Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, April 25, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,101
Newest Member: wew9630
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | FreeAXP
Author Using PersonalAlpha, Charon, and other container files
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on March 18 2010 12:22
PersonalAlpha and Charon container files will work just fine with FreeAXP, as will container files created for SimH VAX or for the VMS LDDRIVER.

If you are attempting to boot a PersonalAlpha or CHARON-AXP system container file using FreeAXP, you may need to make the following changes to achieve a successful boot:

Disable any CHARON utilities like the Idle Loop or Accelerator. As with real Alpha hardware, these extensions will cause a boot check in OpenVMS.

PersonalAlpha's NIC device shows up as ESA0. FreeAXP's NIC device shows up as EWA0. If booting from a PersonalAlpha image, you may need to reconfigure Ethernet, LAT, and DECnet.
Author RE: A Note on AdvFS domains types, and on small containers
John Manger
Moderator

User Avatar

Posts: 51
Location: nr Heathrow, Middlesex, UK
Joined: 18.03.10
Posted on March 18 2010 22:05
Don't forget when moving container files between emulators, that Tru64 UNIX V4 and V5 use different formats for AdvFs domains. An AdvFs domain created under V5.X as type '4' can't be read under V4.0x which only understands type '3' domains. If you are unsure of which AdVfs domain type you have, showfdmn(8) will tell you.

If you need 'small' legacy disks less than 1G in capacity, such as the RZ24, RZ24L, RZ25, RZ25M or RZ35, you'll need to create the containers manually and disklabel them appropriately.

For example, to create an RZ24 sized container: From within Unix create a file exactly 209813504 bytes long (that is 409792 * 512 byte sectors, ~204Mb), then export (copy/ftp) it to the host where the emulator runs. Configure the emulator to see your 'RZ24' as one of its containers, start the emulator and boot Tru64, then find the disk (scu or hwmgr), and disklabel it as an RZ24 something like this :

# disklabel -rw rz2 RZ24
or
# disklabel -rw dsk5 RZ24

John M
Author RE: Using PersonalAlpha, Charon, and other container files
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 500
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on March 19 2010 04:31
SimH is another good way to create container files of any desired size. Review the SET and ATTACH commands in the SimH documentation.

http://simh.trailing-edge.com/
Author RE: How to disable Stromasys IDLE tool
VolkerHalle
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 96
Location: Germany
Joined: 02.04.10
Posted on April 06 2010 22:01
Bruce Claremont wrote:
Disable any CHARON utilities like the Idle Loop or Accelerator. As with real Alpha hardware, these extensions will cause a boot check in OpenVMS.


To be a little bit more specific here:

If the Stromasys IDLE tool (V1.1 or V1.2) is installed on the system disk, which is being booted by FreeAXP, the following will happen:

>>> B DKA0

OpenVMS (TM) Alpha Operating System, Version V7.3-2
Copyright 1976-2003 Hewlett-Packard Development Company,L.P.

halted CPU 0
halt code = 7
machine check while in PAL mode
PC = ede0
>>>

If the SRM environment variable AUTO_ACTION is defined as RESTART, a MCHECKPAL crash will be written and the system will try to reboot.

This happens when the special SYS$IDLE.EXE execlet is being loaded by SYSINIT. It seems to issue the WTINT PAL code instruction, which seems to not be supported by FreeAXP.

The easiest way to prevent SYS$IDLE from being loaded is by clearing bit 0 (SGN$V_LOAD_SYS_IMAGES) in the SYSGEN parameter LOAD_SYS_IMAGES during a conversational boot:

>>> B -fl 0,1 DKA0
SYSBOOT> SHOW LOAD_SYS_IMAGES ! default is 7
SYSBOOT> SET . 6
SYSBOOT> C

This allows the IDLE tool to be easily turned off and on, if you switch the system disk between PersonalAlpha/CHARON and FreeAXP. Note that clearing bit 0 of LOAD_SYS_IMAGES may also disable other alternate execlets specified in VMS$SYSTEM_IMAGES.DATA from being loaded.

If you want to permanently switch to using FreeAXP, you could also completely remove the IDLE tool using: PRODUCT REMOVE IDLE. For additional information, please see SYS$HELP:IDLE*.RELEASE_NOTES

Volker.
http://www.invenate.de
Author RE: Application Failure On FreeAXP
johncookson
Member

Posts: 26
Location: Canada
Joined: 04.12.08
Posted on May 05 2010 04:20
I have just completed my first install of FreeAXP (Beta 271) on a new Core i3 laptop. The laptop is running Win 7 Home premium 64 bit. This is the first emulator installation I have performed on this machine.

Up until now, I have been using PersonalAlpha from Stromasys and have installed PersonalAlpha on several Windows computers under XP, Vista 32 and Win7 32 bit versions.

Not wishing to perform a fresh OpenVMS installation and configuration from scratch for my FreeAXP evaluation, I had used a copy of my existing PersonalAlpha 4gb disk container file (dka0.vdisk). The FreeAXP installation was problem free and I was subsequently able to boot OpenVMS using this container file. I was also able to login using the console and used TCPIP$CONFIG.COM to recognise EWA0 as the NIC device. This allowed me to telnet into the system from another Windows computer on my home network. So far so good..... until I ran into an application I/O related failure.

I have now moved further details on this problem to another thread entitled "%BAS-F-IO_CHANOT problem after moving from PersonalAlpha to FreeAXP"
Edited by johncookson on May 06 2010 02:21
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

Shoutbox Archive