Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, January 23, 2019
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,250
Newest Member: decourl
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyist Licensing | Alpha License PAK's
Author data overrun when pasting license pak
sureshot
Member

Posts: 37
Location: Hillsboro Ohio
Joined: 15.02.07
Posted on August 02 2012 04:09
Hello

I thought you could just copy past the pac into the apha. works that way on vax. What am i doing wrong ... Please let me know just switch over to the alpha.

sureshot
[email protected]
prk62
Author RE: data overrun when pasting license pak
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 477
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on August 02 2012 12:31
A buffer overrun means that your terminal emulator is attempting to send data to the emulated VMS system faster than it can take it.

This means when you pasted the text, the emulated VMS system could not read the characters sent to ti. It could be that the handshake problem with the terminal emulator and the emulated VMS system.

The work around is to paste sections of the license file.

Generally I enter just VMS, DECWINDOWS-MOTIF (MOTIF), DVNETEND, AND TCPIP or UCX, and that lets me get enough of the system up that I can use a network connection to copy the rest of the licenses over.
Author RE: data overrun when pasting license pak
dibi58
Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 16.07.11
Posted on December 26 2014 10:39
@malmberg
I tried that, even manually, but (only) on AlphaVM I still get errors. It goes in overflow even with edt after pasting half line. I tried a number of terminals connections, so is not an issue with putty (default.)

$ $ LICENSE REGISTER OPENVMS-ALPHA /ISSUER=DEC /AUTHORIZATION=HOBBYIST-VA-KEY
3$ LICE
%RMS-F-RER, file read error
-SYSTEM-W-DATAOVERUN, data overrun

Anybody has any idea on a workaround on this ? It works just fine on simh and Charon FreeAXP.

Not an issue of host OS, does the same on RH6-64 and Win64.

I would have posted on their forum, if I could find it. I hope somebody has a workaround for this, before writing them:

http://emuvm.com/

I like their emulators, very nice.
Edited by dibi58 on December 26 2014 10:46
Author RE: data overrun when pasting license pak
artem
Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 25.07.12
Posted on December 26 2014 23:57
There are two solutions to your problem:
1. Paste one line at a time. You can use "-" in DCL to split a command in multiple lines.
2. Set RxDelay to something like 10 in the AlphaVM COM port configuration tab. It will delay the reception of characters to make copy-paste work.
Author RE: data overrun when pasting license pak
maveri
Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 23.04.08
Posted on January 16 2015 16:20
I had the same issue, I tried putty and I tried securecrt

What I did is cut and paste the license bits for vms and tcpip to get them registered

Then when I had vms installed I got tcpip running and ftp'd the whole license file in and was able to run it directly which registered everything else fine

Yes, it did involve a bit of fiddling around initially but I got there in the end smiley

Author RE: data overrun when pasting license pak
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 508
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on January 17 2015 02:49
You know, in the days of VT52s and VT100s the license were typed in by hand. It improves your typing skills!
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

jiml
November 09 2018
Thank you , Malmberg ! Exactly what I was hoping for . Reset key & all is well . JImL

malmberg
November 09 2018
Eisner was upgraded to the current Multinet Release. As part of that a new host key was generated. The old key was incompatible with newer Linux.

jiml
November 02 2018
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ?

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


Shoutbox Archive