192.168.56.10 address used by the FreeAXP system.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

Shoutbox Archive