Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, December 14, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 14
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,239
Newest Member: liu000888
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyist Licensing | Alpha License PAK's
Author DS10L License Problem
tenox3
Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 14.11.06
Posted on November 14 2006 09:55
Hi,

I have a DS10L box:

The box on the back say: AY04616169

>>>show fru
FRUname E Part# Serial# Model/Other Alias/Misc
SMB0 00 54-30074-21.0B05 AY04606169 SMB_DS10 COMPAQ

see that there's 0/1 difference.

show cpu/full
shows whatever is set in sys_serial_num
no matter what I set it to and no matter what I put in to CPU Serial Number for license (later in TOKEN) I can't get OPENVMS-ALPHA licensed and I always get:

%LICENSE-E-NOAUTH, DEC OPENVMS-ALPHA use is not authorized on this node
%%%%%%%%%%% OPCOM 14-NOV-2006 20:44:49.26 %%%%%%%%%%%
Message from user SYSTEM on ALPHA
%LICENSE-E-NOAUTH, DEC OPENVMS-ALPHA use is not authorized on this node
-LICENSE-F-NOLICENSE, no license is active for this software product
-LICENSE-I-SYSMGR, please see your system manager


-LICENSE-F-NOLICENSE, no license is active for this software product
-LICENSE-I-SYSMGR, please see your system manager
Startup processing continuing...

I've tried "NONE", empty and both S/N numbers.

Can anyone help?

What puzzles me also is the error message say:
DEC OPENVMS-ALPHA
while the license is for
HP OPENVMS-ALPHA

Can this be a problem?

Thanks,
Antoni
Suite+72,+184+Lr
Author License problem
liviusmaximus
Member

Posts: 5
Location: Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
Joined: 31.12.05
Posted on November 15 2006 15:03
Hi there,

I am going through a trouble when trying to renew my hobbyist
licenses to my Alpha 500au. I have tried vmslicense.com
entering the information one by one but no luck at all.
It keeps reporting cheksum error like:

Here is a list of the license information just entered: (for SIMH)

Issuer: OPENVMS_HOBBYIST
Authorization: HOBBY-USA-xxxxxx-xxxxxx-001
Product Name: VAX-VMS
Producer: HP
Units: 0
Release Date: 11-NOV-2007
Version:
Termination Date: 11-NOV-2007
Availability:
Activity: CONSTANT=100
Options: NO_SHARE
Token: NONE
Hardware ID:
Checksum: 2-BDAO-LAGG-GDFJ-KLAC

Is that correct? [YES]:
Registering VAX-VMS license in SYS$COMMON:[SYSEXE]LMF$LICENSE.LDB...
%LICENSE-F-BADCHK, checksum does not validate for VAX-VMS

My Alpha had been working fine with DECUS as an issuer. Now
hobbyist provide HP as an issuer and license does not work.
I tried replacing it with DECUS instead but no luck.
SIMH running on my RH9 box it is not
accepting the new license as well (see above).
What is the problem with the hobbyist licenses ?
Could anyone provide any clue ?

Thanks and cheers,
Luiz Regis
maximuslivius
Author Wider problem with the new licenses
uusimaki
Member

Posts: 2
Location: Finland
Joined: 16.11.06
Posted on November 16 2006 10:11
Hello guys,

I have tested this license issue and seems that it is a problem with the new type of licenses where the producer is HP and not DEC and they are used on computers running OpenVMS V7.3-2 (that's what I tested. Probably on all versions below V8.x). If you have upgraded to V8.2, there shouldn't be a problem anymore. At least I couldn't reproduce it on that version.
I have reported the issue and am waiting for a solution.

Hopefully this issue will be solved soon and communicated on the OpenVMS Hobbyist home page.


Kari
Author Re: Wider problem with the new licenses
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on November 16 2006 11:18
[quote:2eef695bb0="uusimaki"]Hello guys,

I have tested this license issue and seems that it is a problem with the new type of licenses where the producer is HP and not DEC and they are used on computers running OpenVMS V7.3-2 (that's what I tested. Probably on all versions below V8.x). If you have upgraded to V8.2, there shouldn't be a problem anymore. At least I couldn't reproduce it on that version.
I have reported the issue and am waiting for a solution.
[/quote:2eef695bb0]

I'm working on it. When I re-did the license generation so that I can do the Itanium, the tools are generating HP as the producer. The problem is that only the Itanium recognizes HP as a valid Producer.

I should have it fixed fairly soon. Sorry for the difficulty. smileyops:
Author Re: Wider problem with the new licenses
liviusmaximus
Member

Posts: 5
Location: Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
Joined: 31.12.05
Posted on November 18 2006 15:47
Dear Hobbyist One,

I appreciate if you can broadcast a message just about when you have
the licenses fixed. They are not working so far.

thanks
Livius Maximus
SPQR
maximuslivius
Author
tenox3
Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 14.11.06
Posted on November 23 2006 09:37
Just confirming that looks like the issue has been resolved. I've licensed my box without any problems.

Thanks a lot!!

Antoni
Suite+72,+184+Lr
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

jiml
November 09 2018
Thank you , Malmberg ! Exactly what I was hoping for . Reset key & all is well . JImL

malmberg
November 09 2018
Eisner was upgraded to the current Multinet Release. As part of that a new host key was generated. The old key was incompatible with newer Linux.

jiml
November 02 2018
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ?

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


Shoutbox Archive