Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, January 23, 2019
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 5
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,250
Newest Member: decourl
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Software Forum
Author Renaming SCSI Device names
CyberArtem
Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 07.07.17
Posted on July 07 2017 22:21
Hello all !

I am new to this forum so i would like to greet all of you guys !
I have a problem you experts might help me with , i am building a DMCC alpha station with external scsi HP StorageWorks 2120 rack. Now , the StorageWorks assigns SCSI id's as follows : 0,2,4,6 (increments by two).
In the SRM console i see : DKA0,DKA200 (using two drives only)
But i need the alpha to map the drives DKA0 and DKA100 even if the second drive gets SCSI id 2.
Can i somehow assign a scsi id 2 (dka200.2.0.18.0) as DKA100 and not as DKA200 ?
I must use DKA0 and DKA100 due to software requirements.

Thanks to all in advance.

BR
- Artiom.
Author RE: Renaming SCSI Device names
abrsvc
Member

Posts: 98
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on July 08 2017 05:51
The easiest way to achieve this is by using logical names. It is recommended that hard-coded device names be avoided for this reason. Use a command with the following syntax:

$ ASSIGN DKA200: DKA100:

The above should allow the program to work as the application will see the device as DKA100. The translation will be handled by OpenVMS behind the scenes. See HELP ASSIGN for more information.

Dan
Author RE: Renaming SCSI Device names
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 477
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on July 08 2017 10:18
https://sourceforge.net/p/vms-ports/wiki/IntroVMSEnvironment/
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

jiml
November 09 2018
Thank you , Malmberg ! Exactly what I was hoping for . Reset key & all is well . JImL

malmberg
November 09 2018
Eisner was upgraded to the current Multinet Release. As part of that a new host key was generated. The old key was incompatible with newer Linux.

jiml
November 02 2018
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ?

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


Shoutbox Archive