Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, April 20, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 6
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,096
Newest Member: droid2bsd88
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Software Forum
Author Raid 1 Boot Disk
taunusstein-net
Member

Posts: 17
Joined: 16.10.09
Posted on December 20 2010 09:00
Hello,

it seems license VOLSHAD is the right one, it provides Raid1. Does anybody have experience how to become system disk a Raid1 device ?

I would like to get
* dka0
* dka100
mirrored. OpenVMS is installed at dka0. SRM should boot from dka0 or dka100 but OpenVMS should always use "shadow" device DSA0 (ist that the right one ?)

best regards
Christian
Author RE: Raid 1 Boot Disk
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on December 20 2010 16:07
Christian,

volume shadowing is so important for VMS that it has a manual of its own:
http://h71000.www7.hp.com/doc/732final/aa-pvxmj-te/aa-pvxmj-te.html
The chapter on "Preparing to Use Volume Shadowing" details all steps you need to complete. The extra steps required to shadow a system disk are covered, too.
- Install VOLSHAD license
- Set volume shadowing system parameters
- Shutdown
- Set SRM variable bootdef_dev to a blank-separated list of all members of the shadow set
- Boot from first member
- Add second member to the shadow set

HTH
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: Raid 1 Boot Disk
taunusstein-net
Member

Posts: 17
Joined: 16.10.09
Posted on December 20 2010 21:50
Martin,

thank you very much, now I got my OpenVMS boot disk mirrored :-)

Christian
Author RE: Raid 1 Boot Disk
urbancamo
Member

Posts: 38
Location: Windermere, UK
Joined: 16.05.07
Posted on December 25 2010 21:01
I blogged about this a while back (as much to remind myself in future than anything else):
http://lakesdev.blogspot.com/2009/09/volume-shadowing-system-disk-on-vax.html

Might help some one out...
http://www.wickensonline.co.uk
Author RE: Raid 1 Boot Disk
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on December 26 2010 16:29
Mark,

thanks for the link; a nice roundup. Some annotations, though:
- There also is a license named VOLSHAD-DISK. The units on that one determine how many shadow sets can be active.
- I'd recommend against using an ALLOCLASS value of 1 or 2, if you ever want to use Fibre Channel. FC disks and tapes, respectively, come with these hard-coded values for their allocation class.
- There is another interesting system parameter to be set: SHADOW_MBR_TMO (and SHADOW_SYS_TMO for system disks). A value of 8 (seconds) was used in the Disaster Proof Experiment, as described here. This setting, among others, enabled VMS to win the race to recover in 13.71 seconds.

cu,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: Raid 1 Boot Disk
somersdave
Member

Posts: 63
Location: bristol,UK
Joined: 23.03.07
Posted on January 01 2011 07:24
From my amateur hobbyist perspective, it appears that RAID can be implemented in two different ways.

It seems can either be implemented from within OVMS (as above) or pre boot. I can't remember my reasoning at the time but as my Alpha 4000 had a SWXCR RAID controller I discovered that I needed to 'invoke' Alphabios rather than SRM in order to configure RAID 5 (i can't remember why 5, either - much of my hobbying seems to be on hunchessmiley).

I haven't got the machine powered up at the moment but i don't recall any license warning messages pre license installation and so I was under the impression that RAID (as I have it) was something outside/below OVMS.

I've seen some comments about whether the CPU or controller handles the shadowing overhead.

When the alpha 4000 boots, it reports '5 MEMBER RAID 5 , 0 failed, 1 degraded' (or something like that).
One of the 9 Gig disk 'bricks' had failed and so I replaced it but the 'degraded' message still remains. I assumed that the message would eventually disappear after the configuration healed itself - perhaps I need to do some RAID installation from within OVMS?
Edited by somersdave on January 01 2011 08:27
Author RE: Raid 1 Boot Disk
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on January 02 2011 05:25
From my amateur hobbyist perspective, it appears that RAID can be implemented in two different ways.

There are at least four ways:
- Controller-based RAID - That's what you have with your SWXCR. VMS doesn't even know the disks it uses are RAIDsets.
- (Host-Based) Volume Shadowing - Also called mirroring. What the above discussion is about.
- Bound Volumesets - This is also called striping, or RAID 0.
- There also is a RAID software for VMS that implements RAID 5.

When the alpha 4000 boots, it reports '5 MEMBER RAID 5 , 0 failed, 1 degraded' (or something like that).
One of the 9 Gig disk 'bricks' had failed and so I replaced it but the 'degraded' message still remains. I assumed that the message would eventually disappear after the configuration healed itself - perhaps I need to do some RAID installation from within OVMS?

IIRC, you have to manually put the replacement drive back into the RAIDset. As this is below VMS, you have to do it via the controller setup. But don't quote me on that one.

cu,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: Raid 1 Boot Disk
abrsvc
Member

Posts: 93
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on January 06 2011 04:19
Minor correction: Voluime sets are NOT striped. Striping implies that there are pieces of each file on each member. While this is possible with volume sets, it is not the norm. Volume sets allow for larger overall space within the context of a singe drive. The files are allocated on the basis of free space on each component drive. In other words, when a file is created, it will reside on the drive that had the most free space at the time of creation. Until "recent" versions of VMS, there was a limit to the file size of the capacity of the single drive it landed on. This was changed so that you can now have files that span physical drives.

Dan
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

Shoutbox Archive