Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, January 22, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,021
Newest Member: pd123d
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyist Licensing | Alpha License PAK's
Author FAQ: Q)When I tried to register my PAK, the checksum failed!
BeanyBoy
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 16.01.06
Posted on January 16 2006 06:47
Hello, I've got an Alpha box I built myself, based around the PC164
motherboard; 500MHz, 128MB of RAM. Latest SRM console for that board.
More details on request.

I got around my issue with the serial number. I
decided to use the Tulip card's MAC address.

But I'm having this problem, to wit:

Q) When I tried to register my PAK, the checksum failed!
A) The most common reason for this is not including both
Termination and Release Dates (as shown on the PAK command
procedure as /DATE= and /TERMINATION). Enter both dates
when using VMSLICENSE and the PAK should register normally.

I'm trying to install OpenVMS for Alpha 7.2.

The install procedure asks me for most of the fields that are
provided for in the PAK, but the install does NOT ask for the
RELEASE DATE, but when it displays what I've entered, it *does*
have a field by that name, which is shown as blanks.

The install also asks for an Availability code and a Product Token,
neither of which is supplied in the PAK. When the install asks for
the product code, I entered OPENVMS-ALPHA, and when it asked for the
version, I enterfed 7.2.

Clearly I'm doing something wrong, what's the right next step?

Tia,
-doug quebbeman
Author
curlsman
Member

Posts: 1
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Joined: 13.12.05
Posted on January 16 2006 12:36
Doug,

At first glance, I would say don't enter anything for version: the version of VMS is not enforced with these PAKs (though some products are).

Though I just got new PAKS for a SIMH VAX, and the release date and termination date where set to the same date - today. So if you where setting the termination date to a year from now, which is what it should be, then validation would fail (I tried...).
Author Registering Licenses
rjj
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 19
Location: Nottingham UK
Joined: 13.12.05
Posted on January 19 2006 11:31
Hi there,

When I registered my licenses, I simply cut the relevant portion of the e-mail and
pasted it into the DCL prompt. saved a lot of typing and avoided trouble with my
wandering fingers!!

This worked fine with my hobbyist PAKs on 7.21

Hope it helps,

Good Luck,

Russell
http://www.jotei.co.uk
Author FAQ: Q)When I tried to register my PAK, the checksum failed!
BeanyBoy
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 16.01.06
Posted on January 20 2006 01:32
Ok,

I managed to get the PAK info typed in correctly, so I'm up.

The cut-and-paste suggestion doesn't seem practical for
a first-time installation on real hardware, though I guess
that would work if installing on an emulator.

So, instead of typing in 104 layered product PAKs, can I
put the PAK file on a floppy and feed that into the system,
and if so, could someone shorten my journey by providing
the relevant magic words?

tia,
-doug q
Author Loading Licenses without lots of typing
rjj
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 19
Location: Nottingham UK
Joined: 13.12.05
Posted on January 21 2006 23:35
Hi Doug,

Now you've got the base licenses on and assuming you've loaded a
TCP/IP stack, I can think of two possibilities here that may help and
avoid having to use floppies.

Download and install the SWB (Mozilla), forward your pak email to
a web based mail client (gmail,hotmail etc..) then you'll be able to cut
and paste. Either directly into DCL or into TPU to be able to save the
pak email as a file. - this would need you to have a graphics head on
your machine.

If you have no graphics head or don't want to install the SWB. Then you
could cut and paste the relevant parts of the email into a text file on
your PC and use FTP to transfer it onto your VMS machine where you can
then edit or run it as you like.

Hope this saves you some work.

Regards,

Russell
http://www.jotei.co.uk
Author Similar Problems with PAK
Anonymous
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 11.12.05
Posted on March 13 2006 22:24
I have a similar problem.

interestingly enough, the release and terminations dates sent me were both 13-mar-2007. Is this correct ?

after 3 hours last night of trying to apply the pak as part of the install, i finally gave up and let the install run through as unlicensed.

so now i have to use the license register program as follows :-

LICENSE REGISTER OPENVMS-ALPHA /ACTIVITY=A /AUTHORIZATION=DECUS-GBR-076170916-890408 /ISSUER=DECUS /PRODUCER=DEC /DATE=13-MAR-2007 /TERMINATION=13-MAR-2007 /OPTION=(NO_SHARE) /HARDWARE_ID=1 /UNITS=0 /CHECKSUM=(hidden for security reasons)

I have tried leaving information out, but always get the bad checksum.
I did register a 2nd time changing the cpu number from 1 to 2 (yeah, my machine also has no serial number) and the hardware_id changed to 2 instead of 1. Does the hardware_id make any difference ?

should i try registering with a [space] in the cpu serial number to try and trick it into a blank serial number ?

or am i missing something soooo obvious that i need to be shot ?

yours in advance
-dave-
Author
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on March 14 2006 07:13
There is a command procedure which may help (if you haven't tried it already). @sys$update:vmslicense. Take option 1 and follow the prompts to register your license.

Assuming you get the license registered correctly,
$license load openvms-alpha
and Bob's your uncle!
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author Woohoo!
DavidDickinson
Member

Posts: 16
Location: Stonehouse, Gloucestershire, England
Joined: 13.03.06
Posted on March 14 2006 11:57
thanks for the advice brad.

didn't need it in the end. I started totally from scratch this evening, it all went on fine this time.

even managed to get it so i can browse the web with the mozilla stuff.

samba next i think smiley

cheers
dave
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

ChrisChiesa
February 02 2017
What's the status of DECUS memberships? Just found my membership card. :-)

bofh
January 06 2017
Searching for Pathworks 6.0 for DOS & Windows. Anyone have it?

malmberg
December 29 2016
The openvms disks question is frequently answered in the forums, and is not something to ask about in the shout box.

Cmota
December 29 2016
Hello, I am in need of the openvms.disk, but I don't know where to obtain it

moch75
December 26 2016
personal alpha

moch75
December 24 2016
personal alpha+

Shoutbox Archive