Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, October 18, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 16
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,217
Newest Member: clarencewallace
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Software Forum
Author Network problem with OpenVMS8.2/TCPIP 5.5 alpha
Kenashkov
Member

Posts: 28
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Joined: 02.01.06
Posted on February 11 2007 00:59
Hello everybody,
Two days already I'm trying to get my network to work properly.
Initially my PWS600 had just one network adapter - the one that is embedded. Then I added another one (taken from my AS 1200) and reinstalled VMS.
Here is the situation:
WE0 - 192.168.0.17 (pws600-we0.domain.name)
WE1 - 192.168.0.18 (pws600-we1.domain.name)

Having this setup and network cable plugged only in we0 (in fact I do not need we1 - I put it just for testing) and pinging from another computer in my home network every second packet is lost. The same is valid when the cable is plugged in we1. Probably I am doing something wrong because it seems that VMS replies with one packet on every interface... Why is this happening?
I resolved this by just setting
$tcpip set nointerface we1

But here come the true problems:
1. we0 is painfully slow... when I download files fromm y local network the speed is 12kb or something... I remeber that when I had only one adapter with my previous installation of VMs on this workstation the speed was OK. So the problem is not with the adapter...
2. I resolved this by restarting the tcpip services (this started again both interfaces) and setting:
$tcpip set nointerface we0
and using just the we1. The speed is OK - over 1MB/s. But my routing does not works any more...
Adding it with:
SET ROUTE/DEFAULT/GATEWAY=192.168.0.3/PERM
says that there is already sush rule (or similar), but:
SHOW ROUTE
says:
AH 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1
AN 192.168.0.0/24 192.168.0.18
AH 192.168.0.18 192.168.0.18


When is only we0 enabled:
AN 0.0.0.0 192.168.0.3
AH 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1
AN 192.168.0.0/24 192.168.0.17
AH 192.168.0.17 192.168.0.17

When both are enabled (in which case I loose packets):
AN 0.0.0.0 192.168.0.3
AH 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1
AN 192.168.0.0/24 192.168.0.17
AN 192.168.0.0/24 192.168.0.18
AH 192.168.0.17 192.168.0.17
AH 192.168.0.18 192.168.0.18

Why when I disable the first interface (we0) disappears the default route 192.168.0.3? Is this normal?

I have not read the docs for tcpip, just several help pages, but I lost enough time with this. I can just remove the second interface (we1) from the system, and hope that the problem will disappear...

Any suggestions or links to relevant docs are welcome smiley
109218396 http://azonmedia.com
Author
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on February 12 2007 12:54
TCP is trying to share the load on both networks, since the IP address is telling it they are the same network - it should be able to send/receive off both interfaces. If you had two addresses in different networks (i.e. the address/netmask showed different networks), it would have worked, just like only having one.

You probably could have set up cost metrics on the different interfaces, but usually you only have two NIC if you are talking with new different networks (i.e. intranet on one, internet on the other).

One the same cable, two NIC's really won't help speed, since the card can already out-driver the wire.
Author
Kenashkov
Member

Posts: 28
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Joined: 02.01.06
Posted on February 15 2007 07:54
I also tought that this could be load balancing. But I'm wondering why the we0 interface is so slow? But doesn't matters, I'll just remove the card. I didn't do it up to the moment because is hard to open/close my PWS and hoped that it could be solved without removeing the adapter.
109218396 http://azonmedia.com
Author
Kenashkov
Member

Posts: 28
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Joined: 02.01.06
Posted on February 16 2007 02:15
Hm... I removed the adapter and measured (with "wget" in Tru64) the speed of the embedded NIC - it is 600-800KB/sec, which I think is normal for 10mbit. Seems the problem is solved.

P.S. I remember that OpenVMS autodetects the connection and sets the speed on we0 - how can i check what it had detected?
109218396 http://azonmedia.com
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive