Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, July 20, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 7
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,166
Newest Member: guozihao
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Software Forum
Author link option to produce an EXE on alpha openVMS v8.3 to run on v7.1 and up?
m2-guy
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 36
Location: Provence
Joined: 19.12.07
Posted on March 12 2014 01:30
hello

can't find a LINK option to produce an EXE which runs on any Alpha openVMS-version (v7.1 and later.) I'm running v8.3

thanks!
Author RE: link option to produce an EXE on alpha openVMS v8.3 to run on v7.1 and up?
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 464
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on March 12 2014 02:54
It is not exactly a link option. The linker does not really care.

You have to do some things to build an image suitable for an older version of VMS.

1. You have to set logical names up for your compilers to find the definitions that are valid for that version of VMS. Some languages like C can require you to override predefined macros or other version indicators.

2. You have to define the logical names for any of the shared images that your program needs to refer to the actual shared images of your older version of VMS.

You may need to define logical names so that you run older versions of of the compilers and to actually run the older linker tool.

Many products just do the compile step with options set for the older version and then do the final link at install time.
Author RE: link option to produce an EXE on alpha openVMS v8.3 to run on v7.1 and up?
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 505
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on March 12 2014 03:05
Much easier to build a virtual v7.1 installation and do the compiles and links there.
Author RE: link option to produce an EXE on alpha openVMS v8.3 to run on v7.1 and up?
m2-guy
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 36
Location: Provence
Joined: 19.12.07
Posted on March 12 2014 03:07
thank you!

what puzzles me: when I link my program under 7.1 it also runs under 8.3. (without recompilation)

so why is the inverse step so complicated?

I no longer easily can boot 7.1 myself.
this is why I asked.

I remember that my EXE linked under 8.3 produces an error when invoked under 7.1.
don't remember the exact wording - it's kind of operating system mismatch error.
Author RE: link option to produce an EXE on alpha openVMS v8.3 to run on v7.1 and up?
abrsvc
Member

Posts: 97
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on March 12 2014 08:33
OpenVMS has always provided upwards compatability, meaning that older programs should run without change on newer versions. Since any referenced shareable images will be able to resolve any references correctly, this is guaranteed to work. Newer shareable images may have references to modules that don't exist on older versions (for example). In this case, attempting to run on older systems will fail.

The suggestion has always been to link on the "oldest" version to guarantee proper functioning on all versions. Please note that this will prohibit the use of newer techniques +/or routines.

With some manipulation, you CAN link on a V8.3 system and create .exes that will work onV7.1 as long as you point to the V7.1 shareable images. While not completely "supported", this does work. Again the emphasis here is to link against the shareables from the oldest system.

Dan
Author RE: link option to produce an EXE on alpha openVMS v8.3 to run on v7.1 and up?
m2-guy
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 36
Location: Provence
Joined: 19.12.07
Posted on March 12 2014 09:03
Thanks Dan!
I have a physical image copy of a bootable vms 7.1 disk as a file (vms71.dsk) on my pc.

(made it unter linux with dd with vms disk connected to a pc with scsi.
it boots under es40.org alpha emulator but I have network problems so cant really use the emu apart from the fact that I wouldn't trust this emu to produce anything for production use.)

If I ftp the vms71.dsk to the alpha running vms8.3, is there a way to mount it as virtual disk in order to access the vms7.1 system's shareable image file?

*
p.s.: in http://www.digiater.nl/lddriver.html just find
"Beginning in V8.2 LD is fully integrated."
is it still in V8.3?
Edited by m2-guy on March 12 2014 09:09
Author RE: link option to produce an EXE on alpha openVMS v8.3 to run on v7.1 and up?
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 505
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on March 13 2014 04:01
Boot the 7.1 disk under FreeAXP. You will then have a fully functional VMS 7.1 system with networking upon which to build your 7.1 images.

To add to abrsvc's explanation, we maintain older versions of VMS specifically so we can produce product executables that are compatible with VMS back to VMS 5.5. We uses to do this with actual VAX and Alpha hardware. Now we can do it using SimH VAX, FreeAXP, and Avanti virtual systems.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive