Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, January 29, 2023
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 9
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,681
Newest Member: MrManul
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyist Licensing | Alpha License PAK's
Author 2 CPU license
pampreen_d
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 16.07.08
Posted on April 21 2009 15:35
I have a CS20 with a dual CPU alphaserver.

Is there a hobbyist license so I can use both CPU's?

Thanks
Dave
Author RE: 2 CPU license
martinv2
Member

Posts: 107
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on April 22 2009 01:51
The OpenVMS-Alpha hobbyist license PAK is unlimited (UNITS=0), i.e. it works for any number of CPUs.

HTH,
Martin


http://de.openvms.org/martinv/
http://de.openvms.org/martinv/
Author RE: 2 CPU license
somersdave
Member

Posts: 67
Location: bristol,UK
Joined: 23.03.07
Posted on May 11 2009 10:35
Following on from 2 CPUs -

Having got OVMS 8.3 installed, TCPIP and MOTIF in a useable state on the Alpha 4000 and 4100 (after some kind generosity and help) I've started thinking about how to use the systems.

Four CPUs looked like a good opportunity to make life more complicated smiley and maybe learn something new, whilst getting back-into programming, perhaps.

I wrote a small Fortran Program .F90 (I hope it has some future) in my base priv. user account and tried the 'intrinsic', NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS which returned '1'
I was expecting to see '4'. $SHOW CPU reveals 4 active cpu's.

I wondered if I need the SMP license to use more than 1 processor, selectively. In general there seem to be several ways of approaching multiprocessing, eg : SYSTEM routine CREPRC and RTL PPL routines - though looking at these it doesn't look like one can select a particular CPU (ie:0 - 3) and the alien - to me - POSIX threads interface routines (kthreads and pthreads?) I believe the HP Fortran with its extensions provides for parallel multiprocessing.

I think i read somewhere that one would normally let the system work out how to best use the CPUs available but I was wondering if there are problems which are ideally suited to having >1 CPU. I did some work many years ago on FPS array processors which I vaguely remember required using parallel programming techniques.
Edited by somersdave on May 11 2009 10:44
Author RE: 2 CPU license
somersdave
Member

Posts: 67
Location: bristol,UK
Joined: 23.03.07
Posted on May 26 2009 06:30
Alpha 4100, 4 CPU, OVMS 8.3

Thanks for the pointers. I think I’m starting to ‘get a handle’ on the subject of parallel processing threads and OVMS. The programming concepts manual seems a good starting point and has lots! of info. and some program examples. Plus, the ideas presented by the OpenMP video – as far as I watched it – seemed straightforward. The crucial concept seems to be the ‘Kernel thread’ – prior to which the ‘program context’ (hope I’m getting the terms right) could only relate to a single CPU.

“…, only one of those application threads was running at any one time. If this multithreaded application was running on a multiprocessor system, the application could not make use of more than a single CPU. “

Despite other’s assurances (as Martin above), I had some concern that the system would not use all 4 CPU’s – even though they are declared active (in the light of my question as to whether I might need some special SMP or SMP extensions license). In order to run a simple test, I wrote a little Fortran Program to do some in itself pointless, yet time consuming, CPU intensive sum.

This HP forums question (if i could make the link worksmiley) gives some relevant observations:

http://forums11.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?admit=109447626+1242853521722+28353475&threadId=747879

Each program ran in its own Decterm window. I used the ‘Monitor> monitor system’ and ‘Monitor Proc/TOPCPU’ facilities to observe what happened. Monitor System increases in steps of about 100 (suggesting that each process is takng one CPU) up to the value of 400 for the (misleading?) CPU 0 display. Mon proc/topcpu also showed up to 400 (%?) CPU – so it looks like the all CPUs are being used. I tried adding another concurrent program run (total 5) – result 70 -> 80% CPU per program (that’s perhaps interesting, in respect of how the ‘work’ is shared with the CPUs). I’ll repeat the exercise, adding some calls to timing routines to check elapsed times, in order to see the effect of running single or multiple processes.

I tried to use the ‘set process/affinity’ command but got an ‘insufficient priv.’ error even though I gave the user account ALTPRI and GROUP priv, for good measure. Perhaps I needed to log out and in again.

As I try to avoid booting and powering down the machine other than when I’m ready to try something, I tend to do a lot of reading (and as it’s a hobby activity I tend to get sidetracked a little when interesting items and links, catch my eye) But I’m learning some stuff.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
August 04 2022
No more VAX hobbyist licenses. Community licenses for Alpha/IA64/X86_64 VMS Software Inc. Commercial VMS software licenses for VAX available from HPE.

ozboomer
July 20 2022
Just re-visiting.. No more hobbyist licenses? Is that from vmssoftware.com, no 'community' licenses?

valdirfranco
July 01 2022
No more hobbyist license...sad

mister_wavey
February 12 2022
I recall that the disks failed on the public access VMS systems that included Fafner

parwezw
January 03 2022
Anyone know what happened to FAFNER.DYNDS.ORG? I had a hobbyist account here but can longer access the site.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

Shoutbox Archive