Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, October 21, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,217
Newest Member: clarencewallace
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Software Forum
Author Boot from Fibre channel fails
sajithsathian
Member

Posts: 12
Location: India
Joined: 14.02.12
Posted on May 07 2017 01:06
I have DS20E with FCA-2354 HBAs. My server fails to boot from a NetApp Clustered ONTAP storage system.

The LUN is detected by the OpenVMS server but fails to boot with error message saying disk path no longer valid. A re-init of the system shows lot of $0$DGA devices as well, which I belive should not come. After an init, executing "show dev dga" on shows the required FC LUNs but the same command run after a "wwidmgr -show wwid" gives the improper $0$DGA devices.

The SAN Boot works on a NetApp 7-Mode system but fails with NetApp Clustered ONTAP storage system.

I have seen this issue on all OpenVMS versions.

Can anyone guide me with this?

Below is the console log messages


P00>>>show dev dga
dga5.1001.0.8.1 $1$DGA5 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
dga5.1002.0.8.1 $1$DGA5 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
dga6.1001.0.8.1 $1$DGA6 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
dga6.1002.0.8.1 $1$DGA6 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
P00>>>boot
(boot dga5.1001.0.8.1 -flags 0,0)
block 0 of dga5.1001.0.8.1 is a valid boot block
reading 1230 blocks from dga5.1001.0.8.1
device dga5.1001.0.8.1 no longer valid
failed to read dga5.1001.0.8.1
bootstrap failure
(boot dga5.1002.0.8.1 -flags 0,0)
block 0 of dga5.1002.0.8.1 is a valid boot block
reading 1230 blocks from dga5.1002.0.8.1
device dga5.1002.0.8.1 no longer valid
failed to read dga5.1002.0.8.1
bootstrap failure
(boot dga6.1001.0.8.1 -flags 0,0)
block 0 of dga6.1001.0.8.1 is a valid boot block
reading 1230 blocks from dga6.1001.0.8.1
device dga6.1001.0.8.1 no longer valid
failed to read dga6.1001.0.8.1
bootstrap failure
(boot dga6.1002.0.8.1 -flags 0,0)
block 0 of dga6.1002.0.8.1 is a valid boot block
reading 1230 blocks from dga6.1002.0.8.1
device dga6.1002.0.8.1 no longer valid
failed to read dga6.1002.0.8.1
bootstrap failure
P00>>>init



Initializing...
1024 Meg of system memory
probing hose 1, PCI
bus 0, slot 7 -- ewa -- DE500-AA Network Controller
bus 0, slot 8 -- pga -- FCA-2354
probing hose 0, PCI
probing PCI-to-ISA bridge, bus 1
probing PCI-to-PCI bridge, hose 0 bus 2
bus 0, slot 5, function 1 -- dqa -- Cypress 82C693 IDE
bus 0, slot 5, function 2 -- dqb -- Cypress 82C693 IDE
bus 0, slot 5, function 3 -- usba -- Cypress 82C693 USB
bus 0, slot 6, function 0 -- pka -- Adaptec AIC-7895
bus 0, slot 6, function 1 -- pkb -- Adaptec AIC-7895
bus 0, slot 7 -- vga -- S3 Trio64/Trio32
bus 0, slot 8 -- pgb -- FCA-2354
bus 2, slot 4 -- eia -- DE602-AA
bus 2, slot 5 -- eib -- DE602-AA
initializing GCT/FRU at 1e6000
Testing the System
Testing the Memory
Testing the Disks (read only)
Testing ei* devices.
Testing ew* devices.
System Temperature is 30 degrees C

COMPAQ AlphaServer DS20E 666 MHz Console V7.3-1, Feb 27 2007 12:58:30
P00>>>show dev dga
dga5.1001.0.8.1 $1$DGA5 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
dga5.1002.0.8.1 $1$DGA5 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
dga6.1001.0.8.1 $1$DGA6 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
dga6.1002.0.8.1 $1$DGA6 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
P00>>>wwidmgr -show wwid
[0] UDID: 5 WWID:01000010:600a-0980-4431-7058-5524-4a76-4e58-576c (ev:wwid0)
[1] UDID: 6 WWID:01000010:600a-0980-4431-7058-5524-4a76-4e58-576d (ev:wwid1)
[2] UDID:-1 WWID:01000010:600a-0980-4431-7058-5524-4a76-4e58-5769 (ev:none)
[3] UDID:-1 WWID:01000010:60a9-8000-4237-4b4a-732b-4662-6479-2f70 (ev:none)
[4] UDID:1010 WWID:01000010:60a9-8000-4237-4b4a-732b-4662-6479-2f6a (ev:none)
[5] UDID:1011 WWID:01000010:60a9-8000-4237-4b4a-732b-4662-6479-2f6c (ev:none)
[6] UDID:1012 WWID:01000010:60a9-8000-4237-4b4a-732b-4662-6479-2f6e (ev:none)
[7] UDID:21 WWID:01000010:60a9-8000-4237-4b4a-732b-4662-6479-2f62 (ev:none)
[8] UDID:22 WWID:01000010:60a9-8000-422d-6249-353f-4662-2f56-6638 (ev:none)
[9] UDID:23 WWID:01000010:60a9-8000-4237-4b4a-732b-4662-6479-2f59 (ev:none)
[10] UDID:24 WWID:01000010:60a9-8000-422d-6249-353f-4662-2f56-6644 (ev:none)
[11] UDID:25 WWID:01000010:60a9-8000-4237-4b4a-732b-4662-6479-2f5a (ev:none)
[12] UDID:26 WWID:01000010:60a9-8000-422d-6249-353f-4662-2f56-6639 (ev:none)
[13] UDID:28 WWID:01000010:60a9-8000-422d-6249-353f-4662-2f56-6637 (ev:none)
P00>>>show dev dga
dga11146.15.0.8.1 $0$DGA11146 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga11146.16.0.8.1 $0$DGA11146 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga17755.1.0.8.1 $0$DGA17755 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
dga17755.2.0.8.1 $0$DGA17755 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
dga22074.15.0.8.1 $0$DGA22074 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga22074.16.0.8.1 $0$DGA22074 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga24587.15.0.8.1 $0$DGA24587 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga24587.16.0.8.1 $0$DGA24587 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga25227.15.0.8.1 $0$DGA25227 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga25227.16.0.8.1 $0$DGA25227 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga29707.15.0.8.1 $0$DGA29707 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga29707.16.0.8.1 $0$DGA29707 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga30027.15.0.8.1 $0$DGA30027 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga30027.16.0.8.1 $0$DGA30027 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga30714.15.0.8.1 $0$DGA30714 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga30714.16.0.8.1 $0$DGA30714 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga4795.15.0.8.1 $0$DGA4795 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga4795.16.0.8.1 $0$DGA4795 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga5.1001.0.8.1 $1$DGA5 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
dga5.1002.0.8.1 $1$DGA5 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
dga5883.15.0.8.1 $0$DGA5883 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga5883.16.0.8.1 $0$DGA5883 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga6.1001.0.8.1 $1$DGA6 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
dga6.1002.0.8.1 $1$DGA6 NETAPP LUN C-Mode 8200
dga8970.15.0.8.1 $0$DGA8970 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga8970.16.0.8.1 $0$DGA8970 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga9738.15.0.8.1 $0$DGA9738 NETAPP LUN 820a
dga9738.16.0.8.1 $0$DGA9738 NETAPP LUN 820a
P00>>>
sajithsathian sajithsathiadevan
Author RE: Boot from Fibre channel fails
abrsvc
Member

Posts: 98
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on May 07 2017 02:06
I had another client that had a similar issue with newer Netapp hardware. In that case, he was not able to boot the san disk but was able to use the san disks as data disks. His solution was to use a local shadow set for the system disk and just use the san disks for data. The problem, we believe is with the Alpha side that does not handle the communications properly during the boot process. Further investigation was not possible at that time due to production requirements. Note that this problem only occurred with the newer Netapp hardware and software levels. I believe that the Ontap version is critical in showing this problem.

Did this problem just show up with an upgrade?

Dan
Author RE: Boot from Fibre channel fails
sajithsathian
Member

Posts: 12
Location: India
Joined: 14.02.12
Posted on May 07 2017 04:45
I was setting up a new OpenVMS environment with Clustered ONTAP and hit this issue. As you mentioned the data disks are working fine. I was even able to mount the boot disk on the DCL prompt after booting from a CD and the files are all readable and intack on the SAN Boot disk. Unfortunately, the Boot part fails.

The same disk after doing backup to another local disk or a NetApp 7-Mode disk works fine as a boot disk.
sajithsathian sajithsathiadevan
Author RE: Boot from Fibre channel fails
abrsvc
Member

Posts: 98
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on May 08 2017 01:07
As I stated initially, this is an issue with the Alpha and Ontap not being "in- sync" with each other for the boot process. As far as I know, Netapp does not support this setup with the new ontap system and the old alpha systems. Use either the 7-mode or a local set of disks for the boot system and add another on the SAN as a shadow member to keep a copy there as well.

You don't indicate the OpenVMS version. With V7.3-2 you are limited to 3 shadow members and I would have 2 "local" with a copy on the SAN totaling 3 copies. With V8 you can have more which can give you 2 copies on the SAN.

Dan
Author RE: Boot from Fibre channel fails
napobo3
Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 06.07.17
Posted on April 30 2018 01:08
Could you elaborate about the "7-mode", please.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive