Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSaturday, October 20, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 10
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,217
Newest Member: clarencewallace
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyist Licensing | Alpha License PAK's
Author Using Alpha Hobbyist License with personalalpha
johncookson
Member

Posts: 26
Location: Canada
Joined: 04.12.08
Posted on December 04 2008 05:30
Yesterday, I received my OpenVMS Alpha 8.3 Hobbyist CD in the mail and installed the Stromasys PersonalAlpha product on a Windows XP laptop, followed by my Hobbyist OpenVMS stuff. Everything went fairly well and I am up and running nicely.

Before I ask a question on this forum I would first like to express my thanks to those involved in doing all the work on the Hobbyist program. You do a fantastic job and these efforts are very much appreciated by those of us (like me) who benefit.

PersonalAlpha with OpenVMS is accessed using a telnet client, and I am only able to use a single login session on the laptop. Does anyone know if I am correct in assuming this limitation is due to the OpenVMS hobbyist license being restricted to a single login session ?
I am not exactly sure of what limitations are imposed by the Hobbyist license which is the reason for my question.

Thanks

John Cookson (Canada)
Author RE: Using Alpha Hobbyist License with personalalpha
johncookson
Member

Posts: 26
Location: Canada
Joined: 04.12.08
Posted on December 05 2008 03:55
Stephen

Thanks very much for your reply.

I had already loaded the two license PAK's you refer to and when I type
SET LOGINS, I get the following feedback

%SET-I-INTSET, login interactive limit = 64, current interactive value = 1

This surprises me as I would have guessed the Hobbyist distribution would severely limit the number of interactive user logins to avoid the possibility of it being used for commercial purposes.

It may be that the Stromasys personalalpha product is imposing this limit in some way. On personalalpha the Telnet client is setup to connect using the localhost IP address 127.0.0.1 using port 123.
This may have something to do with why I cannot open more than a single telnet connection on the laptop.

Unfortunately, the Stromasys personalalpha forum has been closed (temporarily) since July 2008 owing to spam related problems which makes it difficult to get feedback from other personalalpha users at the present time.

Once again, thank you Stephen, your comments are both helpful and informative
Author RE: Problem solved
johncookson
Member

Posts: 26
Location: Canada
Joined: 04.12.08
Posted on December 12 2008 10:36
This is just to let you know that I have now resolved the
problem of being able to login to personalalpha using multiple
telnet sessions (previously I was only able to login using the
single console boot telnet session).

The key is to Telnet in from a different computer than the one
used to host personalalpha. Of course both windows PC's must be
on the same local area network.

I am not sure about the reason for not being able to login
using Telnet directly on the host machine as I have found it does
work sometimes (But very rarely). I suspect there is a contention
problem with sharing the host system network adaptor.

I also discovered some other good news about personalalpha
which concerns its use on a windows box running the ESET NOD32
antivirus product. There no longer appears to be a problem
with this combination.

Initially I had been disappointed to read that SRI has stated that
personalalpha is not compatible with NOD32, particularly as NOD32
is the best Antivirus/Antispyware product that I have ever used.
Naturally, I had uninstalled NOD32 before using personalalpha
as I was aware of this problem upfront.

I later came across (through google) an old forum posting from one
of the SRI technical staff, stating that NOD32 may work with
personalalpha in the future as he expected that ESET would move
away from using LSP (Layered Service Provider) mechanisms in
their product. Anyway, I ran LSPfix on one of my PC's running NOD32
and there was no LSP detected for NOD32. Upon seeing this, I
reinstalled NOD32 on the box running personalalpha and have
seen no ill effects as a result.

So far, I am very impressed with personalalpha. Running it on
a 3ghz core 2 system with a 7200rpm SATA hard drive, it has very
good performance and is much faster than something like a
MicroVax 3900.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive