Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, August 08, 2022
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,660
Newest Member: jdevries
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyist Licensing | Alpha License PAK's
Author data overrun when pasting license pak
sureshot
Member

Posts: 38
Location: Hillsboro Ohio
Joined: 15.02.07
Posted on August 02 2012 04:09
Hello

I thought you could just copy past the pac into the apha. works that way on vax. What am i doing wrong ... Please let me know just switch over to the alpha.

sureshot
[email protected]
prk62
Author RE: data overrun when pasting license pak
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 530
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on August 02 2012 12:31
A buffer overrun means that your terminal emulator is attempting to send data to the emulated VMS system faster than it can take it.

This means when you pasted the text, the emulated VMS system could not read the characters sent to ti. It could be that the handshake problem with the terminal emulator and the emulated VMS system.

The work around is to paste sections of the license file.

Generally I enter just VMS, DECWINDOWS-MOTIF (MOTIF), DVNETEND, AND TCPIP or UCX, and that lets me get enough of the system up that I can use a network connection to copy the rest of the licenses over.
Author RE: data overrun when pasting license pak
dibi58
Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 16.07.11
Posted on December 26 2014 10:39
@malmberg
I tried that, even manually, but (only) on AlphaVM I still get errors. It goes in overflow even with edt after pasting half line. I tried a number of terminals connections, so is not an issue with putty (default.)

$ $ LICENSE REGISTER OPENVMS-ALPHA /ISSUER=DEC /AUTHORIZATION=HOBBYIST-VA-KEY
3$ LICE
%RMS-F-RER, file read error
-SYSTEM-W-DATAOVERUN, data overrun

Anybody has any idea on a workaround on this ? It works just fine on simh and Charon FreeAXP.

Not an issue of host OS, does the same on RH6-64 and Win64.

I would have posted on their forum, if I could find it. I hope somebody has a workaround for this, before writing them:

http://emuvm.com/

I like their emulators, very nice.
Edited by dibi58 on December 26 2014 10:46
Author RE: data overrun when pasting license pak
artem
Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 25.07.12
Posted on December 26 2014 23:57
There are two solutions to your problem:
1. Paste one line at a time. You can use "-" in DCL to split a command in multiple lines.
2. Set RxDelay to something like 10 in the AlphaVM COM port configuration tab. It will delay the reception of characters to make copy-paste work.
Author RE: data overrun when pasting license pak
maveri
Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 23.04.08
Posted on January 16 2015 16:20
I had the same issue, I tried putty and I tried securecrt

What I did is cut and paste the license bits for vms and tcpip to get them registered

Then when I had vms installed I got tcpip running and ftp'd the whole license file in and was able to run it directly which registered everything else fine

Yes, it did involve a bit of fiddling around initially but I got there in the end smiley

Author RE: data overrun when pasting license pak
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 614
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on January 17 2015 02:49
You know, in the days of VT52s and VT100s the license were typed in by hand. It improves your typing skills!
Author RE: data overrun when pasting license pak
scott451
Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03.04.19
Posted on April 04 2019 08:36
I solved this problem using tera term.

Tera term supports both telnet and serial ports. I've used this on both a vlc serial port and a telnet console under simh.


Open your OpenVMS license in notepad.
On the notepad menu bar select:
Edit->Select All
Edit->Copy




now start Tera Term and connect to your vax via TCP or serial port.
Login to your vax and type
$ CREATE LICENSE.TXT



On the Tera Term menu bar select:
Setup->Additional Settings...->Copy and Paste



Set the "paste delay" to 100ms and press "OK"
Again in Tera Term select:

Edit->Paste



When it finishes, press <ctrl>-Z and type:
$ @LICENSE.TXT


Author RE: data overrun when pasting license pak
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 530
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on May 07 2019 13:07
Currently I just type in the minimum license keys to get DECNET up, and then I copy stuff from one of the existing systems.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
August 04 2022
No more VAX hobbyist licenses. Community licenses for Alpha/IA64/X86_64 VMS Software Inc. Commercial VMS software licenses for VAX available from HPE.

ozboomer
July 20 2022
Just re-visiting.. No more hobbyist licenses? Is that from vmssoftware.com, no 'community' licenses?

valdirfranco
July 01 2022
No more hobbyist license...sad

mister_wavey
February 12 2022
I recall that the disks failed on the public access VMS systems that included Fafner

parwezw
January 03 2022
Anyone know what happened to FAFNER.DYNDS.ORG? I had a hobbyist account here but can longer access the site.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

Shoutbox Archive