Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, July 22, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 9
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,168
Newest Member: davej
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyist Licensing | Layered Products License PAK's
Author How do I register PAKs/licenses?
R Price
Member

Posts: 36
Location: Canada
Joined: 09.12.10
Posted on December 09 2010 10:27
Yes I'm a newbie to VMS. I've got lots of experience with Macs, Windows, DOS, assorted flavours of UNIX/Linux/*BSD and even CP/M and the Commodore PET but VMS is a new world for me. I've read the relevant help pages on HP's web site and it looks simple enough. I looked through all the threads about registering/loading licenses and the gist seems to be the email is a DCL script I just execute and the PAKs/licenses are registered. Then I load the licenses and things should work from this point. I even found a YouTube video which shows the process and it appears to match what I have read, allowing for the fact the video example is for registering/loading renewed licenses on a system where they are about to expire.

I've been working on this project for three days now and I have achieved zero. I'm sure there is a reason why this doesn't work for me but I don't know what it is.

I've tried cutting and pasting the text of the emails into documents in Notepad (Windows), burning the .com files to a CD and executing them but this just gives an error message about "unrecognized command verb - check validity and spelling".

I've tried cutting and pasting just the part after the copyright info into a .com file but that gives an error about too many parameters.

I get much the same problem with the PAK file for the layered products, just with more error messages.

I'm completely stumped at this point. My best guess is maybe Windows borks the files somehow? Would it work better if I tried it with the Mac?

I can successfully register and load the VMS PAK/license if I use the "license register. . . " command and the "license load. . . " command. That is fine for one license but to do it for all the layered products is obviously not feasible.

So what is the gimmick to make this work or is this PAK/license deal some sort of VMS hazing ritual everyone has to go through to join the club?
Edited by R Price on December 09 2010 10:31
Author RE: How do I register PAKs/licenses?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on December 09 2010 19:22
As you don't show what exactly you entered that lead to the "unrecognized command verb" error, I can only guess. My best guess is this: to execute a DCL command procedure, you have to prepend its file name with a "@" (which is a kind of an input redirection).

The files should only contain LICENSE REGISTER commands (spread over multiple lines; the separator to make that happen is "-").

What I normally do is register the VMS base license and the TCP/IP license (called "UCX") by cut'n'paste into a terminal window session, load them, set up TCP/IP, and transfer all the other licenses by FTP (ASCII mode).

HTH

Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Edited by martinv2 on December 09 2010 19:24
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: How do I register PAKs/licenses?
R Price
Member

Posts: 36
Location: Canada
Joined: 09.12.10
Posted on December 10 2010 04:30
I named the VMS PAK file VMSLIC.COM. The command I typed was "@VMSLIC.COM". I have other files, with the complete emails I received and with just the LICENSE REGISTER commands. None of them work. As I say, the documentation from HP and the info I have found here and other places on the net make it all look simple enough. Sure, VMS is different from other OSes I've used but mounting volumes, copying files, executing scripts etc are all pretty basic operations. If I just enter the LICENSE REGISTER command contained in the file manually it works and I can load the VMS license using LICENSE LOAD so at least I know the actual PAK info is correct.

I'm fairly sure it is a case that I am not yet familiar enough with DCL to know if I've entered a command incorrectly - it took a few minutes of experimentation to master the syntax of MOUNT, SET DEF and COPY to get the PAK files copied from the CD to the hard drive. I expect once I get it working the error in what I am doing now will be obvious. That is fine as the whole point of this exercise is to learn something new; I prefer to learn from other peoples' mistakes but if I have to learn from my own I'll take what I can get.

I'm nowhere near the point where I can cut and paste anything into a terminal window as I have no GUI, just the basic command line interface. As near as I can tell it is more or less the VMS analog to single user mode on a *NIX type system or safe mode on Windows. It seems like nothing is running, though I gather this is normal with no licenses.

For what it is worth, I have an Alphaserver DS10. To verify the hardware I first installed OpenBSD as I am familiar with that OS. At the moment I am running OpenVMS 8.3, installed from a CD burned from an ISO I downloaded via BitTorrent. The OS installed fine and boots with no problems so I choose to assume I have a "good" install. Still, once my Hobbyist media arrives I plan to nuke and pave with that just to be sure. Maybe that will make things work better.

If worst comes to worst I will just print out the emails with the PAKs and type them all in manually, as I did with the VMS PAK. I'm sure it would take less time than I have already spent trying to do it the "easy" way. At least I would get the system up and running this way. Whatever, I don't plan to give up on this.

Thanks,
Ronald
Author RE: How do I register PAKs/licenses?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on December 11 2010 06:20
Ronald,

@VMSLIC.COM sure is the correct command. Unfortunately, there's no DCL debugger. The way to see exactly what went wrong is to $ SET VERiFY before executing @VMSLIC. This turns on a trace of all lines executed with the error message directly following the output of the traced line, which allows you to see exactly which command DCL puked on. If there's too much output (there are a lot of licenses to register), you can redirect the output by passing /OUTPUT=<filename> directly after @VMSLIC, and look at the trace in an editor or by $ TYPE/PAGE <filename>.

As for cutting and pasting: the "terminal window" I was refering to is not a GUI window, but a terminal emulator window on an MS Windows or Unix system (where you can cut'n'paste a few lines into DCL), connected to the VMS system's 1st serial port with a null modem cable. If the Alpha's SRM variable CONSOLE is set to SERIAL (as opposed to GRAPHICS), this is the system's operator console, i.e. the one which allows logins even without any license.

HTH,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: How do I register PAKs/licenses?
R Price
Member

Posts: 36
Location: Canada
Joined: 09.12.10
Posted on December 11 2010 11:55
The problem was what I suspected - whatever Windows does re CR/LF was offensive to DCL. I manually registered/loaded the minimum set of PAKs needed to get the GUI up and running then copied the files with the PAKs onto the hard drive on the DS10 so I could edit them. It only took a few minutes to figure out there was an invisible character (LF, I assume) appended to the end of each line. Once I stripped those everything went smoothly.

I wondered later if you were referring to a remote terminal/emulator rather than a local terminal window. Unfortunately none of my other computers have serial ports so the null modem cable wouldn't have helped me. Good idea, just not possible for me.

I still think there are some things not quite right with the system. I can find no evidence of a web browser and some stuff just doesn't work, like DEC Write. But I have no idea if the VMS ISO I used is complete. At least now when the Hobbyist media arrives I have the cleaned up PAK files stored on an VMS formatted SSD so I can reinstall and then just mount that and get things running easily.

For now the system is up and running and I can start poking around and have some fun learning new stuff.
Author RE: How do I register PAKs/licenses?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on December 11 2010 19:04
The problem was what I suspected - whatever Windows does re CR/LF was offensive to DCL. I manually registered/loaded the minimum set of PAKs needed to get the GUI up and running then copied the files with the PAKs onto the hard drive on the DS10 so I could edit them. It only took a few minutes to figure out there was an invisible character (LF, I assume) appended to the end of each line. Once I stripped those everything went smoothly.

Good to hear you got it sorted out. Clashes between VMS' numerous file formats and the "outside world" tend to be nasty.

I wondered later if you were referring to a remote terminal/emulator rather than a local terminal window. Unfortunately none of my other computers have serial ports so the null modem cable wouldn't have helped me. Good idea, just not possible for me.

Sorry, I tend to forget that serial connectors get out of style.

I still think there are some things not quite right with the system. I can find no evidence of a web browser and some stuff just doesn't work, like DEC Write. But I have no idea if the VMS ISO I used is complete. At least now when the Hobbyist media arrives I have the cleaned up PAK files stored on an VMS formatted SSD so I can reinstall and then just mount that and get things running easily.

No idea where you got your OS CD from, but a regular VMS OS CD doesn't contain many of what is called "layered products". Apart from the OS itself, it only contains a few System Integrated Products (SIP, e.g. Kerberos, Host-Based Volume Shadowing; normally things tightly bound to the OS), networking stuff (DECnet, LAT, TCP/IP), and DECwindows (VMS' version of the X Windows system).

Beyond that, as you can see on the "OpenVMS media" page (linked to from the Navigation panel on the left), the Hobbyist CD contains a few compilers and a browser. You can also download a SeaMonkey port from HP at http://h71000.www7.hp.com/openvms/products/ips/cswbs/cswbs.html.

DECwrite got sold by DEC quite some time ago. The kit disappeared from the "Consolidated Distribution" (a CD collection containing kits for VMS software published quarterly by DEC/Compaq/HP) in 2005. Good luck hunting it down...

cu,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: How do I register PAKs/licenses?
R Price
Member

Posts: 36
Location: Canada
Joined: 09.12.10
Posted on December 12 2010 05:40
It sounds like the ISO I got is definitely not the Hobbyist media, rather just a basic OS installer. I suspected as much but it isn't a big deal as it gives me enough functionality to explore the basics of VMS.

I tried to download the browser from HP's site but got an error after the registration page. Could be their server is being finicky or maybe it didn't like "N/A" as a company name. Again, not a problem given the Hobbyist media includes a browser.

The formatting problem with the PAK file was a minor nuisance but ended being a learning experience so it served my purposes.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive